Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran on Amazon Music Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
363
4.1 out of 5 stars
Style: Shredder|Change
Price:£57.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2011
Whilst looking for a replacement for my 10 year old Rexel machine I investigated all makes and reviews before opting for this and I have to say I'm extremely pleased with the purchase and performance. As I work from home most of the time its important I have robust and reliable office equipment and this machine certainly fits the bill - slightly more pricey than other makes and models offered on Amazon however the looks and build quality suggest this unit will last. Well worth the investment - highly recommended.
0Comment| 110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
Delivery very quick. Assembly simple, tho' fitting casters took some 'encouragement! First week's use shows it works well; not too loud, copes with > 8 sheets 80gsm without struggling. Have run extensively in short 10 min sessions so far without problems (clearing out home office/papers!). Those with starting problems as previously reported might take care to ensure that the drawer is fully seated home before the safety switch (green light) functions.
This is my 4th shredder (previously Fellowes and 5 Star, which have all died within 2 years) and I rate it highly. After extensive research final buying decision was based on reported after-sales service and Aurora monitoring/response to comments on Amazon.
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
Aurora AS1023CD 10 Sheet Paper Shredder with Large 18L Pull-Out Waste Bin

I found this to be very reliable and did not keep cutting out as my previous locally purchased shredder did after a very short period of use.

Would recommend this unit for reasonably heavy duty home /office use.

"Arthur"
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Just received and I have to say it looks very smart!

It does take a couple of minutes to set up as you have to insert castors which is easy enough, but you also need to push the shredder head down firmly onto the bin until it clicks into place. This is pretty important otherwise the "BIN OPEN" light will be displayed and the shredder will not operate, even if the bin is closed, which is slightly confusing.

Apparently this is a safety feature for when you have not set it up correctly, so just ensure there is no gap between the head & the bin casing, then it works very well.
22 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
The Aurora AS1023 is safe and easy to use. I particularly liked the pull out waste bin, which makes it a lot easier (and less messy) to empty than most other shredders in this price range, where you have to lift the shredder off the bin in order to empty it. On the minus side, I couldn't get the wheels to fit, but that's only a minor issue to me.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2011
This shredder is a very capable piece of equipment that is able to do everything that is claimed. I like the front panel emptying which does away with the need to remove the top of the unit to empty it. There is a need to keep pushing the shredded remains down to the bottom of the bin to avoid possible tangles and jams but as long as this is done there is no problem at all. The disc shredder is useful and actually cuts the CD into pieces. I think that perhaps the cost at 1p under £60 is a little high but will be acceptable if the units life is a long one.

About 6 months on from purchase date I was disappointed to find that the shredder had stopped working completley and has been returned for a refund.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
Bought this as a repackaged but as new used item - perfect experience with seller... promptly despatched (with advisory notification of such) & delivered at entirely reasonable cost: received exactly as described.

Purchased to replace my expired Fellowes shredder; this is infinitely superior!

Other option was a Swordfish but this combined paper/credit card/CD-DVD shred facility for almost half the price.

Best features: pull out bin, multiple media handling capability, value for money (especially compared to Fellowes & Swordfish).
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
This is a very effective shredder that looks nice and is solid enough to cope with heavy domestic use or even light home business use. The safety flappy thing is good if there are small 'fiddle fingers' about and the CD slot also a useful feature. Previous reviewers have noticed a design fault whereby the removal drawer sits too low when re-engaged in its slot and because of this the cutter unit thinks it's not in properly and it won't fire up (a safety feature). The solution is quite simple. Place some felt pads in the base of the unit (the stick ones that go under furniture) at the front edge. Immediate solution to the problem and no real hassle. I agree the manufacturers should solve this and you are perfectly within your rights to send it back. But if you are really busy (like me) and just want a solid reliable shredder that works then the fault inherent in the design is really easily and permanently fixed with no loss of function and no cosmetic detriment.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2016
Having had several shredders in the past which were not significantly cheaper than this one, I can safely say that the Aurora 1000 is magnificent. It is on wheels so easy to move around, it looks good too. The pull-out section for emptying is so much better than having to lift the heavy shredding section as with most home shredders, it's also more capacious than most. And, most importantly, it shreds very effectively and safely. I really couldn't be more pleased.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2011
Very sturdy. Great item. Does what it is supposed to do and paper or cards do not get caught in the machine. All in all this is a great product and is recommeded.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)