Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
154
3.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£12.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2011
First thing I need to say is that make sure you buy another coaxial female to male cable or male to male with a female adapter. You will need this cable to make this work, it does not come with one.

The product itself is great, however there are no instructions with it. Its not so much of an issue if you look on the internet and search "how to set up sky magic eye" a large volume of people have written the instructions. I will detail them also below though aswell.

Once received you will need to plug the coaxial cable (as detailed at the top) from the RF2 output into the back of the new TV (on my box the connection at the bottom not the middle) and change your sky box settings to give power via the RF2 output. This is the reason why you need to use that particular socket, as it is the only one socket that can give power to the magic eye aswell as the TV signal.

To set it up to send power via the RF socket you simply need to press in quick order on your sky remote, Services > 4 > 0 > 1 > Select. You wont see anything on the screen change until you have finished entering the buttons and when you do finish a screen will come up called "installer menu". Go down to RF Outlets, then turn the RF Outlets Power Supply from Off to On. When you have it set up correctly the light on the connection part of the magic eye should glow red and the eye should work!

Bare in mind the quality of the picture you get will by no means be High Definition, it will probably be a bit worse than the quality of the tv the box is connected to due to split signal but it is by no means unwatchable and a very cheap alternative to get tv in 2 rooms with ability to change channel in either.
11 comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2010
Bought this after a friend who is a SKY engineer told me to get this as it was what they used. Used it to fit to the cable i ran from the multi room box in my bedroom down to the kitchen. So easy to set up and use . Just plugged it in to the ariel socket in the tv then plugged the cable into that. Tuned in the tv to the SKY signal and thats it. Arrived next day . Would deffinately use again.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Some reviews I read for this item stated it does not come with instructions - if you buy direct from Amazon and it is the genuine Sky branded version then I can confirm instructions are included. HOWEVER as of last week sky updated the menu system of Sky+ boxes which means the section about turning on the power of your RF port is now incorrect. If you're interested you now need to press SERVICES, then click the right arrow to highlight SETTINGS, then press SELECT so PICTURE is now highlighted, now press 0, 1, SELECT and the menu on screen will change. now use the right arrow to select RF OUT, and turn RF power supply to ON and save the setting by pressing the green button.

The instructions state that you cannot split the cable / connect two coaxials together as it will weaken the signal - I can confirm this is true, one unbroken lead delivers better results than connecting it via two leads with a connector. The unit is powered by this coaxial cable so a good connection is vital for it to be powered and allow channels to be changed. If you are thinking about bridging multiple cables say from your lounge to the loft and then to a bedroom using two cable connected then without some kind of signal booster i am not sure how well it will work. Also on my sky box there are two RF outputs and only one is powered, the one you need - so watch out for that!
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
bought this to link second tv easy to install you will need a short male/female coax cable if you have a new hd box
the instructions supplied will not get you to the installer menu to switch on the rf power supply
press services then 001 select this brings up the installer menu scroll across screen to rf out
there are 2 lines drop down to the second rf outlet power supply turn on press green button to save and its all done
works a treat great little piece of kit
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
Doesn't come with instructions and requires a lengthy procedure of going into engineers mode of your tv to install. Called Sky and they would not help as they said they don't support it. After couple of hours googling and installing it does do the job !!! It's good to use if you want to have your sky box hidden in a cupboard and this is the only bit on shoe needed to change channels as well as for linking more than 1 tv.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
This product is excellent value - arrived very quickly and was extremely simple to fit to my bedroom TV. Worked perfectly immediately. Magic Eye TV Link - Professional Quality - Satellite BSkyB - Sky - Sky+ - SkyHD Compatible - Remote Control viewing from 2nd location
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Does its job, i just wish the "Magic Eye" was smaller as its a little large for my use and there are others on the market which would work just as effectively and can be wired up and attached to the bottom of the TV and nobody would know its there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
This little unit does the intended job and works well.
On the newer sky boxes: after installation you need select "Services", then 001 followed by "select". You then need to activate the RF power to "on".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Good grief!
1. The item arrived. Not in Sky packaging so clearly NOT an official Sky accessory.

2. Contacted the company! Give me strength. They tried everything to get me to change my feedback. Blackmail - i.e. discount of future items (as if I'd buy from them again!) a refund (never received!). And the they resorted to bullying, emailing several times to try and get me to retract. I said that I had stated the truth and that if I retracted I would by lying to other potential customers. Eventually I got rid of them by saying I would report them to Amazon if they didn't leave me alone. Silence since then.

STEER CLEAR!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
For a start let me just say if your expecting the official Sky product as pictured your going to be dissapointed, mine arrived in a plastic bag stuffed inside a brown paper envelope, i could have coped with this piece of false advertisment IF my product didnt look second hand AND if the 'magic eye' actually worked by letting me change channel on my Sky box from a separate room but im afraid to say it dosnt, i really wish i had now just gone to a high street store and paid the £14 asking price rather than looking for a bargain on Amazon, stay well clear of this item from this particular seller.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 25 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)