Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 28 August 2017
I found it very good and helpful. it's a real pity the chapters cannot be reached with a click that you can choose from like a song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
good way to learn portuguese
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 July 2009
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I found this course very accessible; that is, should be easy to follow for most people. It has a strong emphasis on touristic situations and I suppose most potential customers/students will be using this for their holidays.

I feel that a bigger accompanying book would give me more confidence (there's just a booklet).

Also, some situations assume particular responses from Portuguese speakers. I'm sure this could be tricky in reality.. ask a Brit "How are you?" and they will very likely say "Fine, thanks". Ask someone in Portugal and they'll likely give you their life story(!)

All in all, I thought it was good practice for holiday-style Portuguese conversations but I would not consider it a complete course in itself, rather a good compliment to a book or on-line course.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 October 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you really wanted to learn Portuguese then you could be misled into buying this. Easy learning Portuguese doesn't mean you will start speaking Portuguese easily, it means it's for complete beginners (or, rather, holiday-makers) and you will pick up some basics and phrases easily. And that's all.

Anyway, it's usually fun learning a new language from scratch and fortunately this is one of those occasions.

The cds are broken up into four basic types of lesson: listening practice, speaking practice, dialogue, key phrases. The narrator is a native speaker, he has a clear and pleasant voice, as do the additional male and female voices.

Usually the hardest part of learning a new language for me is when I am presented with a conversation in an utterly strange language, after being given just a few words, so that the sounds all run into each other. However, I could easily distinguish between words, even those I did not know.

It is also hard to pronounce words correctly working on your own, and if you don't record and listen to yourself. This course does a decent job of trying to help with pronunciation, getting you to place stress correctly, etc.

Leaving aside consideration of the limited range, the method is not as good or effective as Michel Thomas' language courses, but then he never tried to teach us Portuguese and the attempt made by someone else with his method after his death is a lot more expensive than this and has had mixed reviews.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 December 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have had this product for almost a year now and studied the course before travel and then played the CDs in the car travelling through Portugal. Portuguese has the reputation of being a far more difficult language than Spanish or Italian so the very simple and straightforward approach of the course certainly helps the learner to get started, but a problem arises by the end of the course in that you still do not have enough vocabulary and grammar for some everyday situations. If you want an intensive course that will equip you for integration into Portuguese society then you will want more than is available here but this may get you started and ready for that intensive course that would otherwise intimidate you away from what is a beautiful language. The CDs, in conjunction with lyrics in CD inserts, have also helped me to understand the singing of the great contemporary Fado singer, Mariza, so that cannot be bad. Just do not expect to breeze into a cafe and be able to discuss the fragile and intimate meanderings of the human soul with a Portuguese speaker after completing this course.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 8 July 2009
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a nice simple introduction to Portuguese.

It comprises 3 CDs and a small 48 page booklet

As the guy says on the CDs the Easy learning package is "backed up with regular revision" to help it to sink in. Sessions (as he says) should only be used in 8-10 minute bursts if it is brand new material to you and you should take break between each section before continuing.

I must admit I am a complete beginner and had a few problems getting the accent right at the start but did really enjoy it and (I believe!) came to have an acceptable accent after a few hours.

Getting all of the phrases that native speakers might say back to you is particularly helpful. Being a beginner I can't really think of anything that has been missed out here - maybe advanced speakers would think so - but then I can't really see them listening to this.

I must say that had more trouble with the guy's English accent than the Portuguese. Sorry, it might sound harsh but I did find his English a little hard to follow at times. His Portuguese accent (as all the others on the CDs) is excellent though (as you'd expect from a native!)

If you want a short introduction to the language just to help you through a holiday or two then this is a really good introduction and really good value for money at less than £10 (at the time of writing) from Amazon.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 15 July 2009
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This set won't have you speaking Portuguese like a native or give you the ability to have complex conversations in the language, but it will give you enough basic Portuguese skills for a holiday or short visit without sounding too much like a tourist. It's very much of the old 'ecoutez et repetez' format, although it does offer background and explanations on phrases and words so it's not simply learning by rote. It also helpfully includes possible answers to questions you're likely to ask abroad - after all, what's the point of being able to ask a question if you can't understand the answer? - as well tips on body language and tone of voice to help you convey more than just the phrases themselves.

It's not meant to be a lightning course - it's best to give yourself a week or two at least before your trip to get the most out of the course - and it doesn't offer any new learning techniques if you've had problems with the 'ecoutez et repetez' format in the past - it's still basically a reinforced memory technique. But as a useful introduction to help you get by in Portugal (or any of the many countries where Portuguese is spoken), the three CDs and booklet cover the basics effectively enough.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 January 2010
I am a big fan of this series of language course, having had one for Japanese and Mandarin also. Driving a lot, and being stuck in traffic a lot, the exercises are simple, and don't require you to look at the accompanying booklet. Yes, it helps to do so when you are stationery and not driving, but you don't feel that you have to in order to work through the exercises.

Learning is via a very simple repetitive method, using native speakers, which is always useful. There are distinct differences in Portugese pronunciation compared to Spanish, although the languages are similar, and this does come across clearly.

Overall, this is ideal if you have to make a short business trip and just need enough to get by.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2009
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Travel anywhere abroad and it is well known that if you make an attempt as speaking the language you will gain respect from the locals and have a much enhanced time while you are there!
This is certainly true of our Greek travels , and since we are planning a Lisbon trip later this year, the opportunity to try out this 3 CD set was too good to resist.
Having learned Greek and tried the Greek CD set - finding it to be good revision for Greek travel language, I had high hopes of this set which were not dissapointed.

The set is made up of 3 CDs and an accompanying booklet with cutural and language tips . It was easy to transfer to mp3 player and so will be very portable on holiday and useful revision when there! The phrases are all pertinent to travel and the test will of course be once we are there and how we get on!
But I will say that the course is certainly inspiring more confidence than just using a phrase book!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Very usefull for anyone visiting Portugal!! so you can understand the language and also enjoy everything when you are there!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)