Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 June 2014
There are 4 discs in the collection and each one is a classic.

Dark Victory (1939), The Letter (1940), Now Voyager (1942), Mr Skeffington (1944).

High drama and high jinx abound in this lesson on how an actress could achieve stardom by playing the most unsympathetic female roles. Davis plays the villain brilliantly. There's always that ruthless, feline quality behind her acting and she could steal a scene with a glance at the camera. I'm in heaven when I'm watching these movies and can't recommend them highly enough.

There's a lot of 'bad girl' on show here as Davis takes on some of her most defining roles as "murderess, adulteress, heiress and actress". I always enjoy watching Bette Davis playing the part of an actress - it's just Davis playing Davis - and you get a true glimpse of what was really going on behind the makeup. What a woman!.

Each of the 4 discs has a small copy of the original movie poster inside the front cover and their running times are approx:

DV - 140 mins, TL - 95 mins, NV - 113 mins, MS - 145 mins.

Additional extra content or 'Blazing DVD Extras'; Expert Commentaries, Featurettes, Radio Shows.

Visual quality is every bit as good as though you were watching the movie on regular TV. Audio quality if good enough.

I don't have a complaint and I'm happy to recommend this box set.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 June 2006
Bette Davis is one of my favourite screen actresses. She has a presence that very few actresses before or after had. Once she's on screen you can't take her eyes out of her. Whether she's being subtle or overtly camp (even if she doesn't know) she's pretty amazing. She's still very popular, and it's strange how an actress with such a following and so many great films can be so under represented on DVD in Region 2 (Region 1 has finally addressing that). This UK release includes four of her Oscar-nominated performances: THE LETTER, NOW, VOYAGER, DARK VICTORY and MR SKEFFINGTON. (It was originally released as an exlusive to another retailer about a year ago.)

THE LETTER (1940) is my favourite of the four and it tells the story of a woman who murders a man who she claims tried to rape her. However, a letter surfaces claiming something else. The extras are the trailer and an alternative ending, but as my personal favourite I wish that there were far more (a commentary and a featurette would be so nice).

NOW, VOYAGER (1942) is one of the great melodramas of the 1940s, about a woman who learns how to face her mother and the world with the help of psychiatrist (Claude Rains) and a platonic love affair with a married man (Paul Henreid).Among other things is now famous for the cigarette trick that Henreid performs and the film last line. Sadly, the only extra is the trailer. Again, they could have put something else here. This is one of her best-loved films and won't disappoint.

DARK VOYAGER (1939) is one of her most famous and well-liked of her films. It's my least favourite of the five. It's the story of an heiress with the terminal disease - and death never looked this good. But it's implausible and the symptoms were created to give Bette Davis a wonderful acting opportunity. Extras include a commentary and a featurette. Not really a favourite, although it has good moments.

MR SKEFFINGTON (1944) pairs her again with Claude Rains. I had never seen this one before and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. It's a very good film, full of wonderful one-liners, telling the story of Fanny Skeffington the most beautiful woman in New York. The DVD includes an audio commentary by the director (who recently passed away) and a nice featurette.

It's just a pity that one of the films is lost from the Region 1 release...
11 Comment| 154 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
Marvellous record of one of the great singers and players from a bygone era. Lovingly produced by (amongst others) Woody Mann, who knew and learned from The Man Himself. An array of other legends speak about the influence Reverend Gary had on them and their music. If you have any interest in blues, fingerstyle guitar or great music, treat yourself to this wonderful documentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
Brilliant, I enjoyed every film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Bette Davis viewing heaven.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2017
Was A gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Great films classics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
Brilliant movies, good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)