Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

  • 21
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
2,191
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 January 2011
'Sometimes it lasts in love... and sometimes it hurts instead'.

My expectations for this release were raised when I saw Adele perform 'someone like you' on Jools Holland - and it literally made me cry. It was the first track that I played when I got hold of the album, and I was pleased that she had stayed with the simplicity of the live performance - but slightly disappointed that the album version is a bit sterile in comparison. But this is nit picking. At a tender age Adele has proven herself as a fantastic writer and performer. Her vocals are distinctive and she is equally at home with pop, blues, soul and torch songs. There are any number of stand out tracks here, - in fact the first six are so good I instantly wanted to repeat play each track on first listen - just to take it in.

This is very much a break up album, sad, but uplifting at the same time. I liked 19 but had no great expectation that she could produce a second record of this quality. Suddenly I am a huge fan.

Highly recommended.
1111 comments| 317 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Music is so subjective!! I love Adele and I really like most of this album but, if you're not a fan of hers, then you may not like it. My other half feels pretty much the same. I have to say it's not one that gets put on a lot so I can't give it a five rating. (We're both over 60 years old if that's any help!)
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2011
Not suprisingly for someone in my forties, 19 passed me by completely but I was brought to the edge of the sofa by Adele when she performed 'Someone Like You' on Jools Holland. I have subsequently played this song a thousand times and am still not tired of it. Dumbfounded how someone so young could write such an insightful and beautiful song and then deliver it with such power against that achingly simple piano. Less is more. And then listening to chirpy Miss Adkins herself discussing giving up smoking and walking her dog on Radio Two at the weekend. She is amazing and so is this album. Of course her voice is amazing but those songs? And alongside this faultless production and US influence, something very special has been created. If you don't like this, whatever your musical taste (I'm no soul boy) your heart has died. She is going to be a Megastar.
11 comment| 197 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
Adele (Adele Laurie Blue Adkins) was born on May 5 1988. 21 is her second studio album, released on January 24 in UK and February 22 in US. This fantastic release currently topped both the UK and US album charts simultaneously, a rare feat. In UK, while 21 topped the chart, her first album 19 was #2. The album 21 has just passed the 3 million sales in UK and 2.5 million in US.

In UK, when Someone Like You hit #1 in the singles chart, while her earlier hit Rolling In The Deep was #2. She is the first living artist to achieve the feat of two top five hits in both the Official Singles Chart and Album Chart simultaneously since the Beatles in 1964. In US, Rolling In The Deep was #1 on Billboard Hot 100 for 7 weeks and now also #1 in Adult Contemporary Chart for 19 weeks, plus it is the #1 digital download of 2011 at 5.567 million sale, the #1 best selling download by a British artist in the entire digital era.

Someone Like You was #1 in UK, a million seller and the best selling single in UK this year so far. Her live version of Someone Like You in the recent American Music Video Award was simply outstanding, with lots and lots of feelings. Someone Like You just jumped from 19 to Number 1 in US to become her second Number 1 single, and it stayed at Number 1 for 5 weeks, and now it also hit #1 in the Adult Contemparay Chart. Someone Like You has 2.96 million download so far. She also performed it in the Grammys and the Brit Award. I was dumbfounded by how young Adele is to write such an insightful and beautiful song and then she would deliver it with such power against that achingly simple piano.

In Adele's website, she wrote that she came to America when she was 15. Her dad took her on holiday to New York. She remembered going into the then massive Virgin store in Times Square where she thought how amazing it would be to one day have a record in a record shop abroad. Now her dreams have come true with a Number 1 CD in US.

The sound of this album 21 is described as classic and contemporary roots and country music. The change in sound from her first album was the result of her bus driver playing contemporary Nashville music when she was touring the American South. Adele told Spin Magazine that "her bus driver listened to all this amazing country music and they'd rock out late at night, chain smoking and listening to Rascal Flatts". In a recent interview on Radio Two in UK, Adele told the audience of giving up smoking and walking her dog.

This is an amazing album with great music and sound. Adele's voice was in top form. If possible, buy the Deluxe edition with two extra songs. Besides, Adele is having throat problems, ranging from laryngitis to bleeding of the vocal cords. Thus many of her current live concerts are cancelled. At this time, the best and perhaps the only way to appreciate Adele's voice is through this CD. This album is highly recommended.

The only way to see her "live" is through her concert at Royal Albert Hall. This blu ray disc will be released November 29, 2011. Pre-order it now before the price goes up.

Update: More amazing feats for Adele 21 CD:

Currently, it has logged 20 weeks at Number 1 on Billboard 200, thus surpassing even the Titanic reign of 16 weeks and equaling The Bodyguard's reign of 20 weeks. Only 13 albums in the history of Billboard 200 have spent more weeks at #1. Also, the single from Adele's Live At Royal Albert Hall called Set Fire To The Rain has now reached #1 on Billboard Hot 100. Thus Adele 21 CD has set chart history as the only CD with three #1 songs on Billboard Hot 100 while the parent set still regined as #1. Another chart record is that Rolling In The Deep is longevity champion in the Hot 100 as far as No. 1 hit is concerned, currently at 57 weeks. Finally, Someone Like You is the Number 1 song for the year 2011 in UK. Truly amazing feat!

Let's enjoy her return to live in the Grammy Award. It would have been a triumphant return for her after her vocal cord surgery, her first live performance, but unfortunately, it will be overshadowed by the untimely death of Whitney Houston. But enjoy her performance anyway tonight!

More Update:

Adele's live performance at the Grammy Award Show was simply great, with her rousing rendition of Rolling In The Deep. I am glad that her singing voice is back in great form. After sweeping the awards (and thank God she did not drop any F-bomb), she will be very busy this year with her upcoming concerts around the world. Welcome back, Adele!

More Recording-breaking Feats:

Adele's 21 logs a 23rd week at No. 1 on the Billboard Top 200 Albums Chart, pushing it past Whitney Houston's soundtrack to "The Bodyguard" (1992-93) for the longest command for an album by a woman in the chart's 56-year history. The next challenge is Purple Rain by Prince with 24 weeks at the top.

Rolling in The Deep" logs an amazing 243,437,636 on YouTube Views!

Adele's three former Hot 100 No. 1s bulleted into the Hot 100's top 10: "Set Fire to the Rain" holds at No. 2; "Rolling in the Deep," the record and song of the year, which Adele performed at the Grammys, charges back 17-5 (in its 59th chart week - a record for longevity for a Number 1 song); and, "Someone Like You" jumps 11-7. With those advances, Adele is the first woman in the Hot 100's 53-year archives to place three songs in the top 10 concurrently as a lead artist. Only 4 other acts charted 3 or more songs in the Billboard Hot 100 Top 10: Chris Brown (2008), Usher (2004), Bee Gees (1978) and the Beatles.

With Adele's 21 at No. 1 and 19 at No 4 (after 122nd week), only 3 acts earn the honour of having two or more top 5 entries: Adele, 50 Cents and the Beatles.

Adele and the Beatles are the only acts ever to post three songs in the Hot 100's top 10 and two albums in the Billboard 200's top five in the same week.

MORE AMAZING FEATS (March 27, 2012):

"21" has spent the most weeks - 23 - at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 for an album by a female artist.
"21" spent its first 39 weeks on the Billboard 200 in the top five, passing Michael Jackson's "Bad" (38 weeks, 1987-88) for the most consecutive weeks in the top five dating to an album's debut.
"Someone Like You" became the first song featuring only vocals and piano accompaniment to top the Hot 100.
On this week's Hot 100, "Deep" spends a 63rd week on the list and "Someone" remains charted for a 37th week, making for an even, and fitting, 100 weeks on the Hot 100 combined for the two former No. 1 songs.

MORE UPDATE (April 13 2012)

Rolling In The Deep has spent a total of 65 weeks on the Hot 100, and is the longevity champion for a number 1 song. The current longevity champion is I'm Yours by Jason Mraz at an amazing 76 weeks, followed by How Do I Live by LeAnn Rimes at 68 weeks. (both songs hit only #3 on Billboard Hot 100)

MORE UPDATE (June 23, 2012)

On June 14, 2012, 21 returned to Number 1 spot on Billboard 200 for 24th week, equalling the records of two soundtracks: Saturday Night Fever and Purple Rain. Amazing feat!

MORE UPDATE: CHART ACHIEVEMENTS FOR 2012 (January 4, 2013)

In 2011, Adele was the first woman to notch three Billboard's biggest year-end honours: No. 1
on Top Artists, No. 1 on Top Billboard 200 Titles (with 21) and No. 1 on Hot 100 Songs (Rolling In The Deep).

Now, with 2012, she becomes the only act to be both the Top Artist of the year again, and 21 is again the No. 1 Billboard 200 album, two years in a row. Furthermore, she is also the No. 1 Adult Contemporary Artist of 2012. In the year-end Adult Contemporary Chart, her song Set Fire To The Rain was No. 2 (beaten by Kelly Clarkson's Stronger (That Doesn't Kill You). Someone Like You was ranked No. 8.

As reported on April 13, 2012, Rolling in the Deep became the longevity champion for a Number 1 song on Billboard Hot 100 at 65 weeks. Sadly, now LMFAO's Party Rock Anthem is the current longevity champion for a Number 1 song at 68 weeks!! Among all acts, only Jason Mraz's No. 6-peaking "I'm Yours" (76 weeks) and LeAnn Rimes' No. 2 hit "How Do I Live" (69) has spent more time on the Billboard Hot 100.

During 2012, her release of the Theme to Skyfall (the latest James Bond film) achieved moderate success. She is happily married with a new child. There will be no concert tours in the nearest future. There probably won't be any heartbreak song in the nearest future too. So treasure the current album 21, which is very special indeed.

MORE UPDATE: July 27, 2013

Adele's "21" joins a rare group of albums this week, as the XL/Columbia set steps past the 10 million U.S. sales mark according to Nielsen SoundScan. "21" is the 21st album to sell 10 million. And thus, it becomes the 21st-biggest album of the SoundScan era. Clearly, 21 is a very lucky number for the pop diva. "21" debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 dated March 12, 2011 and spent 24 non-consecutive weeks atop the tally -- the most in the SoundScan era. It hasn't left the chart's top 40 since, earning 80 weeks in the top 10. This week, the set moves 31-35. What an amazing feat!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
First of all Adele 21,as a piece of Music is a great, Turning tables, Set fire to the rain are just brilliant, and the Cure cover Lovesong also fantastic. So why the three stars. Well first of all Adele 21 is a five star album, however the compression on this CD is unbearable,it has at times is so harsh it has distorted the music.This appears to be because the transfer being so loud you loose the quality of the recording. I was so disappointed with the sound I bought the vinyl version hopping it would be better, it is not leaps and bounds but it is of a higher quality than the CD. I can only believe the CD has been mastered from an MP3 file, hence the loss of quality. I appear not be the only one who felt this i looked on line and it appears to be many people upset by this transfer. I personally do not understand why this is being done, why can't the record companies just let the quality of the recording come through. If you want to know what I mean put the CD in a reasonably good system and turn it up, you will not be able to go to loud before the sound begins to distort and clip,if this is the future we are going backwards, there are many recording 50 years older than this that sound 100% better. This is a shame that one of the best albums this decade has been mastered so badly I do hope XL recording take note and solve this problem. Those thinking of buying the vinyl version don't bother it sounds the same as the CD. This review is based on the very poor quality of the CD so please make sure you understand it not for the album musically. Shoot the mixer!
6464 comments| 126 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
Rolling in the deep - 10/10 utterly brillitant
favourite line: "See how i leave with every piece, dont underestimate the things i will do" or "Throw your soul threw every open door."
Rumour has it - 9/10 different to her usual lyrics, still great non the less
favourite line: "You made my heart melt, but im cold to the core. No rumour has it she aint got your love anymore."
Turning tables - 10/10
favourite line: "i cant keep up with your turning tables, under your thumb i cant breathe." Or "Next time i'll be braver, i'll be my own saviour."
Dont you remember - 8/10
Set fire to the rain 10/10 BRILLIANT, MY FAVOURITE ON MY ALBUM.
favourite line - "I set fire to the rain and i burst into flames, then i felt something die i knew it was the last time."
He Wont go/ Take it all - 8/10 - Least favourite tracks, still good.
One and only - 9/10
favourite line - "one and only, promise i'm worthy."
Love song - 10/10 - excellent.
Someone like you - 10/10 BRILLIANT, however the lives version from the Brits is alot better.
"nothing compares no worry or cares regrets and mistakes and memories made, who would have known how bitter sweet this would taste."

Stunning album, a must buy. perfect.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
I am not a huge Adele fan but her name kept coming up from people and her album on my recommendations lists so I though I would give it a listen. I like this album. There is no bad song on this album, if it came one I would listen to it but there are only 3 songs on the album I would listen to over and over again. The 3 song that really stood out for me Rolling in the Deep, Someone like you, and Set the Rain on Fire.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
For anyone remotely interested in music, save yourself the trouble of reading reviews and just buy this cd. It does not need any comparisons with '19' or the work of other artists. This is a standalone album - probably in hindsight it will be one of, if not the album of the decade. The songwriting and production are amazing, and it comes with emotional highs you will struggle to find elsewhere. Too late for Christmas, but an inspirational start to 2011. Enjoy!
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Very few singers have a voice that can transform every song they sing into something special but Adele is certainly in that category. Her range on 21 is incredible through conveying every emotive word with feeling and soul to pitching a tempo akin to some of the all time Motown greats. The Brits performance and this album sum Adele up perfectly - the voice is the performance.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
After watching Adele perform on TV and been impressed with her performance, I decided to buy all her previous albums on a whim.

I can't say the whole album is likely to be regarded as a "classic" but there are one or two real gems on here, such as Rolling In The Deep, Rumour Has It, Set Fire To The Rain and the tremendous Someone Like You. The recording quality on this CD just as with "19" seems a little bit poor to me - her voice has a raspy edge to it which I wasn't expecting from the CD, as I don't hear that when her music is played on the radio.

Adele's "Best Of" album, if she ever releases one, will be a killer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here