Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
39
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2010
This Edsel compilation is nothing short of fantastic. Every Jason Donovan mix and rarity from the time is available on this and the album's successor, 1990's 'Between The Lines'. The packaging is lovely featuring lyrics, picture sleeves and an excellent essay to boot. It's a nigh on perfect release and of course is remastered so it sounds great too.

Have to admit, though, as I was coming to the end of Disc 2, I became a little Jasoned out! How many of these remixes I'll play again is open to debate, but they are there, that's the thing.

Congratulations to Edsel, who did such a good job on the recent Rick Astley albums, for this great product at such a decent price.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
being a huge fan back in the day,i thought i would buy this collection for a trip down memory lane.making hit music is what S/A/W did so well for nearly a decade,and this cd is no exception.featured are the b sides to all his top 5 singles from the album,as well as the 12" remixes.though a few get a bit boring after a while,most are classic pop.mr donovan may have lost his way in life,but this album shows why he was pop royalty back then.so,take a trip down memory lane and buy a copy to replace your vinyl/casette...and before long,you'll be singing away to "too many broken hearts,"everyday"and,of course,"especially for you" wishing you were kylie!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
Once again EDSEL open the pandora box and made a great deluxe edition of this classic album from the late 80's
a must have for all the PWL sound fans.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2003
If you like good pop music from the 80's, well this album is a MUST!Probably this is one of the best STOCK,AITKEN and WATERMAN productions.
MANY,MANY great songs, hits that made chart history like:"TOO MANY BROKEN HEARTS","SEALED WITH A KISS", "EVERY DAY(I LOVE YOU MORE)" or the huge hit with KYLIE:"ESPECIALLY FOR YOU".
Such energy and positive vibrations emerge from this 1988/1989 production!AN EXCELENT ALBUM!ENJOY IT...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2010
It was with a little trepidation when I saw this re-issue was under Edsel records. The Rick Astley re-issues sounded ok but not out of this world. Therefore, i was certainly amazed when I heard this CD and Between The Lines and was blown away by its sound quality. The sound was clear, crisp and had much more punch.

Nothing more can be said about the quality of the songs here. It was a # 1 album after all. Even the non-single tracks are good, i.e. You Can Depend on Me, Question of Pride, etc.

If you are a SAW fan, you'll love this. All the remixes, extended version, instrumentals are here. This is how a re-issue should be done - other record companies should take note.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
What is the point of this release? It's simply disc 1 of the incredible Edsel re-issue, repackaged into a new release.
I know he has the "Ten Good Reasons" show coming up, so this is a cheap and crappy cash in. People, if you want this brilliant album buy the 2010 re-issue.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Typical of many modern remastering, this Deluxe Edition suffers from a limited dynamic range. A letdown, considering the clear, crisp audio can be made even more appealing if only Tom Parker (the mastering engineer) chose to combine the superiority of modern transfer & mastering equipment while retaining the wide dynamic range that's prevalent in late 1980s recording.

The limited dynamic range is also evident in the other Tom Parker mastered PWL reissues, including the Japan-market Kylie Minogue's debut CD, and also Enjoy Yourself, released in 2012.

The original 1980s Enjoy Yourself CD may sound softer when played at the same volume, but when listened at a higher volume, the wider & more natural dynamic range makes listening more enjoyable. Bass sounds punchier, deeper & more natural, despite the overall audio quality lacks the crispness & clarity of modern remasters.

I hope that Tom Parker & other current mastering engineers would consider remastering future titles while retaining the dynamic range of the original master tapes.

It's a pity that many excellent modern reissues such as this comprehensive Deluxe Edition is marred by the loudness war.

Comparatively, the Rick Astley's Deluxe Edition of Whenever You Need Somebody, and Hold Me In Your Arms has a better dynamic range, mastered by a different engineer, Phil Kinrade.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
This is Stock, Aitken, and Waterman at the very height of their powers. This release contains plenty of extended versions, instrumentals, and remixes, although not all the hits have them. My highlights are the key-changing intro to the extended mix of Too Many Broken Hearts, and the instrumental of Nothing Can Divide Us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Like Kylie Minogue, Jason Donovan first achieved fame as an actor in Neighbours, the Australian TV soap, before switching to a musical career. This was Jason's first and most successful album, including his first five British hits. Like Kylie's early albums, it was a Stock Aitken and Waterman production. As I've said elsewhere, I'm not a huge fan of their productions overall, but there are exceptions including Jason and Kylie.

The first single, Nothing can divide us, became a British top five hit. Especially for you, a duet with Kylie, gave Jason his first British number one. He followed up with two solo number ones, these being Too many broken hearts and a cover of Sealed with a kiss, the oldie that was originally a hit for Bryan Hyland. The final British hit from this album, Every day I love you more, peaked at number two. Six other great sings (You can depend on me, Time heals, Question of pride, If I don't have you, Change your mind, Too late to say goodbye) complete the album. Some of them sound good enough to have been released as A-sides, but I suspect most of them were used as B-sides. To be honest, it is remarkable that any album should produce so many huge hits because if people like the first two, there is a tendency to buy the album.

Jason had further success with two more albums produced by Stock Aitken and Waterman and the singles taken from them, though none made number one. However, Jason eventually had a fourth British number one with Any dream will do, from the Andrew Lloyd Webber musical Joseph and the amazing Technicolor dream coat. One album on Polydor provided Jason with further success, but I haven't kept track of his career since then.

So as things turned out, Jason's musical career peaked at the beginning, but while this album is long out of print, hits compilations are more readily available. Nevertheless, if you enjoy this type of music, this album is well worth a listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
This review is for: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition)
The original issue of this album was 11 tracks, so here we get an incredible 26 bonus tracks! To be able to track down all the released mixes on CD singles would cost a fortune now and many of these bonus tracks were issued on vinyl only or were previously unreleased tracks anyway. So to be able to get all of this in a comprehensive collection deserves five stars. Usually I find something missing or something to gripe about, because I'm thorough and just a bit fussy. True to form I did find something, the Party Hardy mix of "Too Many Broken Hearts" is not here. This is most likely to be because it includes a snippet of Pat & Mick's "I Haven't Stopped Dancing Yet" in the middle and would sound very out of place here (I would have left it off too). It has since been released on the limited edition 3CD edition of "Pete Waterman presents The Hit Factory" Pete Waterman Presents The Hit Factory and fits much better on a various artist compilation, so that was the right decision. What we actually have here is every possible mix you can think of from this album and is therefore an archive of everything, rather than a double CD you would listen to from start to finish. The mastering is superb and one thing that was particularly pleasing was to see that "I Guess She Never Loved Me" (the B-Side to "Every Day") is complete. On the CD single of "Every Day" the intro is clipped. It is that attention to detail I appreciate greatly. I thoroughly recommend this, because it shows Stock Aitken Waterman and the team at PWL (who were extremely important to the success of S/A/W) when they were at their most creative. Jason's vocals sound so good on this album and we are so used to him as a singer, it's easy to forget before this he was a TV soap star in "Neighbours" (his character Scott being the inspiration for "Nothing Can Divide Us (Great Scott, It's The Remix)". The transition to pop star seemed to fit him like a glove. I can also recommend Between The Lines (Deluxe 2CD Edition). Both these reissues are superb. Many thanks to Edsel and Tom Parker for putting these together. I really appreciate it and I'm sure many other PWL fans and Jason fans do also.

By the way, I have also reviewed: Between The Lines (Deluxe 2CD Edition)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.97

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)