Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 August 2016
This is a very impressive 1:72 model of the mighty Avro Vulcan.
More specifically it is a rally good reproduction of XH558, which you may have seen doing flying displays at air shows right up to when the aircraft retired from flying for the second time in 2015.
In the box you get the injection moulded aircraft parts, a set of acrylic paints (including two brushes), a set of instructions and a set of transfer decals. The instructions, as with all Airfix kits, are well designed and very detailed. All you have to do is follow them in the order shown and you can’t go wrong.
I found the most difficult part of this kit was assembling the big components such as the wings and fuselage. The fuselage, for example, is about 300mm (one foot) long and it contains a number of different connecting points around openings, such as the bob bay, and construction joints, such as the wing mounts. The tolerances in the injection moulding process are limited and the two fuselage parts are always slightly warped relative to each other. It is quite difficult to connect the two fuselage components together and then hold them in place until the adhesive hardens, without opening up joints in one place or another. If you have a slight gap and you force the components together to seal the gap, you open up a gap somewhere else. This is simply a consequence of the size of the components and the manufacturing tolerances of the injection moulding process used in manufacture.
In my opinion the paints set is poor. The pots of acrylic paint are too small for the size of the model and the acrylic paint itself, in my opinion, is not as good as good as more traditional modellers enamel paint. If you do want to use the paints supplied be aware that (a) you need to use a good quality acrylic primer (not supplied) first and (b) you may run out of the two main camouflage colours because the small amount supplied with the kit is simply inadequate foe the surface area to be painted. I ended up not using the acrylic paints supplied at all and instead I bought larger cans of standard enamel paint at about £1.50 per can. These worked great.
The decals are easy to apply and there is a detailed diagram showing where they go on the model.
Overall I think this is a great model kit of a famous aeroplane and I certainly recommend it. When I bought the kit it was on sale at under £30 on Amazon and I think that is a reasonable price. It is a ig imposing model and you get a lot of plane for your money.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
If you're buying this then it's safe to say you know what you are getting. What was amazing was the item turned up after a day! Very, very quick dispatch and a bargain price! This is a good model of a very imposing aircraft that holds an important place in history made by the legend that is Airfix. Get your kids off the XBox and Playstation, sit them down and build this with them (or any model kit with them)!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
the vulcan is a cool, Big and fun kit. it is reasonably good value. recomended for experienced modelers. some use of filler is needed for the wings but overall gives good finished results ;)
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
My dad loves the Vulcan bomber so when I saw this I had to get it...

I had heard some shortcomings of the kit from several reviews but found that it was actually incredibly easy to put together and took very little time. Not to mention the fact that the kit looks excellent and is very impressive in both size and detail. I would say with confidence that any hobbiest with a bit of experience behind them will have no trouble whatsoever.

Saying that, they will also most likely have the paints/brushes/glue before hand making the ones in this set extraneous. Those that do not may wish to invest in some extra as the very small amounts you receive in this set really won't be enough I'd say.

In summary, an excellent kit but probably not on ideal starting point for a newcomer to the hobby.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Excellent model and easy to make although the paints and brushes supplied are woefully inadequate for this model , the paints are watery and in such small quantities to be laughable for a model of this size. The best thing to do is to buy oil-based enamel paints and decent size brushes or you'll not be able to complete your project. Once completed the problems with the paint and brushes are forgotten when you have a model worthy of the hours spent assembling it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
This is an old model and it shows a bit with some of the moulding not brilliant, a bit of filing needed to clean off flash. However with a bit of work and some filler it goes together quite well without too much difficulty. It is quite a big model! I would recommend the use of aerosol paints rather than the small tinlets that come with it as there is not enough and the finish will be much much better than brush painting such a large model. I've not completed it yet but it already looks good, I like it a lot!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
The venerable Airfix kit re-released. I'm pleased to say that the kit still has the blue steel missile. The kit was purchased at a reasonable price so it's worth spending extra money on upgrades. All in all a happy purchase.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
We bought this model for our son's 10th birthday, He has always been mad about the Vulcan from as young as four years old. So you can imagine his disappointment when so many of the parts do not fit together as they are supposed to, we cannot return the model because it is past return date due to birthday date.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Very poor quality instruction leaflet - barely legible and very sparse indeed. Perhaps more disappointingly the finish of the parts was very poor with almost every piece requiring trimming of excess material. A complete and utter contrast to a previously purchased Avro Lancaster kit which excelled all expectation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
A very good model kit, the detail was excellent, also the unit pieces. It made an outstanding model. Thank you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

What do customers buy after viewing this item?

Best Selling • Top Rated • Lowest Price


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)