Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
22
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2011
In an unnecessarily large box (not a slip cover) you get 6 separate DVD cases, each containing a single DVD with a single 40 minute programme.
So what might look like excessively good value could easily have fit on a pair of DVDs in a single DVD case, fitting far more easily on your shelf.

The programmes themselves each cover a separate topic:
Dracula
Big foot and other monsters
The Loch Ness Monster
Jack the Ripper
The Amityville Haunting
Hoaxes - The Piltdown Man

Each programme is what one may assume, an unedited version of an original History Channel broadcast made up of testimonials, newsreel footage and storytelling. Narrated by an American, whose accent I often found laborious, with the obligatory self-promoting pre-ad call-outs (e.g. "in a moment you'll find out who the real Dracula was..."), it lacks the polish of, say, a BBC production.

However, that being said, it still manages to be entertaining and educational, and the topics covered were interesting enough to fascinate my seven-year-old boy.
The DVDs are unrated but not all discs are suitable for children. Jack the Ripper, for obvious reasons, but also the Dracula and Amityville stories, the former making passing references to sex and showing wood-cuts of impaling and mutilation, the latter for horrific description of murder.

Enjoyable yet somewhat throwaway. It would have benefited from increased content or reduced packaging.
11 comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
A nice idea cramed into to short a time to really explore the topics better. It shows that it is made for TV and should be regarded as light entertainment not informative. Pity.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I have a 10yr old son who is unusual in the fact he would rather watch a documentary than a children's adventure film. So as Christmas was fast approaching, this sort of box set was just the thing (or so I thought). Read the info on the product.... Big Foot, Loch Ness monster, the real Dracula and was happy to order as the content couldn't be too adult because there was no age guide. However, when the set arrived I was HORRIFYED!!. How can you have a box set that contains "NESSY" at one end of the scale and the "Amityville House Horrors" at the other! The result is, I have had to remove the 'unsuitable' DVD's, which completely defeats the object of a box set. I will be writing to The history Channel Stores and asking why they are exempt from displaying an age guide symbol.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
A compilation of mysterious events that happened in history. An informative compilation, with interviews and reconstructions of the events. Not sure whether there is a "follow-up" Volume 2 of this set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
I really liked the content of these documentaries! The box arrived in Greece in exactly 3 weeks. The only disadvantages are that there are no English subtitles and the box is made of soft paper, so it came with some scratches in the edges, probably caused during the transportation. All in all I really liked this box and I will definitely purchase another history channel series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Arrived on time, well packed, The DVDs are a bit too dry for my taste, did not watch all the disks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
This was to be a gift for a 13 year old boy who is really interested in history. I was disappointed to find that some of the stories were very gorey (Jack the Ripper for instance) and not suitable. The cover details Stonehenge but that wasn't on the DVD at all!! I eventually had to give it to an adult instead. Shame it didn't give this information when purchasing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Then unfortunately he wants to talk about it all. Nevermind. He thinks there is a city on the other side of the moon with weather systems, so this was a perfect gift. Perhaps even too actual factual. Anyway, he liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Very interesting tells you all the history behind the legends and how they came to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
A gift for my grandsons - I think they like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)