Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
111
4.6 out of 5 stars
York Fitness 1" Close Grip Tricep/Curl Bar
Price:£21.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 March 2016
Like others my bar arrived in a simple plastic bag which was disappointing as it took a beating on it's way to me to the metal on either end of the bar was chipped / tarnished. It's not the end of the world as it doesn't impact the function of the bar but still disappointing.

My major issue with the bar are the locking collars and i use the term locking very loosely as they don't lock for more than a few reps. You can tightened up the collars but the machining on the thread inside the collar is so loose they barely have any strength. More than a couple of reps on a bicep curl and they have stopped performing and the plates are starting to rattle. Re-tighten and you can carry on until it happens again.

I have a cast iron set of York dumb bells that have plastic locking collars and compared to these metal ones are far superior. Much better thread size matching to the bar itself and they just don't work loose at all.

The bar itself is fine, nicely textured, weighty and i like the way the centre is shaped.

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Further update.

Contacted York technical support and explained the issue with the locking collars. Their support was first class, polite, prompt and efficient. Pleasantly surprised. They arranged for foc replacement collars which arrived today and are a much better fit with the bar.

Impressed with the after-sales by York and resolved the issues i had the with the bar :)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 May 2016
Fantastic bar for home gyms. I like to have a select amount of equipment in my home gym to assist with those moments when my good lady or I can't get through town to get to the gym or for that supplementary warmup work before I head to the gym.

The bar itself is a good size 48" with 7.5" either end for plates to fit on to. You won't get many vinyl plates on but cast irons I get enough to overload to a degree. The spin lock collars are solid and sturdy but do have a small tendency to work their way loose occasionally which can be annoying but re-tightening the collars takea second or two and you are away again. The rubber grip washer does help prevent the plates from spinning which causes the collars to loosen but if you tighten them up enough they do stay for a decent amount of reps.

The versatile shape of the bar means you can perform a good variety of biceps, triceps and forearm exercises.

The chrome plating has remained in good condition despite the hammering it has been given over time, so in all a good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
Quality product. The bar itself is around 5kg, so this should be taken into account when adding weights etc. Very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2009
i was going to get and e-z bar to do bicep curls, as it takes the pressure off your wrist unlike the strait bar. This bar has the same part as the e-z bar for curls with the added bit in the middle for doing triceps, which works out as great value for money.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Great quality product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
extremely strong bar very well made this is an absolute steal as this product cost a lot less than some of the other brands very happy indeed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
couldn't wait to use this n I'm 41 yrs old, only got Tuesday, went Muay Thai boxing, so used it Wednesday morning before going to work as I woke early, into my garage for my home gym, really enjoyed that work out.

used for upright rows, n triceps routine so far and it has improved my performance greatly, able to lift heavier weights and also more directed workout on muscle groups that I wasn't getting from using the straight bar,

and the u bend in the middle is ideal for bi-cep curls, saves me buying the bar for bi-cep curls. so extremely good value for money, only thing is cosmetically but when doing weight training that's not an issue lol it's what u can do with it that counts, superb bar bell,

n those who complain about the spin locks, ur talking nonsense, u'd think it took ages to change plates, lucky if it takes a minute, some people are never happy lol !!!!!!!!!!!!!

This bar bell is extremely good value for money and I would encourage anyone to add this to their collection.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
I wanted this product for exercises such as the upright row and overhead tricep extension. The item is perfect for both.
My York cast iron weights fit it perfectly and the metal spinlock collars match the York dumbbell kit I own.

Before buying this item I was torn between it and York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg. I am glad that I went for this as the curves are more ergonomic and therefore more comfortable to use.
The item is quite heavy on its own, weighing in at just over 5 kg with no weight on it!
It came well packaged and it's a sturdy piece of kit which should last me for years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
A bit smaller than expected, but good enough for what it is designed for.
Bar measure 1200mm (4')
Space between inner collars 830mm
Useable Weight disc space 170mm
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
I read a couple of reviews saying the build quality wasn't any good and it had scuffs and scratches. Man up! This is for lifting heavy weights not for sitting on your mantle to admire. And other reviews day they can't squat or shoulder press with it. If you think this is for squats you shouldn't be anywhere near heavy objects. It's perfectly weighted and well designed for biceps and triceps work. Don't hesitate with buying.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)