Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
The Filth And The Fury - A Sex Pistols Film [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

VINE VOICETOP 100 REVIEWERon 11 January 2015
I came to this film having recently read Vivienne Westwood's (with Ian Kenny)
2014 autobiography, in itself a vivid and absorbing account of the genesis of punk
culture and the major players in the drama which unfolded in and around her
and Malcolm McClaren's chaotic World's End shop in the gloom of 1970's Britain.

Julian Temple's 2007 work about the rise and fall of The Sex Pistols is set against
a backdrop of national political turmoil and its impact on socially and emotionally
disaffected youth is an engaging and powerful masterclass in documentary making.

The recollections of surviving band members are shot in shadow, an at times
disconcerting technique which nonetheless serves to amplify the tawdry story.
Mr Rotten's narrative, in particular, is both articulate and curiously affecting.

Live footage of the band in their mercurial but damned ascendency captures
a real sense of what it must have been like to be trapped in a room with them!

Although by no means a fan at the time I find myself drawn to them in my dotage.

Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2017
I personally love this film!!


I love The Sex Pistols and this is a great insight into them not only as a band but as how they formed and you learn about them as individuals.

If you want to know a bit more about them, are skeptical of what The Sex Pistols were about or even Punk itself and the how it was for them at that time when Punk in general was viewed very differently back then, or if you just want to know about the members of the band (people bad mouth them only because they know nothing about them- sorry but that does annoy me very much) - Then this is the dvd for you! You learn so much and it's a very interesting film filled with laughs, tears and facts from the members themselves and real footage of them and interviews that include some that are hard to come by.

I would definitely recommend this!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2012
This documentary is very good. No, really great. No, scratch that. It's mandatory!

If you ever thought you knew anything about popular music, rock 'n' roll or punk, you haven't seen nothin' yet until you see this movie. It proves what a lot of people don't seem to understand; namely that just because you're a "punk" does not mean that you're some "filthy" slacker who is desperate for other people's attention. Most people, no matter who you are or what music you play, just want to have fun and go nuts. Through their lyrics they tell the world how they feel about society and about themselves. We learn that in the late 70's there was a darn good reason why a lot of people, especially people from the working class, were angry about the state of Great Britain at the time and they felt that something must be done.

If you think that everything about punk is "filthy lucre", you might be shocked to find that John Lydon is a very intelligent person. I already knew it, because any interview with him proves it. Sid seems to have been a nice guy who just tried to be tougher than he actually was. He then fell victim to the drug swamp and was eventually sucked in so deep that he drowned. He didn't deserve to die and I don't believe he killed Nancy, but that's mostly based on other sources.

To sum up this movie, I will borrow a quote from John Lydon, with some slight adjustments to fit this text (but keeping the core intact):

"In every documentary about any band ever, everybody's busy tellin' you how great everything is. That's not true at all. It's hell, it's hard; it's enjoyable to a certain extent, but it's the work at the end of the day that makes it worth it."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2010
This is a great documentary which follows the spit-laden trajectory of a band who changed everything. All of the band members speak honestly and openly (but with their own agendas) - the anecdotes are hilarious and they capture that horrible mid-late seventies squalor and the feeling that music had disappeared up its own progressive or glittery fundament. John Lydon is particularly interesting on the politics of the time and the feelings of alienation and anger that were welling up amongst many people. Anarchy in the UK was a great, noisy, spittle flecked hammer blow against complacency and the establishment. As for God Save The Queen....!

Lydon is a fascinating, articulate, sensitive and humorous man who looks back on that time in wonderment at the level of media-driven hostility towards a bunch of lads raging against the machine. The visceral hatred is hard to comprehend but I remember it very well at the time. The brief time they were together was a great wonder and it is sad that old friends ended up either dead, ostracised or driven apart. The film of the final gig in the USA is deeply depressing, as is the narrative around the self-destruction of Sid.

Malcolm McLaren does not come out of it well, nor does Nancy Spungen. There is a huge amount of sympathy for the lost soul Sid, particularly from Lydon, who laments the fact that he did not do more to save Sid from oblivion - difficult to see how that circle could have been squared.

Want to know what the Sex Pistols were all about? Start with the music (Never Mind The Bollocks) and then watch this outstanding film by an excellent director (Julien Temple).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2010
Saw part of this on TV in Canada & wanted to know more, having grown up in the era of the Punk movement & was in the UK in the 1970's & the Queen's Jubilee, I recal it all.

The wide screen documantary is almost a 'Pistols in their own words' affair, edited with news footage & tv shows of the time.

Refreshing to hear how bare & basic it all was & the inter band dislikes of themselves the way things changed & their managment.

If your intetested in a part of social history it's a very interesting film.

Not sure if there are diffrent versions of this film, but this copy certainly seemed longer, that shown over here in Canada.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2013
Captures the era beautifully. An art student and his camera in the right places, in the right scene, at the right time with the cautious trust of the people that were creating it. Grew up in the sticks when all this was happening and loved it then as I do now. A proper rock documentary without all the pretentious discussion and dissection. Some famous people were so young once. What you see is what you get.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2010
I grew up during the punk period, just starting my teenage years when it broke. I don't know if it was because of this stage of life, or if it was the music itself, but for me, it was a time that defined how I think to this day. All of sudden there was a question mark over how all the accepted conventions, 'why must I be like you'. Like a lot of my friends, I picked up a guitar for the first time, and I produced a wail of absolute rubbish. But to say that punk was a period of destruction is only half the story. It was period that broke down walls and released creativity, individualism and imagination. It was brief, but it's effects have rippled through the decades. The death of Malcolm McClaren made me want to dig out this DVD again. I always thought that he was much more a showman than a Svengali, but he played a part, and he played it very well. So for what it's worth, RIP Malcolm. The tragic tale of Sid, casts a very real cloud over the story. Despite this, how ironic that at the end of the day, all that rebellion made the Pistols so revered, released so much creativity and free-thinking that they have become an institution in themselves. Pure art. I can't help look back and smile.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2011
Simply stunning documentary. Even if you don't like the Sex Pistols or punk you cannot help but be caught up in this wonderfully and sensitively constructed film. For the first time I think we see true insights into what actually happened in those brief, heady days in the mid seventies when all our lives were changed forever, whether we choose to acknowledge it or not. Julian Temple again succeeds where many have failed. Just telling the truth is a good starting point (in the absence of Maclaren). Who can fail to be moved when Johnny Rotten, through tears, tells us how much he misses his mate Sid and wishes he was older and wiser at the time so he could have prevented the tragedy that followed. An incredible tale of ordinariness and what it is to be human and how a few young men transcended that and gave us all hope.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2017
Bought as a gift, husband pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2012
Excellent film about the Sex Pistols story, with just the right mix of music and dialogue/t.v and film footage. My best mate introduced me to the Sex Pistols in 1977 when I was 14 so this was a real nostalgia trip for me. The Bill Grundy interview furore seems embarrassingly absurd by current standards of "decency". If you are of a certain age and enjoyed the punk phenomenon, this is a fiver very well spent - far more so than a pint of London lager- and won't leave a filthy taste in your mouth, just a smile on your face.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)