Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
54
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2010
'Whitney Houston' really captures the time it was released, 1985. Back when soul music really was soulful and not influenced with hip hop and rap. This album includes some of the very best work of Whitney Houston, and is a great reminder of all the great songs she initially gave us.

The remastering of this album is fantastic, bringing Whitney's brilliant voice louder into the mix. Every single track on this album is pure class and elegance, not a bad word can be said about them and this remains one of those few completely timeless albums from the 1980s. My only criticism would be that they didn't include any previously unreleased recordings Whitney made during this era, although listening to the rare extended mixes and alternate versions that finish off this disc is enjoyable too.

My personal favourites from this album except for the 4 big singles are "All At Once", "Someone For Me" and "Take Good Care Of My Heart" which should have been huge hits as well. It is almost a crime they were never heavily promoted as singles, they are that good.

This is simply my favourite soul/R&B album of all time, and you don't need to be a fan of soul/R&B to enjoy it either. This music has major crossover appeal and has the ability to reach and touch people almost no matter what type of music they are into.

I would recommend `Whitney Houston` to any serious pop music fan, with this album the legendary singer made music history and will always be remembered for her brilliance.

Outstanding!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
The now-classic debut record from one of the greatest ever voices in pop music history, and it does not disappoint. Released in 1985, this is the album that introduced Whitney Houston to the world, years before she cemented her legend with the release of the soundtrack to 'The Bodyguard'.

Tracklist.
01. You Give Good Love - The song where Whitney Houston first made her mark on the billboard charts. This smooth-ballad with an urban vibe features some of her greatest vocal-runs, and was her first significant single-release, peaking at #03 on the Pop-chart and #01 on the RnB chart in 1985. It also earned her a nomination in the grammys for best RnB record of 85.
02. Thinking About You - A very urban, funky and retro dance/club song. It got a lot of radio airplay in 85, and did well on the RnB charts. Would fit in well on Houston's third album, more-urban/hiphop flavoured 'I'm Your Baby Tonight'.
03. Someone For Me - An uptempo 80's pop song, similar to 'How Will I Know' with a great baseline. Whitney's vocals are silky and understated. On the whole sounds a little dated today.
04. Saving All My Love For You - The showstopper on the album. The song that really launched Whitney as a star, with a jazzy melody and irrisistable chorus. Hit #01 on the top 100 in 85.
05. Nobody Loves Me Like You Do (featuring Jermaine Jackson) - The first duet of the album, a cover of a country staple, is a classic love/romance-duet in the same vain as 'Endless Love.
06. How Will I Know - 80's pop classic, another #01 and the first to get repeated airplay on MTV due to it's colourful music video. Gave Whitney a more youthful pop image, which would continue onto her second album with 'I Wanna Dance With Somebody'.
07. All At Once - Powerballad, very similar to 'Didn't We Almost Have It All', classic Whitney Houston.
08. Take Good Care of My Heart (featuring Jermaine Jackson) - The second duet, more uptempo and radio friendly. Perfect 1980's car music.
09. Greatest Love Of All - The second showstopper. This cover of a George Benson classic saw Whitney make it her own, a bonafide classic.
10. Hold Me (featuring Teddy Pendegrass) - A 1984 duet with the soulman, their voices blend wonderfully and it is a romantic standout and a nice closer to the album.

Continually rated as one of the greatest albums of the 20th century and one of the greatest artist debuts, this album is worth a listen to anybody with an interest in Whitney Houston, or in 1980's pop music in general.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
I'm a huge 80's fan and the songs on this Whitney album have a special place for me as they were some of the first records I bought back in '86. I already owned the double CD release with the second 'Whitney' album along with this one and, don't get me wrong, the sound has definitely been improved on this release. Given the quality of most remastered music these days, I was just a little disappointed with this remaster - some of the tracks sound a bit dull and/or lacking depth, like the standard version of 'How will I Know' for instance. Also, I've just compared my 12" vinyl version of the dance mix of 'How Will I Know' (which is a bonus track on the remaster) with the version on the CD and there is a vast difference. The vinyl sounds so much louder and an altogether 'bigger', more vibrant sound. I would have thought that with the technology available and given that this is such a landmark album, a better job could have been done. I'll probably have lots of other Whitney fans slating me for saying that!

