Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
62
4.5 out of 5 stars
Breaking Away [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 June 2015
Really lovely film, spoilt only by the poor digital transfer - it was quite fuzzy and a long way from HD. Also, no subtitles, a shame because the dialogue was also a bit fuzzy. Given that the film was made in 1979, the quality should be better. But very well worth seeing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
This is such a sweet movie and made before Hollywood started churning out dross in its bucketloads. A cheerful film about growing up, with a great soundtrack and early appearances of some future stars. A thoroughly enjoyable, family movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Picked up on this in a nostalgic review in the guardian (Xan Brooks). Absolutely amazing, and deserves a far wider viewership than I suspect it has. I'm almost tempted to go on a pilgrimage to the quarry lake....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
A near perfect feel good movie, ticks most of the boxes , struggling townies v privileged college jocks ,amateur sportsman v arrogant pros,throw in a generation gap and a young reckless Dennis Quaid as a best mate. The parents seem a little dated now as do the bikes but great late 70s period piece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Excellent screenplay and a truly wonderful film . Outstanding performance all round but in particular from paul Dooley, Daniel stern and Dennis christopher. This film is a must see for all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2017
Saw it years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband decided to buy a copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
So pleased to at last have a DVD version of a very old favourite from the 80s. My video player is long gone and it never seems to be on TV.But now I can ,any wet Sunday, curl up on the sofa with a plate of linguine and feel happy to be alive. Even if you lose your wallet you will enjoy it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2005
This is one my all time favourite films. I come back to it whenever I need cheering up. Wonderful witty script with no weak scenes, beautiful characterisation, enjoyable story. Our teenage sons also love it, it's a film all the family can enjoy.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Ok, a charming film but 5 stars really

Afraid I think it is a long way off 5 stars reaosns being as the ending is sweet, predictable and well that says it really. Acting and characterisation is wooden and the coming of age thing is not done justice at all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 October 2017
A 1979 coming-of-age film set entirely in Bloomington, Indiana about four friends finding their way in life after finishing high school but still unsure of how to shape their lives before finding work after deciding not to go on to university. Starring Dennis Christopher as Dave, they spend lazy summer days walking and swimming in a local, disused quarry pool, getting into petty arguments with university students who disparagingly refer to the local working class youths as 'Cutters' - and in Dave's case developing an obsession with cycling and as a result immersing himself in Italian culture, where he firmly believes the best racing cyclists hale from. Dave's parents view this differently - his mother is accepting of his interest, his father, a used car salesman is not and fears his son is becoming lazy, feckless and useless on one hand whilst still portraying a father's deep love for his son at other moments in a wonderfully conflicted performance for Paul Dooley.

I won't divulge any more of the plot,  although cycle racing features heavily in what is a lovely study of the 1970's technology then available with some exciting race footage; and as in many coming-of-age films it's a lot about changing perceptions and realisation that things are different than they seem. The performances throughout are naturalistic, the friendships and conflicts faced by teenagers turning into young adults rarely better portrayed. Along the way the friends find love, work, get into fights and gain acceptance.  It's a well-made whole with an always entertaining plot that moves along at a cracking pace, indeed it's easy to see why it won the Oscar for Best Screenplay and a Golden Globe for best comedy film asides from a host of other nominations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)