Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERon 14 July 2015
This monopod from Manfrotto isn't hugely expensive, but taking this out of the box for the first time you could be mistaken for thinking it's more costly than it is, very solid feeling in the hand. Slightly different design for this tubing is alloy with a D shape (flat side) this is evidently for improved durability/strength in the tubes. 4 sections in total with a min collapsed size of just under 49cm, fully extended it's about 151.5cm in length long enough for most users even taller ones.

Included is an adjuster for the leg locks this is clipped onto the tubes, simply open the locks out and you can tweak the tightness for each of the 3. Top platform is a larger strong plastic, a hand strap is just under (this can be rotated around) the foam grip is harder and resistant to damage but grippy enough to hold the monopod securely. One clever element is the build in 1/4 inch and 3/8 inch threads it takes both sizes with a spring loaded action.

Very happy with this for the price it's vastly better than you might expect (finishing is first class in every respect) it's capable of holding up to 5KG more than enough even for fairly weighty lenses. You don't get a head included or a case, but I wouldn't expect one for this price. Comes highly recommended it's light, extends a good height and is very well made indeed. Another winner from Manfrotto
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2013
Gives a very good support and is easy to adjust with the three finger operated locks. I am 5ft 9" and do not need the full extension to bring it up to my eye level. Without the camera it is an excellent hiking pole with a comfortable foam grip and a handy wrist strap
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2014
This is the first monopod I've bought as a professional videographer (now that cameras are so much smaller) and I'm impressed with it's sturdiness whilst being light and portable. With a decent head attached it is a very useful tool when filming without lugging around a bit tripod or trying to avoid over zealous security guards (you cameramen out there know what I mean). Great value for money for an excellent manfrotto monopod, but I don't know what else is available at the price so do look around, but if you are thinking of this one then rest assured it's quality....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2016
This Manfrotto Monopod is great! So lightweight and great when on location but don't have the luxury of lots of space. This Monopod is great for getting stable shots on both photo and video. Great for weddings especially in the evenings when weaving through lots of people but wanting to get stable shots in low light.

Head - It doesn't come with any head so I would suggest getting the Manfrotto smooth ball head in order that you can smoothly move from shot to shot. Without this ball head I think it's rather restrictive.

Length / Height - The length that this Monopod goes to is impressive but it also retracts to a very portable compact size. This would be great for the travelling photographer who doesn't want to carry a cumbersome tripod all over the place.

Weight - The Monopod is lightweight and hardly weights anything which is great for travelling.

Safety - The hand strap is good for keeping the pole in reach but does make moving the stand more restrictive. I generally use this when using at events etc just in case some knocks the Monopod.

A great piece of kit, great for the travelling photographer / videographer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2015
Excellent, well- manufactured product! Very sturdy- but lightweight at the same time... Takes all the load from camera/ lens and most vertical shake is gone. Using it with Sony A77, double battery grip and Tamron 150- 600 glass (total 3,5 kg) and now can shoot all day long without getting Popeye forearms.
A fantastic improvement to picture sharpness.

Very compact and would fit into standard cabin luggage (not recommended, though- you'd have to say goodbye to it at security!).

Price- value hard to beat; would recommend anytime!

If you're after a lightweight, compact travel monopod that can take up to 5 kg: look no further. This is the one to go for.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2015
Slightly disappointed with this as it's not quite tall enough for me at 6'0 to use with my CSC (LUMIX G5) comfortably.
It's well made and sturdy though and has a clever spring loaded camera screw on the top which makes it compatible with 2 different sized tripod mount screw sizes. It also has a hand strap so it can be used as a walking pole.
More pluses than minuses but the minus is a biggie as makes it not ideal for my application so if you're tall and plan on using it with a CSC I'd not recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2016
I bought a cheaper monopod (on the recommendation of a friend who has much more experience of these objects than myself). I wasn't happy with it. It was awkward and felt flimsy. This one was three times the price but what a difference. It's solid construction; very quick to open and feels great. You get what you pay for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2015
Solid piece of kit, well built and sturdy without being too heavy. Nice positive action on the clips that lock the sections together. Quick and easy to put up and down, and plenty of height. Bought it with the Manfrotto 234 tilt head, a perfect match. My only complaint is about the ridiculously over-sized box that Amazon used to deliver the two items. What a waste.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2016
A monopod is smaller and lighter than my tripod, and allows me to take low light pictures (dusk / dawn and street lighting) and get a reasonable result at longer exposures, while enhancing action shot sharpness at faster shutter speeds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2015
Manfrotto = superb build quality.

As expected, a superb product. Sturdy clips and strong construction. Even their cheaper products are brilliant - would recommend to anyone looking for a more portable tool than a tripod.

I used this at RIAT to get the fast moving aircraft without having to hand-hold and they turned out superb. Pretty fast to pack up and run to a new location as well when needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)