Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
Part of the thrill is who makes better money, and this is gone in this season.
I have the first two on dvd, and bluray does not bring that much of a difference either.
They had money comparisons in first two as I recall, and removing that makes it less interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
This season is where the Ice Road Truckers go to Alaska, USA and you meet Ice Road Trucker Lisa Kelly. One of three female Ice Road Truckers who "Run The Dalton".

Apart from Lisa, who is running her second season on the Alaskan Ice Road. You also have your favorites Hugh and Alex - The two Canadian Truckers from Season 1 & 2.

What sets Season 3 apart from the previous two seasons is that, not only are the truckers driving on Ice Roads across the sea but they are also driving on snow and ice covered roads. In which, what we have to handle on normal roads/highways is nothing compared to what these truckers have to handle.

So, the journey starts for a 500 mile drive from Fairbanks to Deadhorse in Prudhoe Bay (250 miles north of the Artic Circle), with the only stop is Coldfoot, just on the Artic Circle.

The only way to get between the two points is on The Dalton Highway. This means going up and down steep gradient slopes and over a mountain ridge 4000ft high. Driving through "white-outs", where on some occasions, they can just about see the front of their trucks, with winds gusting upto 50mph. One wrong move and they are either off the road onto the Tundra or crashing through the guardrail and down a 1000ft drop.

This is by far, the best Season and if you loved Ice Road Truckers 1 & 2, you will love this 13-part season.

Also, on disc 4 of this four-disc box set, is a 28 minute bonus section with unseen footage. A great addition in which I only wished it lasted a little longer, as "behind the scene" footage of these series is a great benefit.

I have no negatives regarding this show, just all positives.

The only other thing I will say here is; "can't wait until Season 4".

Thanks for reading and I hope if you love this programme, that you'll buy this box set too.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
Ce coffret de 4 BD est bien plus intéressant, et permet de mieux comprendre le déroulement de cette saison de transport en Alaska que les émissions diffusées à la TV française (sur W9). On est vraiment pris par les évènements, et on se sent proche de ces chauffeurs.
Les images et le son sont d'une qualité étonnamment bonnes pour un reportage sur le vif.
Le programme est bien sur en anglais, mais propose des sous-titres (en anglais) sur son intégralité (y compris les bonus).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
well may i say i thought the idea of watching this on history to be mad but i have then i have watched it all ever since 1 of the best programs on the tv so why not get the set and watch it in surround sound and high definition picture quality and sound a lot better than sky hd in this format if you have never watched this before you will not regret it worth every penny awesome 10 out of 10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
I loved watching this series when it was broadcast in the UK on C5. The downside of those broadcasts were the constant ad breaks with the consequent repetitiveness with comments like 'coming up later in the programme....' and 'on the next installment.....'. The picture quality also seemed to have something missing.

This Blu-ray solves all of this as the recording avoids all of the repetitiveness and the picture quality is fantastic. There are still some lower resolution pictures taken, I think, from 'in truck' cameras and where the light is poor due to weather and/or time of day. When light is good though, the result is sharp and clear.

Some of the shots are simply stunning. Parts of the route driven such as the RollerCoaster look even more frightening than ever.

Others have commented that they feel disappointed that the beeps covering bad language are still on the recording. I am happy about this as my children can safely watch the disc version and lets face it, anyone old and wise enough can fill in the beeps for themselves!

If there is a slight downside, then on my 'region free' version bought from the USA it is the voiceover having an American accent. He gets quite excited sometimes but you get used to it after a while and I suppose it reinforces the fact that this is all filmed several thousand miles from us in the UK.

I understand that the disc set is about to be released properly in the UK and so some of my comments may or may not apply to that version.

This series seems to have gathered quite a following around the UK if friends and family are to be believed. This disc set should prove very popular as you can now get a 'fix' of extremely cold weather whenever you want!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
Is it just me or is there a different narrator on the disc?

The version i saw on the history channel on sky had a less dramatic voice!!

I think they must have had a yank for the American version!

I much prefer the version on sky.

This guy is trying to supply too many ooooh and ahhhh moments!

looked for a differant audio track, but there isn't one.

Still love the series but it's spoilt it a bit for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
Is exactly what it says on the box, more of the same classic Ice Road Truckers, albeit without Rick Yemm this time round, but I think I'll manage!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I enjoyed Ice Road Truckers season 1 and 2.

But I LOVED season 3

OK there is the added bonus of Lisa, but the magic from season 1 and 2 carried on.

(So often when you get multiple seasons of a programme like this it looses its way; maybe its just not as good, maybe familiarity breeds contempt.)

But I often feel let down.

Not this time.

It is excellent.

So order it with confidence.

Order a pizza

Open a beer

And enjoy!

(The beer and pizza are of course optional)

:)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Have you got the nerve to do what these guys and dolls do? I wouldn't do it...
Great series and well documented.
We follow the men and women who deliver articulated lorry loads across miles of frozen rivers and seas during the winter months. It scary what they do and they take it in their stride to keep on trucking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)