Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2009
i was going to get and e-z bar to do bicep curls, as it takes the pressure off your wrist unlike the strait bar. This bar has the same part as the e-z bar for curls with the added bit in the middle for doing triceps, which works out as great value for money.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Like others my bar arrived in a simple plastic bag which was disappointing as it took a beating on it's way to me to the metal on either end of the bar was chipped / tarnished. It's not the end of the world as it doesn't impact the function of the bar but still disappointing.

My major issue with the bar are the locking collars and i use the term locking very loosely as they don't lock for more than a few reps. You can tightened up the collars but the machining on the thread inside the collar is so loose they barely have any strength. More than a couple of reps on a bicep curl and they have stopped performing and the plates are starting to rattle. Re-tighten and you can carry on until it happens again.

I have a cast iron set of York dumb bells that have plastic locking collars and compared to these metal ones are far superior. Much better thread size matching to the bar itself and they just don't work loose at all.

The bar itself is fine, nicely textured, weighty and i like the way the centre is shaped.

Further update.

Contacted York technical support and explained the issue with the locking collars. Their support was first class, polite, prompt and efficient. Pleasantly surprised. They arranged for foc replacement collars which arrived today and are a much better fit with the bar.

Impressed with the after-sales by York and resolved the issues i had the with the bar :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
Fantastic bar for home gyms. I like to have a select amount of equipment in my home gym to assist with those moments when my good lady or I can't get through town to get to the gym or for that supplementary warmup work before I head to the gym.

The bar itself is a good size 48" with 7.5" either end for plates to fit on to. You won't get many vinyl plates on but cast irons I get enough to overload to a degree. The spin lock collars are solid and sturdy but do have a small tendency to work their way loose occasionally which can be annoying but re-tightening the collars takea second or two and you are away again. The rubber grip washer does help prevent the plates from spinning which causes the collars to loosen but if you tighten them up enough they do stay for a decent amount of reps.

The versatile shape of the bar means you can perform a good variety of biceps, triceps and forearm exercises.

The chrome plating has remained in good condition despite the hammering it has been given over time, so in all a good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
wow! such poor quality. who would have thought that such a simple piece of equipment could be such a let down.
i was looking forward to this as ive had some serious wrist pain using regular dumbbells (york) recently and after a little research and reading up on reviews here i decided to give this tri/curl combi bar a go.

as it turned up on the door, a day late, it was barely covered in a thin plastic wrap already ripped and falling off. i wasnt too bothered as it is solid metal, but still i expected a little more from amazon, who normally send small items in huge over padded boxes.

i was quite lucky as i quickly and easily remover the remaining plastic wrap, that i didnt cut myself open. on each end of the bar there was a razor sharp metal splinter. i was surprised and lucky to only graze my hand on one as i was removing the plastic wrap, so i checked the other end only to find another one.

the chrome and metal castings are just so poor. chrome hasnt been applied in places. small chips are breaking off the nuts only creating more sharp edges and the nuts them self are very loose on the bar, this really is the lowest quality lifting bar i have ever set eyes on. i am truly shocked amazon supplied me this.

if you do choose to buy one of these bent tri/curl combi bars, do yourself a favor and purchase a different brand.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
A bit smaller than expected, but good enough for what it is designed for.
Bar measure 1200mm (4')
Space between inner collars 830mm
Useable Weight disc space 170mm
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
What a great piece of equipment this is. I was looking for a bar to make doing upright rows and lying tricep extentions easier on my wrists. If you use a standard straight bar, it tries to pull your wrists at all sorts of angles, especially on upright rows. Using this one, the angle of the bar is exactly where your hands need to be. Also the U-shaped bit in the middle goes under your chin, so you don't hit yourself with it, like I was, using a straight one.
The price is very good too. Your talking about £40 for kit like this. Amazon was the cheapest by far. I would recommend buying this bar just for doing upright rows as it has improved my form by 50%.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
I'm not sure how much better quality you could get this bar as it is just solid metal with 2 good quality spin locks on each end. Easy to use and great for numerous arm workouts. Would definitely recommend this over the E-Z bar as it gives you a wider-range of more concentrated exercises that you can do.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
couldn't wait to use this n I'm 41 yrs old, only got Tuesday, went Muay Thai boxing, so used it Wednesday morning before going to work as I woke early, into my garage for my home gym, really enjoyed that work out.

used for upright rows, n triceps routine so far and it has improved my performance greatly, able to lift heavier weights and also more directed workout on muscle groups that I wasn't getting from using the straight bar,

and the u bend in the middle is ideal for bi-cep curls, saves me buying the bar for bi-cep curls. so extremely good value for money, only thing is cosmetically but when doing weight training that's not an issue lol it's what u can do with it that counts, superb bar bell,

n those who complain about the spin locks, ur talking nonsense, u'd think it took ages to change plates, lucky if it takes a minute, some people are never happy lol !!!!!!!!!!!!!

This bar bell is extremely good value for money and I would encourage anyone to add this to their collection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
A great bar for an arms workout. With the different places for your hands to hold on to, different areas of the biceps and even triceps can be met when working out. It's weight is even and it is a strong build. The diameter of the bar matches the standard York Fitness Plates.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 January 2016
This bar is great for doing either bicep curls or a lying tricep extension (skullcrusher) while taking the strain off you wrists and forearms. There are of course, more exercises you can do with the bar.

The problem with doing the two exercises I mentioned above with a straight bar is that they put pressure on your wrists, causing discomfort and thus making the exerciser use less weight. Less weight means that the exercise will be less effective and the results less impressive. Doing the same exercise with the hands at an angle relieves the pressure and allows you to do the exercise in relative comfort, meaning you can add a bit more weight to your lift.

The curve of this bar is a bit more acute than a normal EZ bar, which I like but some people may not. It comes with spin lock collars and is for 1 inch weight plates. The chrome finish does mark easily, more than other bars I own, for which the bar loses a star. All in all, it does the job and does it well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)