Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
356
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2017
Mo Hayder is a crime writer that has always been on my radar but I can't remember having read her before. I decided to start at the beginning of her DI Jack Caffery series with Birdman. Like all good literary detectives, Caffery has a troubled. When he was young, his brother was abducted and never found, so Jack lives in the same house, his parents house, so that is any evidence, or his brother comes back, he'll be there for him. Plus, the suspect in the case still lives next door and Caffery wants him to know that he's watching and waiting.

In the meantime, 5 women have been found ritualistically killed with a bird placed in the centre of their chest and Caffery needs to find the man responsible before he takes more lives. Now this plotline is is as gripping, graphic and exciting as any superior crime novel I have read. It alone is enough the cost of this book, but the storyline regarding Caffery's brother is fascinating. Jack's relationship with the neighbour and the mind games going on are quite something.

Hugely enjoyable and definitely recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Just finding it sometimes hard work to read - maybe just got used to Chris Carter where it is all straight forward and doesn't turn my brain to mush. Must admit I'm only three quarters of the way through so far but not looked forward to reading it every evening which is what I would give 5 stars for
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2008
I read this book in a day. Couldnt put it down - read it in the car, on my break, in the evening. The story is fast paced, breath-takingly good and unrelenting. The best thing about the book is it doenst spend endless pages on descriptive nonsense which bogs down a lot of thrillers. Mo is always moving the story forward with some very credible characters.
However - the last third is truly horrifying. Too much violence and terror for my liking and although i am an avid crime reader, i did feel my stomach turning towards the end. In fact after finishing the book, i wondered whether i would buy another, simply b/c i did find the details over the top - some things you should leave to the imagination! The details of the rapes / murders veered into the uncomfortable. Having said that, the pace and twists are extraordinary; it is impossible to predict.
All in all one of the best thrillers ive read (and one of the few to to finish in one day) but i have not give 5 stars only due to the fact that it leaves nothing to the imagination and did leave a slightly sour taste in the mouth. Probably will read another Mo Hayder, but i hope its a little toned down. With some amazing story telling skills, that level of violence surely isnt needed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Good read kept me up all night so's I could find out what happened in the next chapter
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Mo Hayder, fantastic what more can you say.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
This is the first book in the series and its off to a strong start with engaging characters and solid plotlines, more please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Great first novel in a series. This was a recommendation from one of my colleagues who's been totally hooked. If you like gritty British police crime drama this is definitely for you. I've bought the rest of the series on the strength of this one and looking forward to reading them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Really enjoyed this book. I like the Jack Caffery series and this is one of the best. Keeps you on the edge of your seat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Excellent book. Kept me gripped throughout. Will definitely be reading more from Mo Hayder!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2016
Oh dear I'm hooked
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse