Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2014
Generally pleasing all round mid-week quaffed.Drinks well with a great variety of meals,quite good value too.
Certainly a very useful addition to the stock wine rack.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a very decent wine for the price. It is effectively Laithwaites' "house red" – a thoroughly reliable, easy-drinking Italian blend with a screw-top which always slips down well. It's very amiably flavoured, with plenty of fruit and not that much in the way of individual character, but for an everyday drop to go with your supper it's great.

Il Papavero turns up very regularly in Laithwaites' mixed cases so I've had quite a few bottles over the years and it never disappoints. Not one for a special occasion, but very recommendable as a very pleasant glassful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
Having opened and sniffed the cork our first fear was that it was corked. However, decant and allow to breathe at good room temperature for at least half an hour, then my fellow red supporters, you will appreciate the silky smooth, velvety most definitely oaky flavour followed by a most pleasant Explosion of fruits and spice on one's palate. What a little cracker..... Leaving you with the question, do I open a second :))))))))
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Good quaffing wine. Not too strong but full fruity flavoured.
Good price for pretty reasonable quality. Would definitely repeat order.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Excellent service and well packaged. Tried this wine some weeks ago on the recommendation of a friend, hence the order for 6 bottles. Great taste so not sure these will last very long before next order required.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
I do not think I have enjoyed a red wine at this price for ages.
I have friends who drink nothing else and i have to say it looks like I'm heading that way!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Love this wine. It was packed extremely well and arrived very quickly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Bought this wine some years ago on a regular basis as we loved it. Whether our pallette has changed over time but didn't enjoy quite as much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Sorry to say I was really disappointed with this wine. This wine merchant is very reputable and the wine was not off.However to my taste it seemed weak and flavourless, may be me as many customers love this wine
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Lovely smooth red wine.Goes with anything.I remember years ago when it was around £3.50 a bottle! Happy days
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)