Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
42
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2017
It seems to be of poor quality and not original recordings the backing music seemed wrong although the song selection is good all on one disc rather than buying a double CD with less known music. I expect you get what you pay for as the price seemed alright.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
A most enjoyable album to listen to, I never realised how many of the songs I recognised without knowing that it was Johnny Cash that sang them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
nice item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2007
Most, if not all, of the four reviews already on this page, and the Amazon review itself, are mislocated or confuse this album (Spectrum 554 383-2) with another similar one (notice how the reviewers refer to tracks that are not, in fact, in this listing!). This particular album is not the original recordings, but one of those studio remakes from decades later, probably 1998 so far as can be told from the cover notes. Johnny sounds tired (how many times must he have sung 'Ring of Fire' before he came to make this?).

Of course, you get digital quality with a remake, but I'd much rather have the raw and passionate originals. Caveat emptor.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As with many of the 'Greats' down the years you'd probably need to buy several
albums to own all of 'Johnny Cash's' best known and loved tracks.
I Chose to review and play this release because for, me, this does have many of
the songs I best remember on-board.
'Johnny Cash' singer/songwriter 'American' country and western legend.
He started his career way back in 54' signing up with the 'Sun' record-label also
famous for, around the same time as 'Johnny' in fact, for launching the recording
career's for the likes of 'Elvis' and 'Roy Orbison' along with several other well-known
artists.
'Johnny Cash' has down the years sold many, many albums here in the U.K which
is why so much of his material is so familiar to many of us, world-wide he did have
a massive following, in 'America' a regular visitor to the 'Country' and indeed 'Billboard'
Charts, here in the U.K although selling millions of albums his singles entries were
few.
In 1965 he charted in the U.K. with 'Bob Dylan's' 'It Ain't Me Babe' (Chart 28) not on
board, in 1969 perhaps one of his best-loved numbers 'A Boy Named Sue' (Chart 4)
He achieved another number '4' success in 72' with 'A Thing Called Love' (not on-
board)
He did have a number 21 hit in 70' with 'What is The Truth' (again not included on this
track list) however his number '32' entry of 76' 'One Piece at a Time' is included.
Of course 'Johnny' did have several lower-order entries down the years, as I pointed
out earlier the measure of his success in the U.K was in album sales.
'Johnny Cash' married a few times, marrying the love of his life fellow country-singer
'June Carter' in 1968.
The two sang several duets, famously 'Jackson' which is on-board, among some of the
other favourites on-board 'Ring of Fire' 'I Walk The Line' (worth watching the 'Joaquin
Phoenix' movie about 'Johnny Cash' of the same name as the song (2005) great film)
among some of the other favourites on-board 'Folsom Prison Blues' ( of course 'Johnny'
famously performed concerts for the inmates at 'Folsom' and 'San Quentin' ) my all time
favourite also on-board 'The Ballad of Ira Hayes'
'Johnny Cash' died September 2003 aged 71 , the same year as his 'great -love' and wife
'June Carter' who passed away May 15th 2003 aged 73.
If you wanted just one 'Johnny Cash' album reflecting his best know songs, I'd say this is
a good choice.
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2006
This single CD contains the best of Johnny Cash prior to his resurgence in the late 90s in collaboration with producer Rick Rubin and is difficult to fault with regards to content. All of the absolutely essential classics are included such a I Walk The Line, Ring Of Fire and a duet of Jackson with his enduring soulmate and second wife June Carter.

Cash was one of the few artists who was successfully considered a "man of the people" throughout his career. Tellingly for such a blue-collar hero, his two most famous and critically acclaimed albums were recorded live in American prisons and this compilation features Folsom Prison Blues from the At Folsom Prison LP and the funny A Boy Name Sue from At San Quentin.

The Cash sound stays similar throughout this Best Of with Johnny's deep vocals and fast country-ish acoustic supported by sparing rock'n'roll influenced lead guitar licks, simple root note bass and tight snare-heavy drumming. Female backing vocals and other instruments, such as the brass on Ring Of Fire, are used on occasions to embellish the arrangements with the superb train-like harmonica on Orange Blossom Special being particularly well played and effective.

Having said all this, I'm not a particularly massive fan of Johnny Cash's music though it shows something of the almost universal esteem with which he's held that I have gone firmly on the defensive here. Nevertheless, it's still good to have one JC LP with all the classics and for this purposes, The Best Of Johnny Cash does a very good job indeed.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2008
This is a re-record from 1998-ish. I own it - I was on holiday and in desperate need of some Johnny when I bought it. Unfortunately this is rubbish. Spend your money elsewhere. There are much better albums out there with the original recordings!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
My sort of music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2006
Having just seen the new Johnny Cash biopic, Walk The Line, and marvelled at Joaquin Phoenix's wonderful performances as the man in black, I just had to check out the real man's work.
And this was probably the best place for a beginner to start. It includes all his famous songs - Ring of Fire, Walk the Line - plus a couple I hadn't heard before - Sue - and also included my personal favourite, Jackson.
In fact, the only thing I wanted more of out of this best of collection, was more duets with June, as Jackson was the only one on this CD.
A live version of Fulsom prison blues is also very memorable. The Cd gives a very broad range of Cash's music, from early songs to the height of his career, and the only track that's sorely missed is Cry Cry Cry.
Still, essential listening, and a great foundation to start on Cash's other works.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
Great quality of songs which have been re-recorded you wont be able to find a better quality anywhere else. I like every single song on this album and i'am definitely going to buy more from Johnny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)