Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
64
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2009
Eclectic and eccentric. Indescribable. Jonathan Meades does not patronise; he assumes intelligence, wit and perception from his audience. Even if you do not share his views on every subject he beguiles and persuades. You don't have to be serious to make a serious point and in a 30 minute film like "the future", included in this collection, Meades entertains, challenges and educates. If you have come across his work before you will either love it or just not get it. If you have not seen anything by him before, take a chance. The worst that can happen is that you'll learn something: which does not happen very often watching TV in the 21st century. Finally, it is worth stating that it is the kind of work produced by Meades that makes the BBC great. No other broadcaster would commission this stuff. Get it while you still can.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 June 2008
Whether you agree or not with Jonathan Meades his ideas are nearly always perceptive, stimulating and sometimes downright mischievously provocative. He relishes the use of language and uses it as a scalpel to dissect and expose. His approach - thank gods - is diametrically opposite to the majority of presenters and makers of Polyfilla television, and I apologise to the makers of Polyfilla, a fine product I might add, for the simile used here. We have brains but it would seem that the nation generally has tired of using them. Please make this and other Jonathan Meades DVDs available. We desperately need this sort of quality if our evolution from human to gibbon is to be avoided.
22 Comments| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
... be released in full. This tantalising subset of his output that the BBC has deigned to release is scarcely adequate as an aperitif. For those yet to encounter him Meades is an architectural populariser, morbid wit, trenchant humanist, but above all the most penetratingly insightful of social commentators in present day broadcasting. Meades and his team are the most innovative, which is to say downright eccentric, purveyors of that rarest of cultural commodities, intelligent telly. Yes, there are some fine episodes in this package, the roots-affirming Bohemia, the sublime Belgium, the somewhat provocative Get High, and two completely revelatory pieces of Magnetic North. But where is Jerry Building? And Joe Building? Not to mention the supremely surreal Surrealism? We live today in a culture whose defining characteristic is its capacity for the billion-fold replication of the banal. Yet, when something is finally made worth seeing or hearing more than once, why should that thing get its single, erratically scheduled, squirt into the Aether, only then to be buried in the deepest archives where no light shall ever penetrate? Is it because the commissars of culture are wary of fomenting the expectations of the brain-owning public to such dangerous levels that it should come to presume this kind of quality for the norm? Come on Beeb, this just isn't good enough. For those who enjoy Meades at all, there can be no such thing as a `best of' for something there can never be enough of. You cannot release a portion of the whole without incurring real disappointment for what has been omitted.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2009
Meades often comes under criticism for being too high-brow or perhaps snobby. His programmes are born out of a great love for our cultural heritage and that definitely comes across in one of the DVD features, "Severn Heaven", a defense of self-built working class homes near Birmingham. He finds the beauty in the uncoventional and the ugliness in the established "high culture".

I can't help but feel that most televison is the cullinary equivalant of fast-food, and there is nothing wrong with that, in moderation. But the programmes made by Meades are simply some of the best ever made for the BBC. In culinary terms he is 3-star michellin restaurant and that has got to be a wonderful change to our usual TV dinner.

Please BBC, release onto DVD more of Meades's films and commission some new series??!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Jonathan Meade is capable of keeping you spellbound during the whole show. No time to go get coffee, if you miss a sentence, you have to start all over again. He delivers his point with a florish, looks at all the angles and leaves you dazzled.
A pity that the box is a collection, I want to see all the episodes
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
Why does the BBC torture its 'shareholders' in this way? What Mr Meades devotees want is ALL of his programmes, not just a few programmes that remind us of how great the BBC used to be. Perhaps I'm weird but I find that listening to Jonathan Meades (the pictures are a bonus) is like having a brain massage; his use of the English language is delicious and reminds me that I am actually an intelligent human being (although there are some that may dispute this).
That the BBC claim 'copyright' as a reason as to why they can't release more of these programmes is troublesome. I'm fairly sure that the programmes were BBC copyright when broadcast. Which idiot sold the copyright, to whom and why? Buy it back and release the programmes - some of us would pay a good deal to have the full collection.
Could anyone imagine the BBC commissioning these programmes in 2015? Sadly, nor can I. Back to Radio 4 then. Hey ho.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Jonathan Meades is provocative, absurd, opinionated, surrealist and a sheer unadulterated pleasure to watch. His wit is razor fine and the sooner we get all of the films on DVD the better.

