Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
64
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is one of the best TV series ever made. There have been other TV series based on the Superman legend but in my opinion, none can compare to this series. Here we get acquainted with Clark Kent as a regular guy from Smallville Kansas with two very loving parents(Martha and Jonathan Kent ) who brought him up well with good values. We follow his journey of self discovery of what he can do - being SUPERMAN and the complexities of his love life as he tries to balance being Clark Kent and Superman as both aspects of his Ego wreak havoc on his love life and his day to day life. Dean Cain as Superman is awesome and so is Teri Hatcher's Lois Lane. What makes this series so good is that the Cast ensemble is one if the best ever and the chemistry between all the characters works so well. There is something for everyone: comedy, romance, drama, science fiction, action, you name it. It is not very often that a TV series combines so many genre in one go, but this does. This is really a timeless classic and you never get tired watching it. The DVD has great special features- interviews with Teri Hatcher and Dean Cain, commentary on the pilot etc. You can't go wrong with this series but to fully appreciate one of the greatest love stories you have to view the rest of the seasons.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2006
"Louis & Clark: the new adventures of Superman" is a tv series first aired in 1993, that lasted 4 seasons. That might be a relatively short time, but it was enough to make me a fan. If you are another fan of the series, you will understand what I'm talking about, and why this dvd is a very good purchase. If not, I will try to explain it to you.

I will start by telling you about the plot. Of course, this series is about Superman/Clark Kent (played by a very handsome Dean Cain) and his struggle to save the world from Lex Luthor (John Shea), while falling in love with Lois Lane (Teri Hatcher). It is highly likely that you are already bored by this premise, specially considering that you have probably already watched some "Superman" movies, and maybe even "Smallville" (the new tv series featuring a teen Superman). However, I think that "Louis & Clark: the new adventures of Superman" is worth your time, due to the fact that it is:

a) different to the movies and "Smallville".
b) engaging and funny, it starts well with the first season, and gets even better later.

All in all, I think that you should give this tv series a try. However, bear in mind that this dvd includes merely the episodes of the first season. From my point of view, that is barely enough to show you what the series is about: you will want more :)

Belen Alcat

PS: The second and third seasons are available for purchase, but the fourth season hasn't been released in dvd yet :(
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2006
I have already reviewed this box set but for the american dvd box set, but all I am going to quickly say is that this is a must have! In my opinion the best superman actors ever, Dean Cain, best Superman ever, Teri Hatcher(sexy!!) Best Lois Lane ever and the rest of the actors are just superb! This has it all, love, action and adventure stories and also a lot of funny bits too! Very good stories and villans to watch and this is just the first season!! This is a 5 out of 5 and I wish this was still being made today as it was a hit and always will be! Yeah Smallville is good but in my opinion this is better! A must buy for superman fans!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2006
A lot of people will consider Christopher Reeves as THE Superman. But for me however, being born after those films were made I've never really seen any of the Christopher Reeves movies.

I came across Lois & Clark; The New Adventures of Superman quite by accident when BBC2 showed the first series and from episode 1 I was hooked. Dean Cain plays Clark Kent, an earthling with superhuman powers who when trouble arises as it frequently does in Metropolis (where the series is set) he transforms into Superman, a Superhero of unparralleled strength, who has many powers. He's faster than a speeding bullet, more powerful than a locamotive and can leap tall buildings in a single bound - oh and then there is the flying of course. Quickly landing a job as a reporter at the Daily Planet News Office he is paired with fellow reporter Lois Lane whom he instantly falls in love with. However, smart sarcastic and sophisticated Lois thinks he's nothing more than a weird farm boy from Kansas. However as the series unfolds they embark on a wonderful friendship and he becomes her closest allie and friend. Lois has some very funny diagologue in the series and the wonderful Teri Hatcher more than does her justice.

The ironic thing about this is, that in the final episodes when Clark confesses he's in love with her, Lois, who is in love with Superman not knowing he is Clark Kent, tells the superhero that she would love him even if he was a common human being. This is a story about the updated adventures of Superman, about a man, alien to this planet who is struggling with the commitments of leading a double existence and a woman who struggles with the commitments of personal relationships.

Oooh and one more thing...a nice touch in the end episode of the series, when Lois is set to marry Luthor her mother turns up for the wedding and it is the actress who played Lois in the original series with the late George Reeve or so I'm told. A great series to own, even if it is just so you can droool over Caine in his tight fitting Superhero suit. He can rescue this damsal in distress any day!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 1993 live action series features Dean Cain as Superman. The series opens on the day Clark Kent arrives in Metropolis. Gaining employment at `The Daily Planet' Clark soon meets photographer Jimmy Olsen [Michael Landis], gossip columnist Cat grant [Tracy Scoggins] and his new partner Lois lane [Teri Hatcher].
The box set contains all 21 episodes [including the double length pilot]. Each episode is more or less a stand-alone but there are some continuing threads running through it. The humour is often `dry' and low key but ever present [such as him trying on his outfits and showing his parents his disguise as he simply removes his glasses to stunned looks of disbelief] and with no nudity or swearing and low key violence, and with special effects that still look good over 20 years later this is excellent family viewing making this an obvious ***** choice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Loved this when I was younger, finally decided to purchase it on DVD. I'm discovering this series all over again, it has a bit of everything. But it's great to see the blossoming relationship between the two stars in Clark & Lois, backed up by a superb supporting cast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2016
This DVD is well worth buying. The repartee between Lois and Clark is as classy and witty as you can hope to see, and there is an undoubted on screen chemistry between Cain and Hatcher. I also love the characterisation that John Shea gives to Lex Luthor: a nuanced performance not given in most interpretations.
The writing is intelligent and humorous evoking the innocence of the Silver Age Superman comics. There's a lightness in this show that has to be seen to be appreciated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2006
when this was first aired in the 90's i thought it was christopher reeve playing CK/superman but it wasnt, it is Dean cain. Dean cain is good but Christopher reeve IS superman. i think this boxset is a must have for any superman fan as its as the title says "the new adventures" although the special effects arent as good as smallville, keep in mind that it was the 90's. i thought it was odd that they kept clarks parents alive as they both died before he got to metropolis in the movie but they wanted to keep it fresh and different from the movies i guess. the actors/actresses who played the lead roles were very impressive ecspecially teri hatcher as lois and Dean Cain as Clark Kent but my favourite is lex luthor who is played by the fantastic John Shea. this is a must have for any superman fan but it does come 3rd with the Christopher reeve movies coming 1st and the excellent smallville in 2nd. but as there arent many superman projects out there i dont think it would be a bad thing to own all three of them.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2006
This is the only show in history to get me up early on a saturday morning. I used to set my alarm to make sure I didn't miss an episode which was on even before Live and Kicking started. I was warey of buying the series as i'm now in my 20s and these things don't always stand the test of time. Apart from looking a little cheesy i'm in no way dissapointed. I love the Superman legend and adore watching how Lois and Clark bicker with each other.

Many people have mentioned Smallville in comparison. I have enjoyed watching the early series but it hasn't held my interest in the way Lois and Clark did and still does. Plus I can never quite forgive the writers bringing in Lex Luthor and Lois Lane while Clark is still in Smallville.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
Lois and Clark is a cheerful and optimistic series which features a first rate main cast and is suitable for all ages. Each story is imaginative and thoughtful with an uplifting mood and combines adult relationship drama with uplifting family adventure. 22 episodes per box set is also terrific value. Sadly both picture and sound quality could be better, possibly due to a poor NTSC to PAL standards conversion and mixed source material.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse