Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
304
4.3 out of 5 stars
Size: Version10|Change
Price:£16.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2010
First impressions are good. The receivers are a little bulky, about the size of a nightlight, but feel very solid and hold the piggybacking plug tightly.

The handset and receivers are paired by setting matching patterns on a row of five switches, which will allow multiple sets of handsets and receivers to be used without interfering with each other.

As they use radio rather than infrared, you don't need a clear line of sight for them to work.
0Comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2010
Specification was lacking from Amazon page at the time of purchase. Power handling capacity is 1kW max. Insertion of 13 amp plug / device does require some force, as one reviewer states; this is not a problem with the safety shutter, it appears the plug pins are just a very tight fit. Set-up, which uses recessed circuit board switches, is fairly straightforward, only requiring a small screwdriver, metal nail file etc. Good instruction book. Remote control works throughout house without any problem. Remote controller and controlled sockets appear mechanically substantial. Electronics in the remote controller are built on a substantial printed circuit board. Uses a miniature 12V battery (A23) to power the controller - this is not as widely stocked as, say AA, but is not difficult to obtain.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2010
I bought these on the strength of T Griffin's review & I thank him for it. The Brennenstuhl sockets are very well made, with a nice transmitter. They are also quite compact, compared with my previous remote-controlled sockets. The transmission range is also good: I can operate the sockets from anywhere in my house. A nice touch is the red indicator that lets you know that the socket has turned on. Some other brands don't have this feature, which is a pity as it's quite useful.

Setting up the sockets is fairly easy, but some people may not agree with this. To set them up, you have to arrange a row of dip-switches on the remote, then remove the covers on each socket & set them up individually. As I am used to setting up electronics, it was easy for me, but I envisage that inexperienced people could struggle for a while. You also need some small Jeweller's screwdrivers (or similar) to facilitate set-up.

It would help if Brannenstuhl supplied the sockets with the most popular setting already programmed in, then they would work sraight from the box. Another point that Brannenstuhl should look at is the 13 Amp socket. With a name like Brannenstuhl, you may guess that these sockets originate outside Britain. When you plug in an appliance, this becomes more obvious, as you really have to apply pressure to get the plug home. This seems to be a slight design flaw, as the UK earth pin is supposed to open the Line & Neutral shutters for smooth access, & this doesn't fully happen with the Brannenstuhl sockets. It isn't a major snag. but, if you purchase these sockets, you should be aware of it.

In summary, these are the best remote sockets I have used to date, & I have reviewed three types for Amazon. Just bear in mind the (very minor) problems. If Brannenstuhl sort these out, they are easily worth 5 stars
44 comments| 103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
The instructions that come with this item are not very clear to say the least.
So hopefully the following will make more sense.
First you need to label each plug "A"; "B" & "C". These letters will correspond to the letters on the Remote Control.
At the back of each plug is a small screw which you have to unscrew and remove the cover.
Inside you will see some very small switches, they are numbered 1;2;3;4;5;A;B;C;D.
The factory setting is for all of these to be down except "D" which is up.
First push the "D" switch down & the "A" switch up (on the "A" plug, you'll do the same on plugs "B" & "C", but pushing up their respective letter.).
Now you have to choose a code using the numbers 1 - 5. You use the same code on all the plugs, plus the remote control. For example you may use 1;2;3 - You simply push up the switches 1;2;3 & you will already have pushed up the corresponding plug letter.
Do the same on the remote control, (Where the battery is) no letters on the remote control switches. That's it, plug in your device and the left-hand button switches the device on & the right-hand switches it off. Note the "D" switch is not used.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
Great units! they work anywhere in the house from a controller in any room, so really user friendly.
Beware of the 1000W max loading on them though. Do NOT, like us, plug in a hoover into the multiplug connected to one. We did and it burnt it out!! Pity there is no fuse in the unit, a surprising omission for units that connect to 13 amp sockets to burn out at 4.5 Amps!!
I am buying some more, just to replace that one. Fingers crossed that the new ones are on the same frequency range as the first 3.Brennenstuhl Energy Efficient Remote Control Mains Socket Set with 3 Receivers
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
The product arrived on time and was well packed for shipment.

Setting up the receivers to work with the remote control was simplicity itself. The only tool required is a screwdriver with a small Phillips head bit and a small flat head bit.

1) After installing the remote control battery (supplied), you need to set the dip switches inside the battery compartment. I set them to 1, 2 and 3 ON, 4 and 5 OFF.

2) Then each receiver in turn needs to be set. Unscrew the small cover on the first receiver, set the numbered dip switches to match the setting on the Remote (1, 2, 3 ON and 4, 5 OFF) and set the Alpha dip switch on to A.

3) Repeat 2) above for the other receivers setting the Alpha dip switch on to B for the second unit and C for the third unit.

4) I marked the top edge of each receiver in turn with the corresponding Alpha character for easy identification.

And that's it!!
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 September 2010
These remote controls have the advantage that they use radio waves rather than infra-red and so don't need an unobstructed line of sight to work. This suits me, as I wanted to have two of the receivers behind my television set. After setting up (see below) the system works fine and I can control three appliances without having the crawl behind my TV.

There's a good instruction booklet that takes you through the slightly complicated setting-up procedure. First you set a code behind a panel on the transmitter hand-set using series of tiny, numbered dip switches (you'll need your specs if long-sighted!) and set the same code on each of the receivers. To get at the dip switches on the receivers you unscrew small panels on the back of the receivers (you need a tiny cross-headed PH0 Phillips screw-driver) and click the dip-switches to match the transmitter. And, when you've got the back panels off you choose one of the dip switches labelled A, B, C or D to marry up with the same letter on the button on the transmitter.

When you get the system all five numbered dip-switches are in the ON position in all the receivers and on the transmitter, so, unless you have two transmitters you can leave them in the factory settings, but you will need to open up the receivers to set the dip switches with letters to link each receiver to the appropriate letter on the transmitter. It sounds more complicated than it is the case in practice.

The receivers are solidly made and hold the plugs of the appliances firmly. As you can see from the picture of the product the receiver is quite big with the receiving part above the plug socket: this has the advantage that if you have deep skirting boards or your sockets are just above the skirting board or work-top the receiver will fit. I've had a problem with multi-sockets, that have the row of sockets below the plug connecting to the mains, being hindered by a deep skirting board.
22 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
Easy to install, a small screwdriver size 0 Philips or Pozi is all you need.

Select the frequency using the DIP switches (very small switches in a small plastic block) e.g. 2,5,6 ON and then set that on all the receivers.

On each receiver you can select one of four channels. As I am using the system to switch off everything non-essential when I go to bed or leave the house, I set all the receivers to A.

Unlike many other systems there is a separate on and off, I know other systems just toggle so you don't know whether the devices are on or off!

Another reviewer mentioned that they had trouble inserting plugs into the unit, I have not had that problem.

[Update: 11/05/2013]

I bought nine of these, three are dead, the remaining six continue to work without incident. These are made in China, no doubt, although Brennenstuhl name sounds German and you hope for a made in Germany product.... no. I found the representative on enquiring Chinese contacts;

Mr. Wilson Wu, Hugo Brennenstuhl GmbH & Co., Kg, Room 2306B, No. 132, Renmin Road, Ningbo, Zhejiang, China, 315300

Disassembling the device is tough, but possible, the fault lay in the relay used to switch the current, it has fused shut and therefore couldn't be switched off. The relay is rated for a maximum of 2A at 250V, so switching something with a heavy, inductive load is going to kill this (be careful when connecting to motors, lights and heaters).

Due to the 33% attrition rate, I'll dock two stars off my five star review.
44 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 April 2011
It is odd to have 4 switches on the remote but only 3 unlabelled receivers but you will find by default they are all set to work using switch D i.e they all switch ON/OFF using position D on the remote.
Some people may want only this option but if you want them to respond individually you need to change the miniature dip switches inside each receiver to positions A,B,C or even leave one on D.
As other customers have found one of mine selected to be C did not respond but would respond on A. B or D.
It doesnt matter too much as you can re-assign another receiver as C but it is annoying.
It still does not seem logical to have 4 switches but only 3 receivers ?
33 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
This is a good quality product with clear instructions. Much better than other units I have used before. The dip switches are especialy good as unlike self leaning units these will never loose there settings when the power source is turned off.

The only drawback is there is no switch on the socket them selves so if for example the remote is not to hand you can't switch them off.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 39 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)