Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2017
The books are gripping and educational and the trailer of this series looked promising, and it was alright but we couldn't get into it. It sticks very closely to the book, the actors look exactly like the characters are described. Hard to pinpoint why it didn't quite work for us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
I'd watched the roman mysteries series on CBBC and decided i wanted the dvd. This dvd is well made and is a bundle of fun for youngsters and young adults alike. Offers good humour and gives a real insight into what the roman times were actually like. An absolute bargain at £3.39 (bought on 24th December 2010). Hope this helps.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
Love the series. Yes, it's a children's series, but just happened to catch one, so HAD to buy the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
There is a quiet charm about this series in contrast with the shrill drivel usually aimed at children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Sadly, last disk was out of place, it was scratched, but only realised this long after purchase. Sadly I do not know how it ends :( but the rest was good. Very enjoyable and entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
What a fantastic dvd set. My 8 yr old son Alexander, had been watching it at school and came home asking if we could get the set. I liked his enthusiasm so bought it and I loved watching it too! My 6 yr old son also liked it. It was so good we kept playing it till we had watched the whole series without any other TV!! It would be an ideal Xmas present.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
The first box says "Staring Simon Callow" but he dies 10 minutes into the first episode. Don't let that deter you though it is great.

My 7 year old daughter has read all the books and says that they are better but even so she still loves the DVD - The costumes and attention to detail on the food and so in is very accurate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
well made, informative and entertaining this series has all the positive aspects of television without the negative (product placement, too much violence, values which i can't accept...). My nine year old Roman fan loves it (especially Lupus) and I have no problem watching it with him. It brings to life information he's already had in school (on Vesuvius, Pompei, slavery in the Roman times...) and things he's read about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Roman Mysteries is a fabulous DVD set. It contains all of the episodes from series one and two.
It is based on the books by Caroline Lawrence.
Each story is divided into scrolls through two half hour episodes.
The stories include The secrets of Vesuvius, The pirates of Pompeii, the Assassins of Rome, The Dolphins of Laurentum, and The Enemies of Jupiter, all from series one. And then The Gladiators of Capua, The twelve trials of Flavia Gemina, The Colossus of Rhodes, The fugitive from Corinth and the Slave girl from Jerusalem, all from series two.
This was a children's TV series but it is suitable for anyone. The stories are excellent and the whole series has a big budget feel about it.
The sets and special effects are brilliant and everything looks so convincing.
The acting and production are first class and the series gives a strong feel of the day to day life in Ancient Rome. The series is also informative about historic events and facts and the whole series is very enjoyable.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2010
This is a great show, in the UK we could watch this through the BBC, It really interests my 8 year old, we have been able to use the books to compliment the DVD and we have been able to Ostia and walked amongst the ruins ourselves and it was great to use the visuals from the dvd to supplement that and "complete the picture". The children are excellent in the tv series and its great to have all the episodes on one complete set. Invaluable to any family with an interest in a good historical story.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse