Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
50
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2001
This album came about as a result of the death of Mother Love Bone lead singer, Andrew Wood. He shared a house with Soundgarden singer Chris Cornell and this album is basically his tribute to Andrew. The first two songs that he wrote following Andrew's death were the albums opening tracks, "Say Hello 2 Heaven" and "Reach Down". "Say Hello.." in particular is just beautiful - a sincerely and emotionally written song that is amazingly powerful in it's content and general feel.
Later songs were written when Stone Gossard, Jeff Ament, Eddie Vedder and Mike McCready, who all went on the form Pearl Jam, were drafted in. Tracks such as Hunger Strike, Call Me A Dog and Four Walled World again strike an emotional chord, whilst songs like Reach Down and Pushin' Forward Back provide the rock. This is an excellently crafted, powerful album, which was a perfectly fitting tribute to a man who should have become a rock legend. If you love Pearl Jam, Soundgarden or Mother Love Bone you will find this album a very welcome addition to your collection. Full marks!
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2002
This album is probably one of my all time favourites. Chris Cornell's voice has never sounded better, if you want proof listen to the songs 'call me a dog'or 'say hello 2 heaven'. I've had this album for years and never tire of hearing it. Its one of those rare albums that are mesmerising from start to finish, without any rubbish songs in between. If you like epic rock songs with massive vocals go out and buy it, 'hunger strike' (a duet between cornell and eddie vedder) is worth the money alone.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 1999
Since I've had this cd in my collection for over 7 years, I feel obligated to share my thoughts about it with all of you. I find it one of the best rock cd's ever made. It sounds like seventies and almost smells like it to. The fantastic artwork is the first thing you must notice. The music however is the real thing. Pure rock as it should be. From the opening "Say hello to heaven" to the closing "All night thing" it's a real blast. The main attraction for me is the sound: so pure and simple ! It's almost like standing in a rehearsel room next to them! The songs are honest as they should be. Since this is a landmark in Seattle rock early 90's, you can expect some of the best songwriting around. Chris Cornell is well known as a writers talent. Listening to songs such as the epic "Reach down", one thing comes to mind: why not more recordings of Temple of the Dog ? The answer is simple : it was a project which Cris initiated after a friends death. The lead singer of Mother Love Bone (there's a name for you!) died and Chris put his emotions and thoughts to music. As pure as his reasons to record this were, as pure sounds the music. My 5 stars go directly on the board since this is MY cd of the decade (maybe even the century).
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
This is is fantastic grunge album, Chris Cornell's voice sounds better than ever, This is early grunge at it's best!!, Highlights include "Reach Down", "Say Hello 2 Heaven" and "Hunger Strike", There are some great guitar solos on their aswell! All in all, an amazing tribute to Andrew Wood of Mother Love Bone!!! For fans of Pearl Jam and Soundgarden, this is gem!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2001
I brought this album after being a big fan f both pearl jam and soundgarden and i was not dissapointed. It has to be one of my favourite albums with brilliant guitars and vocals from the members. Highlighs ar Call me a dog and Hunger Strike but the whole album strikes a chord with no bad songs.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
Unfortunately, I discovered this album about eighteen-years too late... (And, yes, it's taken me almost two-years to write this short review!!). Quite simply, I believe this to be the greatest album in my current CD collection (70+ and all rock). I've been a huge fan of Pearl Jam for several years, which probably helps. I hadn't honestly heard much from Chris Cornell or Soundgarden before buying this CD but, I'm now keen to learn more. Cornell's vocals alone are awesome. Certainly, after years of well-documented personal problems, his voice isn't quite as the same today (not that it's bad!). Say Hello 2 Heaven has always been the stand out track for me.

If you're a fan of Pearl Jam and almost anything to do with Chris Cornell then, I reckon you'll enjoy this album, if you haven't discovered it already. I doubt whether a second album could come close to this outstanding debut but, there always seem to be rumours circulating that a reunion of the band's members could form in the near future... There are plenty of YouTube videos out there where Cornell is singing some of the 'hits' from this album with other artists at live shows. He's even made one or two 'surprise' appearances with Pearl Jam in the last year or so, which further fuels the speculation!

It's not as 'edgy', experimental or progressive as 'Supergroup' collaborations often tend to be so, there's every chance that you may enjoy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Temple of the Dog is a project made up of members of Soundgarden and Pearl Jam and was formed to pay tribute to one of their friends who died.
If you want to know more about that, it is published in detail all over the internet.

I want to talk about the music.

I had actually heard the album's final song "all night thing" from the movie Wayne's World, years before I knew who it was by. I was a Soundgarden fan, but had no idea at the time that it was Chris Cornell singing.

I decided to buy the album based on that one song, and i was not disappointed.

Most of the songs have extensive stoner-type guitar solos and a lot of Cornell's great screams.
The drumming is also interesting, with the track "Pushing Forward Back" written mostly in 7/8 time signature. Eddie Vedder also steps in on vocals throughout.

If you like grunge, then this album is a must-have.

Listen to "All Night Thing", "Pushing Forward Back" and "Hunger strike" if you want to get an idea of the spectrum of Temple Of The Dog.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Reviewers quote from 1992 --""The album's strength is its mournful, elegiac ballads, but thanks to the band's spontaneous creative energy and appropriately warm sound, it's permeated by a definite, life-affirming aura". Exactly.
A classic album made after the death of Andrew Wood, the former lead singer of Mother Love Bone. Soundgarden frontman Chris Cornell, who had been Mother Love Bone vocalist Andrew Wood's roommate, approached former Mother Love Bone members Stone Gossard and Jeff Ament about making a tribue album.The line-up eventually included Soundgarden drummer Matt Cameron and Mike McCready (lead guitar) and Eddie Vedder (background vocals). McCready and Vedder were featured on the album due to their involvement with Ament and Gossard's next project, which became Pearl Jam.
If you even remotely like any of the above mentioned bands you will love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 September 2003
This has got to be one of the greatest albums of all time. With some wonderful tracks from the start. 'Say Hello To Heaven' sets the standard with soulful rock that gets better and better. My favourite track is 'Wooden Jesus' but nearly all the tracks can be singled out as a masterpiece. This is an ABSOLUTE MUST for anyone who is serious about Rock music.
It's hard to define where the music should sit in the hall of greatness; maybe towards Pink Floyd but that would be doing an injustice to Pearl Jam????
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2003
This was one of the best *ahem* "grunge" albums ever released, Hunger Strike was one of the best "grunge" songs ever, and Eddie Vedder is still the best vocalist and frontman ever. Like Pearl Jam?? You'll love this.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)