Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
14
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2005
"Son of the Bride" is a story about family, love, and what is really important in life. It takes place in Argentina, during its 2001 economic crisis, but I think that everybody can relate to the subject it tackles, disregarding the place where one lives.
The main character is Rafael (Ricardo Darín), a self-absorbed man in his forties who runs a prestigious Italian restaurant, "Belvedere". Rafael is separated, and has a daughter he often forgets to pick up due to his numerous responsibilities. Rafael also has a beautiful girlfriend, Naty (Natalia Verbeke), but doesn't pay her enough attention, so their relationship starts to go to the dogs.
Rafael's relationship with Nino (Héctor Alterio), his father, is good, but he hasn't seen her mother Norma (Norma Aleandro) in a year. He had a huge argument with her after dropping out of university, and they stopped talking to each other. Some time after that, his mother got Alzheimer's disease, an illness that made her forgetful and disoriented. As a result of all this, they never really manage to patch things up.
Truth to be told, Rafael doesn't seem to mind. His entire life is his job, and he is content. That is, until he has a heart attack, something that leads him to revaluate his priorities, and to see things from another perspective. An excellent example is that while before he was against his father's idea of marrying Norma in a church (in a belated religious wedding after 44 years of being married), he ends up helping him to do exactly that. In a way, he realizes that even though Norma won't be aware of what exactly is happening, his parents would be doing something terribly important to them.
But will Rafael be able to change his life after making such a tremendous mess out of things?. What is more, will he learn the real meaning of the word "family"?. Watch "Son of the bride", and learn all that, and more. On the whole, highly recommended !!!
Belen Alcat
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
It is difficult to rate this item as the subtitles on this DVD are so poor. There can be two or three exchanges between characters before any subtitles appear. Some subtitles simply do not make sense and I had to go to a plot summary in Sight and Sound to understand some of the film. It was if the subtitles were written by someone with limited English and they only translated the words they could understand. These are the worse subtitles I have ever seen on a film and for one that was nominated for an Academy Award it is a disgrace. Having said that, although the film is a little predictable, a forty something male having a midlife crisis, it is charming, well acted and has some moving moments as well as laugh out loud ones. A feel good movie. Darin proves himself to be as good in comedy as in noir thrillers.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2011
Having seen this film years ago, I did not read any of the reviews for this DVD, but wish I had, as I could have heeded the warning of others. THE SUBTITLES ON THIS PARTICULAR DVD, BEING SO SPARSE BEAR LITTLE RELATION TO THE ACTUAL DIALOGUE. I know this because I speak Spanish, but even my mother, who does not, and for whom I bought the film, noticed that there were huge section of dialogue with no accompanying explanation, leaving her at a loss to what was going on. I don't know if the subtitler was being paid by the word, as this is the impression that is given, with perfunctory phrases covering minutes of dialogue full of anger, tears and laughter. She left it after fifteen minutes (and I don't blame her), after continually looking at me when speech came without subtitles, as if to say 'did I miss something important?', and I was thoroughly annoyed with the manufacturers as this is a film she would have loved, and which hoped to enjoy with her. As it was, I later watched it alone, and it IS a good film if you speak Spanish or are given adequate subtitles, but if you don't speak Spanish, this particular DVD, with its bad subtitling, does not do what is an amazing film any justice.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 August 2010
This movie is of a rare kind - realistic, subtle, humane, occasionally funny and full of life. It focuses on Rafael, a 42 year old restaurant owner in the throes of Argentina's financial, as well as his own mid-life crisis. He is divorced, stressed by supplier and payment problems at work, somewhat absent as a part time father, a pretty crap boyfriend to his current love, and estranged to his mother, who is sufering from Alzheimer's.

On top of that a heart attack fells him and has him reconsider his life, work and typical of a mid-life crisis he simply wants out, to escape to a simpler life.

It is difficult to do the movie justice with a description, much of the themes are fairly common but the way they are addressed, the quality of the acting, and the way everything is made to fit without stretching the bounds of what is realistic for the characters makes this an excellent piece of cinema. On top of that there are some truly wonderfully funny moments and I dare say the movie does not really make one look forward to the mid-life crisis, especially an Argetinian one, with no fast cars to compensate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2009
a high flying restaurant owner gets stressed out running his business, dividing his attentions between work, his ex wife, his small daughter and his current (neglected) girlfriend. To add to his problems his mum is in an old folks home with Altzheimers whilst his dad - living on his own - has decided after 44 years to agree to his wife's once dear desire to wed in church. The complex family/personal relationships become affected by the main character's heart attack and his subsequent change of heart - he 'gets' family oriented emotions and eventually manages to bring his life under control and even wangle the (not quite) 'church wedding' - with a lot of help from a madcap friend. The best of this film is the touchingly sweet vagueness of Norma Alejandro who portrays his Altzheimer mum with an amazingly delicate and authentic touch. Well worth viewing for this beautiful cameo role.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2008
It's a fun to watch this bit crazy, bit sad, bit funny - actually more funny argentinean story. I don't speak spanish, but french and understand a bit. I laughed a lot. I didn't get bored and find it as a nice relaxing comedy/ drama for a rainy evening. I would watch it even again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
I bought the DVD to help with my learning Spanish. For that it is great. As a film it is rather sentimental - but sentimental films have more useful dialogue than action films!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
Great piece of art for those touched by the ordeal of a family member going through Alzheimer's and dementia. A balm and hope arrived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
Item received earlier than I expected, nice surprise, excelent condition. The movie is funny, witty and also very touching. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Funny and touching. The story is engaging and the acting is great. One of the best movies I've seen in a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£4.94

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)