Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
98
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
One of my favourite Will Ferrell films going, and that comes from someone that can spend hours watching youtube footage of weird outakes from saturday night live and Will playing G.W.Bush mending fences!

Probably my favourite scene: "Before you can do any real drivin, you gotta make friends with that fear... and there ain't nothin more god damn frightening than driving with a live cougar in the car"

Anyway, if you're a Will Ferrell fan and you like seeing him getting down and dirty with John C Reilly, throw in a sprinkle of european Sacha Baron Cohen fun... long story short, you'll absolutely love this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
One of the best "bloke" films out there I have watched this so often and find myself smiling before it starts !! Only left for me to say shake and bake baby !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
I only caught this movie on tv about a month ago & I'm so glad I did
It is such a funny movie , will ferrell , john c. Reilly and sacha baron cohen make this movie the on screen chemistry is brilliant and it is a movie I wouldn't have thought of watching but it really is such a good comedy movie , well worth watching !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
One of my favourites from the ferrull series.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Hysterical jokes all the way through, guaranteed to cheer anyone up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2008
its not as good as anchorman - I found this tiresome in places and not knowing much about the culture surrounding NASCAR racing - some of the stereotypes i might not have fully appreciated. I found mosat of the characters to be obnoxious and dimwitted - However, maybe that is the main joke of the film?

Anyway the characters were annoying and the only saving grace is that there are some funny moments - mostly centred around Ferrels drunken father figure and Sacha Bara Cohens french driver.

Cohens comic talents were not utilised to the best they could have been - the director seems to think the biggest joke they can get out of him is a ridiculously over the top french accent.

its a film that doesnt make the best of its comic leads and mostly concentrates mostly on the idiotic redneck characters involved in the main part of the plot. Thankfully it has enough laugh out loud moments to actually make it worthwhile - although it does go on for a bit and the period in the middle where bobby suffers his predicted downfall in the movie is very tiresome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2006
One of the best parody movies I've ever seen, from the team that did the same thing to TVnews with Anchorman. Will Ferrell's shallow good ole boy Ricky Bobby is a feckless idiot who rises from tyre changer in a no-hope NASCAR team to become the star driver of the circuit. Obsessed with winning after a throwaway comment by his deadbeat racer dad (brilliantly played by Gary Cole), and ignorant of his shallow, mutually empty relationships with his groupie wife, horrendous kids (named Walker and Texas Ranger) and equally thick best friend (John C Reilly), he finally hits the proverbial brick wall in the shape of Sacha Baron Cohen's star turn as Formula 1 Frenchman Jean Girard. Thus begins a slow rebuilding of his life and career - this time the "right" way... sort of!

Subtly sending up every "serious" film of this type (mainly Days of Thunder, Top Gun etc) and the real-life downhome ignorance of the redneck NASCAR following, this not only delivers on the gags (this film is truly hilarious) it also is remarkably smart at portraying the emptiness of the blue-collar sports star's life when faced with enormous fortune, media coverage and hero worship, and the fickle desertion of the hero when he hits skid row.

It is a spoof movie, but not in the sense of the Airplane or Scary Movie series - the movie has a real warmth and actually does tell a real human story in amongst the endless side-splitting gags. It also avoids the kind of schmaltzy American syrup-filled scenes of such films by throwing in the unexpected at each turn.

Worth seeing for Sacha Baron Cohen's performance alone, and Ricky Bobby's "grace" before their Pizza Hut and KFC dinner. If you're in the right mood this will have you crying!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2007
Ferrell is usually much funnier than this. It WAS funny in parts, and I DID laugh, but just not often enough. Some really good actors in it too...Gary ?Lucas? the guy from "Midnight Caller" didn't convince me as his "55" year old Dad. Cohen's accent WAS pants, but still a funny guy and a funny character. If you like Ferrell, you'll probably love it, if not, you probably won't. As I said, average fare.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I think it's a fair bet to say that if you have enjoyed other Will Ferrell films, then you will also enjoy Talladega Nights. This has his same wacky sense of humour and hilarious delivery. This follows Rocky Bobby, who is a Nascar driver as he strives to drive faster and win races, gets challenged by an effeminate European driving sensation and loses everything and then finds what means most to him in his life. This has so many funny catchphrases in it that you can't help but laugh when they are repeated throughout the film (shake and bake) and Ferrell's delivery is what really makes this film. For example when he is driving with a Cougar in his car (!), it is so funny to watch him talk to it and roar back. His funny asides and commentary as things happen (like when he tells people to look away when he starts kissing a girl as `there's gonna be animal noises`) reminded me of Anchorman and raised just as many laughs. His two redneck, opinionated kids are hilarious as well and come out with some great lines. This isn't the best comedy I have ever seen, or even the best Ferrell film, but it does have some genuinely funny moments and easily passes a couple of hours in a light hearted and humorous way. It may not be as good as previous Ferrell films, but it is still worth a watch.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)