Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars187
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 6 April 2010
A wonderful Tim Burton Movie set at the turn of the 19th century following the investigations of Ichabod Crane (Johnny Depp) as he takes his new fangled scientific crime solving approach to solve the mystery of the headless horseman in the small town of Sleepy Hollow. Its a wonderful story shot in a dark and very Burtonesque way.

Ok lets look at the Blu ray as it seems to be getting a big thumbs down in terms of quality and content.

First off the nature of the film using an almost black and white shooting technique that Tim burton has used several times in films such as the musical Sweeney Todd - The Demon Barber of Fleet Street [Blu-ray] [2007] can create grainy problems due to the way that HD Televisions deal with light and dark. Im not saying this is the primary reason for the grainyness in this film im just pointing out that I have watched and read reviews on a number of Blu Rays and the darker lit movies seem to suffer worst from this problem. Having said that in my opinion this movie suffers in some respects more than other blu rays with simialar issues and I don't think this was a particually great transfer.

You do get the overall feeling that this blu ray has been rushed to market and although i disagree with those who say the DVD is better quality i do understand that if the price isn't right on the blu ray offering you may wish to stick with the DVD. My second major issue with the disk is the extras or lack there of. It seems I spend a lot of review time shouting at the wall about the non exsistance extras on so many older movies that have been transferred to blu ray. Do us all a favour please and just give us the standard Definition dvd extras if you can't transfer them up to the 1080 format. Something is better than nothing.

So overall i think that this blu ray is better quality picture wise than any version so far released but the lack of extras for me means that unless the price is good for you then maybe stick with the DVD version.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
***DVD REVIEW*** Sleepy Hollow is a very good film to watch at Halloween with it's spooky foggy sets, there are pumpkins everywhere and just the general feel of the film. Ichabod Crane(Johnny Depp)is sent to investigate "THE LEGEND OF SLEEPY HOLLOW", a headless horseman who is killing local people from the town.

Ichabod is a very weird and eccentric character which just adds to the film. This is your typical Tim Burton film with the weird and wonderful characters and some horrible deaths as the headless horseman wields his axe. A truly scary and brilliant spooky film to watch at HALLOOOOOOOWEEN!!!!!!!!!.

For me sleepy hollow has been Johnny Depp's best film, you could say this part was made for him. A lot of people have complained about the Blu-ray lacking bonus features, me personally am going to wait for the Anniversary edition, hopefully there might be more.

***FEATURES BELOW***

Two Original Theatrical Trailers
Behind the Legend
Reflections on Sleepy Hollow
Director's Commentary
Photo Gallery
Biographies
Interactive Moving Menus
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
This is an excellent film but the quality of transfer onto Blu-Ray disc is appalling. Its just a cheap and lazy cash in with very grainy quality, possibly worse than DVD, and no extras - including no sub-titles. This is a rip off I suggest you avoid.
88 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 October 2012
Sleepy Hollow is directed by Tim Burton and co-adapted to screenplay by Andrew Kevin Walker and Kevin Yagher from the The Legend of Sleepy Hollow written by Washington Irving. It stars Johnny Depp, Christina Ricci, Miranda Richardson, Marc Pickering, Michael Gambon, Jeffrey Jones and Casper Van Dien. Music is scored by Danny Elfman and cinematography by Emmanuel Lubezki.

1799 New York, and Ichabod Crane, a timid but forward thinking detective, is sent to the way out village of Sleepy Hollow to investigate a number of decapitations.

A perfect match of director and actor to the source material, Sleepy Hollow unfolds as a fun filled creeper of such visual and aural pleasures, it's a wonder nobody thought to put the combination together earlier than 1999. Story is familiar, though with a few changes, and although some of the comedy ends up a bit sillier than is tonally appropriate (really, Ichabod, stop pushing the effeminate angle to breaking point) , film runs along at a fair old clip and never wants for period devilment. It's never really scary when Walken's headless horseman isn't part of the scene, but it's very unlikely that Burton or Depp were aiming to soil underwear anyway. More a case of charming you whilst caressing the tingler on your spine. A case of style of substance? Yes, to a degree, but the source story still comes through the lavish eye candy painting to reveal itself proudly.

Burton had created a world of Gothic mysticism, a blend of Hammer horror values and Brothers Grimm bad dreams, a land of swirling mists and tall shadows, where black, red and purple are essential colours. From the quaint duck pond in the centre of the village, to a creaky old windmill, there are visual treats galore here; which are enhanced magnificently by Elfman's foreboding rumbles. Costuming is first rate (Colleen Atwood), as is Lubezki's colour lensing and Rick Heinrich's production design. The cast are led superbly by Depp and appear to be pitching performances at just the right tone, such is the director's want. Although Ricci is sadly underused in a key role, and we could have done with more Richardson since she is wonderfully catty and yummy in equal measure. But with bona fide thespian quality in the support ranks (joining Gambon and Jones are Michael Gough, Ian McDiarmid and Richard Griffiths), picture never falls short of scene enhancers.

