Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive playlist - Elton John Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
49
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2009
I was fortunate enough to see one of his live shows ("Joke Technician") just a few weeks prior to the recording of this DVD in May - it was brilliant. This DVD showcases some of the best jokes from that tour, and new ones also. Only once or twice did I notice jokes that were in his previous DVDs, but this is full with belly-laughing material; including unique visual slide-show humour, and his attempt at creating the shortest jokes possible using just two to four words! On top of that, with a good 40-minutes of bonus features it really makes this product one of his best yet.

Overall, this DVD is a fantastic example of what Jimmy Carr can do with an audience, and if you didn't get the chance to catch his live show - and even if you did - then this is for you.

Absolutely fantastic! *****
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
Being a true fan of Jimmy for years and probably knowing every single joke he has ever said, I find this DVD the least favorite. I saw this gig live last year and I bought the DVD about 2 weeks ago. It seems that after 4 brilliant tours, Jimmy's jokes are becoming very predictable with his very few subjects that he tends to joke about; pedophilia, homosexuality, and religion. If you are easily offended, this DVD is not for you, if you are a Jimmy carr fan, this DVD is not for you either. The extra footage are a gig in America with the same jokes as the main gig, some deleted scenes, and some tweets he sent on twitter which aren't really jokes, but rather thoughts that aren't really that funny. In other words, this DVD was put together just to sell something this year unlike the previous DVDs which included hilarious clips and showed true dedication.
I am not saying that it's a rubbish gig with no funny jokes, in fact, there are some really hilarious jokes. But even for someone who doesn't get offended easily, I think there is a limit for how much you can push it before you stop being funny and start sounding like you really want to irritate the people you're meant to be offending even when offense is taken and not given. I think his continious theme of sexual jokes gets boring after some time but that's only because he doesn't seem to change his themes that often anymore unlike his first 2 DVDs.
I rated it 2/5 for the 'not so brilliant' material and the obvious lack of dedication in putting this DVD together in comparison to other DVDs. And the way I know I don't like it is simply by not wanting to watch it again unlike his other DVDs which i've seen MANY times.
I saw his new tour live last october and it seems his next DVD would be much better than this one. If you could wait till next November, then do spare your money till then. It might be worth it. Meanwhile, do buy the new Michael Mcintyre DVD titled "Hello Wembley", as it is brilliant.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
I'm an avid fan of Jimmy Carr, have bought his previous stand-up DVDs, and absolutely loved them.

Telling Jokes is a similar format. Plenty of laugh-out-loud moments, and he proves he's still king of the heckler put-downs. You know what to expect with this guy, and if you don't like smut then you should avoid.

That said, a lot of the routine seems a little directionless, using abuse without marrying it to humour, to the point where "yeah I f****d your mum" starts to wear a little thin.

However, as a DVD it's worth buying. The good outweighs the bad, and I suspect hardcore Carr fans will find plenty there to love about it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2016
If you're familiar with Jimmy Carr to any extent, then you probably know that he likes to tell jokes that are likely to offend. This show includes jokes about rape, people with Downs syndrome and paedophilia, and that's just the tip of the iceberg. I'm really not at all sure if he stays on the right side of acceptability. He also swears a lot including repeated use of the C-word. There is also a lot of sexual content here. It's an 18 certificate, and as I say, if you know anything about Jimmy Carr, this shouldn't be too much of a surprise. I don't mind the swearing or the stuff about sex. Some of the other stuff, I'm just not sure about. But the bottom line for me is that I just didn't laugh all that much. There are some good bits, but not that many I'm afraid. I found myself watching the clock, waiting for it to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
as all ways Jimmy Carr belts out a brilliant DVD

he is not every-one's "cup of tea",
but if you like the harder more offensive jokes(like me), and laughing tell you almost pee yourself this is the man for you.

i have all of his DVDs and they are all amazingly funny.

I would highly recommend this DVD
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
Jimmy Carr is a true comedy genius!! Jimmy seems alot more relaxed on stage than his previous dvd's, but he's as funny and witty as ever!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2009
Another year, another Jimmy Carr DVD, and once again, I'm not disappointed. Of all the comedy DVDs that seem to flood the shops come November every year, Jimmy Carr is probably the one I look forward to watching the most. Crude humour is probably not my most favourite kind of humour, but there's no doubting that what Jimmy Carr does he does very well, and is a masterclass in comedy.

That said, it's all starting to become a little over-familiar. It's hard to describe Jimmy as playing-it-safe (how can anyone who cracks jokes about paedophilia, rape and sex be safe?) but quite frankly, it seems to be all Jimmy Carr is about and little else. No matter what the set-up, no matter what the heckle, Jimmy always brings it back to the same seedy subject matter. It may have been risque in the beginning, but Jimmy Carr's fanbase has long been desensitised to it. He's balancing a knife-edge that's long been blunt. Like many active comedians at the moment, he needs to branch-out and mix things up a bit or risk becoming stale, which would be a shame, because there's no denying the comedic skill this man possesses.

That all being said, this is still great stuff, VERY funny and with some brilliant audience interaction (those who have seen it will know what I mean when I mention 'soup' - I dare you not to raise a smile at the thought of that heckle!). Jimmy Carr fans won't be let down, that's for sure. However, here's one fan hoping for a bit of a shake-up next time round.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
Having just watched this, and having seen Jimmy Carr live, this DVD doesn't live up to Comedian or Stand Up. Don't get me wrong - it's funny - if you've watched the other DVDs and laughed then you'll certainly enjoy this but if you want to see him at his best, or if you're buying this as a gift for someone who doesn't know what he's like this isn't the best place to start.

It's very close to the bone. Josef (sp?) Fritzl and paedophilia are recurring themes and the while the jokes are undoubtedly funny, they're definitely not for everyone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
If you've seen Jimmy doing live stand up recently, or seen most of his shows on TV, or have his other DVDs.... then you know what to expect. He knows his stuff, he knows the intricacies of joke construction and telling, read his book The Naked Jape. But don't expect to hear anything you haven't heard from him already..... try Rhod Gilberts DVD..... thats a riot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
Jimmy Carr "telling jokes" is again another example of Jimmy's awasome humour at it's very best. His delivery combined with "cutting edge" material allways goes long ways to make you laugh. Jimmy allways pushes the evelope when it comes to humour,telling jokes,offending people and pushing the limits of decency. If your a Jimmy Carr fan then this is a Dvd you should diffenatly watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)