I'd seen the original Severn Valley programme ("set in a distant present") but was glad to be reminded of it, but for some reason I missed quite a lot of the ensuing ones, including Get High which did my stomach no good whatsoever. I identified entirely with him as he crawled on his knees across Clifton Suspension Bridge and I agree, bridges should be banned - all of them. His remark that "fairgrounds are legalised brothels that satisfy non-sexual appetites" doesn't really make sense if you think about it, but never mind, I like any space I'm in to be above me, not below me, so the cathedral shots were good.

Belgium has a lot more going for it than I thought, putting to shame the insular regimented suburbs of Britain, though other scenes exemplify his point that its rural areas "have a bleakness we've almost lost the knack of in England." Full marks too for the cruel remark about Belgium's public buildings reminding him of "a dwarf with a penis enlargement."

DVD 2 onwards, apart from "the lime green posing-pouch of reality" was more of a mixed bag. Some of the descriptions of church architecture (Coventry cathedral "in the shape of a radiogramme" and "a descending flock of bobbins") were delightful and I feel I learnt more about church architecture in England than I expected (modernist parasitism, exercises in pure form, the apparent rule that architects should forget what a church was supposed to look like and the way this worked towards inducing a general indifference to religion, leading to the cosy non-church, one step on from your granny's front room).

The Hanseatic history in the Magnetic North episode was revelatory for me. But I felt equivocal about Meades' preference for buildings erected in praise of Mammon rather than those erected as colonial bastions. His antennae shivered in the wind over gothic Victorian too. Shouldn't one judge buildings on purely aesthetic grounds? Not everyone prefers Georgian simplicity - gargoyles were often the creation of rough workmen leaving their mark where tradition dictated they might. I was pleased too to hear about the Paganist movement in Finnish architecture. All in all, a distinct pleasure throughout. More please.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
Meades does topography like no other. Well not like Betjeman nor Auden and so, so much good transpires that is new, even though now 20 years ago, later, we discover what we have lost in this short time under Major/New Labour. There is no downside, despite the loss of breadth as others have said. Meades is pithy and angular and buffonishly clever where others are dried-up sticks with umbrellas sticking out of their anoraky rucksacs - uck.

My favourite scene - Get High - the divers, where the camera stops panning as they enter the water: a second later the droplets from the splash slo-mo'd, backgrounded with Out of Africa soundtrack.

You're not likely to see this kind of quality anytime soon on Sky (let alone the blinded BBC) so as an old self-proclaimed sage on these matters take it from me - this is apogee.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2009
Jonathon Meades has produced, what to my mind is, some of the best British television of the last 20 years on Art, Culture and Architecture, in a style that is both serious and humourous at the same time.In an age of dumbed down television dominated by reality TV shows and wanna-be pop star talent competitions,surely there is place for television as Art, for that is what it surely is.Excellent.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
Meades's documentary style is very good and quite exceptional among British television. These documentaries are well-paced, clearly presented and beautifully shot. Most importantly of all they do not talk down to the viewer but instead treat him like an intelligent and thoughtful human being. In the interview with Mark Lawson included as an extra on this release, Meades says he is a maximalist, committed to packing in as much content as possible. This makes the films deep and worth repeated viewings. In addition the ideas, which are often complex, are portrayed in an interesting visual style, so that even if it is not always possible to follow Meades's language, there is always something interesting to look at, or an interesting visual juxtaposition. The various directors and cameramen also deserve credit for this. I particularly like the way that the camera is permitted to dwell on the entirety of a building and its details (the predominant subject of the films is architecture and place), so that we can absorb its look and atmosphere.

However though these programmes are good, this release leaves much to be desired. It seems that the most that was done was to organise the admittedly tricky process of finalising music rights of the many and diverse tunes included in the films originally. This also seems to have limited the selection of films, and i have considerable doubt that it constitutes a true 'best-of', though not a stated intention, surely the default selective principle in a 'collection'. Therefore we get the first two episodes of the series 'Magnetic North', but frustratingly, not the other four. On top of that are a few extra photos of Meades for the cover and a specially filmed introduction of him standing in a mixing room, that is quite useful but would be equally so if written. The Mark Lawson interview is largely unrevealing and was taken from the bbc4 series of Mark lawson speaking to various tv figures while sitting in uncomfortable looking chairs, in a studio, with no cutaway footage. Most maddeningly of all, there is no contents list, so that you have to play the dvds and look at the episode list in order to find out what is on the three discs. It is amazing that someone is employed by the bbc specifically with the job of packaging a dvd and they manage to omit the most, indeed only important item of information, but it is true.

In conclusion, the strength of these programmes makes this a worthwhile purchase, but one that is not improved by this incompetently produced dvd collection.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)