Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
63
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£52.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2012
The Victorinox Rescue Tool is one of those pieces of equipment that you hope you never get a chance to use, because if you do, it means you or someone else has been in an accident. The Rescue tool is designed to be easily seen in dark or smokey situations - hence the bright yellow scales and the poster red and yellow sheath. The scales of the tool actually glow if given enough charge under a light.
To help you extracate yourself from a dangerous situation such as a car crash, the tool has
- a large lockable blunt-nosed combo blade
- A curved safety belt cutter
- a saw for cutting through glass
- Large lockable slotted screwdriver / cap lifter / wire stripping tool
- Can opener / small slotted screwdriver
- Glass breaking tool
- Awl (on the back of tool)
- Philips screwdriver (On back of tool)
The Good :
Build quality is great, design is well thought out and the main blade has a large eyelet hole, similar to the Spyderco designs that allows one handed opening. The seat belt cutter could also conceivably be opened one handed if you snagged the end of it on clothing but it's not a fast and fluid process. The glass breaker and glass saw can be replaced.
The bad:
Only one of the cutting tools locks into place, the locking system is a reverse liner lock - great if you are left handed but if you are one of the more common right handed people you will need two hands to close this tool.
I'm very happy with this tool and I am planning to buy it for a couple of others for their cars gloveboxes.
Just for interest, Victorinox also make another similar tool called the Pro Duo, which has a lockable main blade - identical to the one on the Rescue tool and a lockable belt cutter. It's not brightly coloured and lacks the glass breaking and cutting tools of the rescue Tool but is worth a look.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2012
I Have been a fan of Victorinox Swiss Army Knives ever since I was a kid even then you could tell they were better than anything else, you hardly ever have to resharpen them, and even a teenager could see that there was something special about the way thy were built, and even the steel looked different from all the other knives. And most importantly every thing worked as it was supposed to.
So when I tell you that this Rescue Knife is the best Ive used you wont be surprised, or that the new beefed up longer blade with a large opening hole works with gloves on and that it cuts through just about anything that can be cut.
It has Glass breaker at one end and a glass cutting saw to get through shatterproof windscreens. Both of these tools have a hard life and can easily be replaced by spares in seconds.
The seat belt cutter is serrated and very sharp and cuts through seat belt with one quick slice. The big flat head screwdriver is also designed to be used for prying open crates etc. On the back of the knife is an effective Philips screwdriver and a sharp awl.
To finish this fine tool off it has a Lanyard and the scales are Fluorescent yellow polymer which show up easily during the day and if its been out in the light will fluoresce bright enough to read buy or if dropped can be seen in pitch darkness at 150 feet or more.
The Rescue Tool comes supplied with a bright red and yellow Emergency coloured pouch made of very very thick Nylon and supplied with a heavily riveted belt loop that will take any belt.
Every thing about this tool feels right and works, I think that every one should carry one in there car, but whether this would be legal given that the blade is over 3 inches and necessarily locks in place im not sure it would be, even though it is a life saving tool and belongs in a car which is a very good reason for carrying it. This tool is beautifully built and can be bought for as little as £50.
Personally I think it works on every level, and is so tough is worth considering as a survival or camping/Hiking back up tool, which ever way you look at it its money well spent.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
Where do I begin? This Swiss knife is fantastic in so many ways. I wondered if the glass saw could cut wood as I am using this for expeditions and not just rescue situations. The saw does cut wood and pretty well I might add and the belt cutter is great for cutting branches and vines. I recently used the glass breaker to crack a stone in half just to see if it would and it did! The knife is pretty sharp, and I like the serrations near the tip of the blade. The one handed opening is spot on but a bit fiddly closing with the right hand but possible with practice (I'm a lefty anyway). It just feels quality and to be honest thats what I expected from Victorinox.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
I bought this as a gift for my husband who is a police officer. It's a really well designed tool for car emergencies; you can open the main blade with one hand and its really easy to see, even when it's in its (not subtle) case. Obviously has been well thought through. It's substantial and robust and feels like a well made product which will last for years.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
As expected this a very well thought out tool and has a very professional level of construction.
There are some nice touches like the glow-in-the-dark case and the window breaker.
The tool has been designed to get you out of scrapes and I am convinced that it would be invaluable should you find yourself in one. However this is also a very handy tool for more of the everyday tasks. Pleased I bought it and would recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
It is heftier than it at first looks, & seemingly well put together; it comes with a decent amount of functions for a 'Rescue Tool,' without making it into Inspector Gadget in your pocket.
However, I discovered that it has a lock-blade, which doesn't seem to be mentioned in the product description - which makes it illegal to carry in public; & I assume, even to carry in your car boot, along with all of your other emergency breakdown kit.
If anyone comes crashing through my living room wall, I'll be able to rescue (?) them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
I particularly like this item as it may be helpful if i am in a situation whereby I would be able to help someone, I do not want to sit tight and do nothing, but be more proactive and help.

The kit in itself it is good, However I do not like the fact that the pouch has no glow in the dark feature with it, so if you keep it in your pouch, the GLOW in the Dark will not work.

In addition it is quite a very expensive item, I got it for around £41, when it was on sale but otherwise i would not have bought it.

The blade is so sharp that it glides through paper!

However as i said, this is an item that you keep to HELP!, but hope never to use it really!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
Usual Victorinox quality.
This is one of those tools you hope you never have to use for its main intended purpose as a rescue knife. However with the additional tools besides the rescue knife it can live in the car and find other uses.
The tool is confortable to use and hold, I have tested the blade on thick fabric, heavy cardboard and it does the job. Not tested the glass breaking tool but other reviewers have confirmed it works.
I am not sure you can carry this knife on your person, not legal in the UK (lockable blade, blade length, etc).
Note, I bought this tool in the amazon sale for alot less than the normal price, this made it it a bargain. At the usual price of approx £50 it seems a little expensive however even at this price it is a valuable tool - which you hope you never need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Bright scales mean this is less likely to be lost in a forest, and it looks less dangerous than some other multitools do to the untrained eye. The rubberised moulded grip is very comfortable in the hand and reduces the chance of it slipping when used in wet conditions.

The one-handed knife opening mechanism is good, though it can be a little stiff to open with one hand without practice. The locking bottle opener, which doubles as a prying tool, is an excellent idea. The curved seatbelt cutter is also a useful addition.

Like most other swiss army knives, it includes the awl, philips bottle opener, tweezers, and toothpick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An excellent rescue tool with all of the necessary equipment - one-handed blade, seatbelt / ligature cutter, glass saw, window breaker, 2x screwdrivers, wire stripper and an awl / reamer. A set of tweezers and toothpick are stored in the end near the keyring. The one-handed blade and the flat screwdriver / wire stripper both lock open.

The Victorinox Rescue Tool is larger than other Victorinox pocket knives, which gives it more strength and makes it easier to use whilst wearing gloves. The construction is very sturdy, of thick, high-quality stainless steel and the hinges are very strong.

The plastic handle is tough and the high-vis yellow glows in the dark (exposure to light charges the glow). It comes with a high-vis red belt pouch that has high-vis yellow trim.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)