Having said all of that, the DVD features look great and it is definitely a welcome release and good value at the price I paid for it so just about 4 stars on balance. I hope that they give Whitney's next couple of albums a similar treatment but with improved sound if at all possible.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
Finally - the incredible early years are to be celebrated! The most exciting thing about this package is it seems there will be plenty of live content. According to Whitney's official website 2 last minute performances have been added to the DVD too!

I Am Changing (performed at the Arista 15th Anniversary party 1983)
You Give Good Love (Live at Soul Train Awards 1986)

I am so looking forward to these as they are previously unreleased. We all know Whitney's voice was on fire during these years so I'm looking forward to cranking up the volume at home and watching these over and over!

Also can't wait to hear the remixes and read the letter Whitney has written to her fans in the booklet.

What a great way to start the new year :)
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
Whitney Houston has suddenly passed away at the tender age of 48. She has led a tumultuous life, with drug abuse, resulting in the ultimate sacrifice: the loss of her golden voice and her life. According to Tommy Mottola, the boss at Sony, he rightly said that Whitney Houston's voice at the beginning of her career was considered the golden standard, to be imitated by other singers that follow.

To truly appreciate the raw talent of Whitney, a greatest hits album is simply not enough. She has 19 charted albums on Billboard 200 Album Chart. This first release is one of her best, when she first started with raw talent as a singer and supermodel. This album stayed at Number 1 for 14 weeks, and has sold over 13 million copies in US. And if you compare with the best selling album of 2011, Adele's 21 only sold over 5 million. So, go figure.

I remember this was one of two CDs that I bought, when I finally decided to convert from vinyl to digital in 1985. The other purchase was ABBA's Greatest Hits. (Now, my CD collection is near 18,000) Of course, I also have Whitney's original album. You cannot beat the much larger, more detailed front and back covers of the vinyl album covers and the analogue sound from my Oracle turntable.

All the songs in this album are top-notched with some rare gems:

Track 01 You Give Good Love (#3/1985)
Track 02 Thimking About You (b-side to Greatest Love Of All)
Track 03 Someone For Me (b-side to How Will I Know)
Track 04 Saving All My Love For You (#1/1985)
Track 05 Nobody Loves Me Like You Do (album track) duet with Jermaine Jackson
Track 06 How Will I Know (#1 for 2 weeks/1985)
Track 07 All At Once (b-side To Saving All My Love For You)
Track 08 Take Good Care Of My Heart (album track) duet with Jermaine Jackson
Track 09 Greatest Love Of All (#1 for 3 weeks/1986)
Track 10 Hold Me (#46/1984) a beautiful duet with Teddy Pendergrass

This first album of Whitney Houston is truly remarkable with so many hits. The audio was very well remastered. Here, you can hear Whitney's at her early rawest best. Highly recommended as part of your Whitney Houston collection.

UPDATE:

One week after Whitney's passing, Whitney's Greatest Hits has re-entered the Billboard 200 Album Chart at #6, while her previous chart-topper I Will Always Love You re-entered the Billboard Hot 100 at #7! In The Catalog Album Chart, Whitney's Greatest Hits reigned supreme, re-entering at Number 1, while her first album, Whitney, re-entered at Number 5 and The Bodyguard Soundtrack at Number 7. Amazing feat!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
The biggest selling debut album by a female artist ever and you deservedly so !!!
The Bonus tracks are well chosen and the whole package made complete by
the inclusion of the bonus DVD with interviews, videos and footage of Whitney.
If you love Whitney, and don't have this album in your collection, you need too !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
We used to listen to the cassette tape of this when we were courting. Whitney had, in our opinion, the very best female voice in popular music to they time. Her songs oozed romance and passion so, when she very sadly died, we decided to buy the cd. A good move as we can now hear her beautiful singing even more clearly. Anyone wanting a single cd of Whitney's music won't go far wrong with this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
This is an excelent album from one of the very best singers in the world. A CD is still the best way to consume music, because of the much better sound quality than ordinary downloads can provide. That is if your stereo costs a $ 1000 or more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2012
I really like this album, I used to own a vinyl copy and love it so much I bought the cd. Her voice is amazing, the songs are all great, great album to remember what a fantastic talent she was.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
this was the voice first album ......a match made in heaven ....whitney and a michael masser prouduction ..................you cant go wrong !....lotsbeen said about clive davis and his treatment of whitney ,......yes i beleive he cared for whitney ,looked after her ect,...its a money biz!......she WAS great and will be missed by ppl who like a REAL voice ...rip wh .....xxxxxxxxxxxluckybear x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here