Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
1,442
3.9 out of 5 stars
Colour: Black|Change
Price:£34.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 August 2011
I've been using this shredder most days of the week for a month. I know that's not a long time, but it's been perfect for me so far.

The blades are metal, which allayed my fears of plastic ones wearing out quickly, and using the shredder oil as per the instructions has kept it running smoothly (you can notice a slight change in noise - it's marginally smoother-sounding - after oiling).

If you try to shred 5 sheets of office paper you can hear that it's working hard, so I've been putting 3 or 4 through at a time and it sounds and works great like that.

The waste bin is a reasonable size unless you're shredding loads of papers.

It's clearly sold as a home shredder and says it isn't made for home office use, so don't expect it to hold up to higher-intensity use.

UPDATE APRIL 2013: still going strong! shredding credit card and bank statements fairly regularly (home use, NOT office).
0Comment| 257 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 October 2011
Colour: White|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
We have had an earlier version of this for many years, and took the chance to update it.

You have to be realistic about any shredder's capability. This is desiged for home use and if used as such, and not abused, will provide solid reliable service for a long time. I really think it is horses for courses with shredders, having wiped out two medium use commercial shredders at work by overloading them and resorting now to off site secure disposal.

A key safety feature, and an important one at that, is that this must be used with the bin supplied. The moulded fit incorporates the auto cut out which prevents the shredder from running on when lifted up from the bin.

Two or three sheets of paper at a time, or a single credit card, are easily chomped into small cross cut pieces.

If you stop now and again (perhaps to empty the bin) and the motor gets a chance to coola touch, then we've found you can keep going for an hour or so which is more than enough to catch up with household shredding.

This is a really good home shredder which will give you peace of mind for disposal of sensitive documents, and should last a long time with judical routine cleaning and a little tlc.
0Comment| 128 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The first comment I must make is that my full time job is as security consultant; in fact I am the Cyber Security Consulting Lead for a very large UK company (look me up on the web if you want). Based on that, I so often see where things have gone wrong; from identity theft through to major corporate losses of confidential information.

So, the very first comment is that you should buy a shredder, any shredder, for home use and religiously make sure that you shred everything that contains your name or other personal details. Many small scraps of information can easily lead to identity theft.

But enough preaching... Now the review of this item.

This is a perfectly serviceable shredder designed for low volumes in a home situation. It will take up to 5 sheets of paper at a time (although, like most shredders it does groan if you run at its limit) or a single credit card. It will not shred CDs or the such like.

Being a cross cut shredder is is both more secure than a straight cut shredder and, as a bonus, the shreddings pack down much better, meaning that you don't need to empty the bin as often. When you come to empty the bin, the top has a useful handle (not many shredders do have this) to help you lift of the motor and shredding assembly. A nice feature.

So, overall, a good solid 5 stars for use in the home environment. If this is for an office, then you will need something more substantial, but this isn't designed or sold for the office, so no stars off for that.

One tip, which is true for all shredders; they do need oiling every so often and most seem to appreciate a squirt of WD40 to keep them running smooth and quiet.

Recommended.
22 Comments| 273 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
The other people who bought this shredder and gave it a 1 star rating must have really abused it. it is completely designed for occasional use... by that it means shredding things like bills, bank statements, pay slips etc etc. When i first bought this shredder i shredded hundreds of papers in the first day, and it handled 5 in one shred quite happily, though i went to 4 and 3 at a time to be a little friendlier to it. just use your head when using this and read the instructions first, it says do not shred constantly for longer than three minutes. if you do reach three minutes give it a rest and let it cool down, then start again, this will prevent it from over heating and packing up. It shreds credit cards no problem at all, mine is now obliterated and the shredder is still fine, it wouldnt say you can shred credit cards on the box if it didnt work.

At the end of the day this is a perfect confetti cut shredder for occasional home use. NOT for office use, and NOT for people who need to shred hundreds of papers in one go, have some patience. Dont buy a shredder designed for occasional home shredding if you need something much heavier duty.
77 Comments| 222 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2007
I bought this as I wanted something at home to offer some protection from Identity Fraud. I actually wanted Rexel Prostyle but didn't want to spend so much. The design/style is pretty similar to the Rexel Prostyle and it looked pretty good in the study.

I have found it very useful and effective - shredding old utility bills, envelopes, receipts & credit cards. It can handle the 5 sheets that it claims & staples too.

All in all, great design, compact and value for money.
0Comment| 108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Colour: White|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This shredder has replaced a previous shredder and is a great improvement. It efficiently shreds up to 6 pages easily and without jamming. Not as noisy as my previous one, and I particularly like the safety lock feature.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2009
The box claims that Fellowes makes the "world's toughest shredders". Unfortunately they also make this model.

It looks OK as shredders go - plasticky but small and neat. However the build quality is awful.

It lasted for about 40 sheets before packing up, during which time it jammed frequently, overheated twice and struggled to shred more than 2 sheets at a time.

Overheating is a standard feature of cheap shredders and I don't mind that (I only have light shredding requirements). However the reverse gear on this shredder was useless, it provided just enough power to jam the paper further. The jams caused it to overheat far quicker than you'd expect even on a cheap shredder.

Full refund received.
55 Comments| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 May 2012
This is a small shredder aimed at home use and obviously not for a busy office environment. It looks good and being all black, hides away well in a corner or by the side of a desk.

Its basically for those who want to shred personal details in correspondence, bills etc. It does this very well and the only criticism I have is that it is a bit noisy. It feels like it is running away with itself and makes more noise than necessary - but really this doesn't matter as long as it keeps doing the job.

The unit can be locked for ultimate safety, when you may have young children nearby and it then has controls for on, off and reverse - to clear jams. It has a convenient handle on the top which helps when getting rid of the contents. It will shred credit cards and deals with these just as well.

All in all a useful addition to a home/office set up and is compact and unobtrusive, when not in use
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
This was bought as a replacement for an old shredder of the same make. The shredder is sturdy and well made. There is an on/off switch on the head unit, but if it is lifted from the bucket the unit will automatically shut off. It is worth noting that this shredder only works with the bucket provided, a useful safety feature, but it does mean you need to take care of the bucket! It will comfortably shred four or five pieces of paper, but works best when just two or three are shredded together. It will shut down if it gets too hot, and has the ability to reverse the shredder action. It does take staples, and shreds plastic cards one at a time without a blink!

Overall this is a great shredder, well worth the price. If you shred documents to avoid fraud, then this does a great job.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2007
I bought this as my third cross cut shredder in as many years. This is the first to really manage credit cards. No problem with 5 sheets of paper. Do buy the oil to maintain the machine.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 24 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)