Period peril with a glint in its eye, Sleepy Hollow is a delightful nights entertainment by the fire. 8/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2010
The combination of Messers Depp & Burton are right on target with this spook tale. Its a shame then about this Bluray! I felt slightly let down because the disc wanted me to configure both picture & sound? This is something I didn't do, on the understanding that I would be only doing this 'configuring' for this particular Bluray. Also the bluray carries no decent extras (not even the extras which appeared on the dvd are included) Sleepy Hollow is a good film, I love it. It has everything Johnny Depp, Headless horseman and a fantastic Gothic look. Excellent. My reason for buying the Bluray was the fact that my dvd would not play on my new Bluray Player (?) - well actually, not completely true, I could access the extras on my dvd but just could not access the main feature. I did 'Google' this as a question, only to find that other people were having the same problem. I can only assume that an Anniversary edition of Sleepy Hollow is due (or should be)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
This item has a really good price tag attached to it, the only thing that prevents it of having 5 stars is the lack of subtitles. The conversion to Blu ray disk is of a really good quality. Even in recently made films when something is released in Blu Ray you can see a LOT of artefacts and bad CG, but this version was really well eddited. This is a must have for anyone that wants sleepy hollow.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2009
I agree completely with the first two reviewers.

The blu-ray is in my view WORSE quality than the DVD. At no point does the picture show any improvement over DVD and there is a significant graininess very visible throughout the film which appears to be due to the transfer process rather than the original film material.

None of the seven extras from the DVD have made it onto the Blu-ray.

The Setup menu consist of two gimmicks. One to adjust contrast, and one to check that sound is coming out of each speaker. Had these not been included the setup menu would be EMPTY because there are no other features on the Blu-ray.

I received this Optimum blu-ray as a gift to replace my DVD copy, and the Blu-ray is basically useless due to the poor picture quality. A message from me to Optimum - I won't be buying any of your other products for the next two years.
66 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The film version of sleepy hollow based on the classic Washington Irving story is a wonderful piece of film directed by none other than Tim Burton, he successfully creates a typically creepy Hessian soldier who has a penchant for terrorising the residents of Sleepy Hollow with his headless antics. The film has great visuals, the location shots are crisp and the scenes in the eerie woods send a shiver up your spine.
The story involves Ichabod Crane (Johnny Depp) a New York pathologist sent to Sleepy Hollow to investigate the mysterious killings of residents by a headless horseman who on the way becomes interested in Katrina Van Tassel (Christina Ricci). Depp is wonderful in this film, the jittery, nervous Crane is fantastically executed by Depp. Ricci’s character isn’t as well developed as Depp’s but she manages to play the character well, and fits perfectly into the role, having already played the oddball Wednesday Adams in the Adams Family. The other characters in the film are well played by a range of British and Hollywood actors.
Sleepy Hollow is a beautifully crisp, gothic presentation that blends action, dark humour and love into a highly viewable mix, an all round good film made better by its spattering of humour and the fact that it doesn’t take itself too seriously.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
This DVD is one of the best I've seen from Johnny Depp. It is set in 1799, a young constable called Ichabod Crane (Johnny Depp)is sent to investigate the decapitations of three people in the town of sleepy hollow. It is a dark but very stylish film which takes you on a ride brimming with suspense, touched with a little romance. Christopher Walken is fantastic as the Hessian Horseman and Christina Ricci plays an incredible Katrina Van Tassel.
The film is based on a short story "The Legend Of Sleepy Hollow" by Washington Irving and boasts a stellar cast including Richard Griffiths, Christopher Lee, Michael Gambon and Miranda Richardson. In all a brilliant film for a night in. Get it, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
An uncompromising, dark and bloody fairytale, Sleepy Hollow is truly unforgettable. Full of vision and suspense, and good casting for the most part, it is a movie that begs for repeated viewings. Johnny Depp stars as eccentric and timid crime investigator Ichabod Crane, who's sent to the remote town of Sleepy Hollow to investigate a series of murders where the victims all lost their heads. Unwillingly he stumbles into the web of the Headless Horseman, yet is he the one behind all of this? As Ichabod unravels the mystery - and wins the heart of the beautiful Katrina Van Tassel (rather flatly performed by Christina Ricci) - he is forced to face sides of himself he's kept oppressed. A great movie, great casting (Miranda Richardson in particular is fantastic), excitement and some unforgettable Burton moments - Burton has a talent at giving his movies his 'mark', with a kind of artistic signature mark on it.

This DVD, however, is just not good. At all. There are no special features apart from one theatrical trailer, but the bad thing is that there are NO SUBTITLES. That's right. Buy the Special Edition any day over this one. I learned that the hard way, but I'm giving you that advice for free.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)