Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
218
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2006
I watched this with my husband and son and was waiting for them to either find something else to do or trash it at the end. Instead it had them laughing, but because it has some really funny 'British' comedic lines. There is a plot and a real story and it seems to have done the trick as far as appealing to audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.
This is a thoughtful, well acted film. It makes you feel warm and fuzzy without being sickly sweet.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2006
Those lines have haunted me ever since watching this film. In fact there are a lot of lines in the film which are very thought provoking which is quite surprising when one considers that this film is about a woman called Kat (Debra Messing) who hires a male escort called Nick (Dermot Mulroney) to escort her to her sister's wedding and remind her ex-boyfriend of what he lost!

The concept is a bit far-fetched but from the beginning I was pleasantly surprised and very entertained. Mulroney is stunning and plays Nick as someone so alarmingly confident and switched on it's not hard to see why he has found such success in his chosen profession! Kat is so desperate to please everyone and so badly burned from the past that you really feel for her and I think that's where this film works.

You really care about Kat and so, as Nick sees all her special qualities, you become desperate for them to get together. There are some twists at the end of the film which pull everything together and force the character's to resolve what they want. All in all I loved the way England is presented in this movie and I felt all of the actors did a great job. It's a rom-com so it's never going to be an oscar contender but it's pleasant enough and most definately watchable.
11 comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2006
I rented this from Amazon and both me and my wife were so impressed with it that we watched it again straight afterwards. I've never watched a film for the second time, immediately after the first viewing before. Granted the film is only about 1 hour 20 mins long, but even so we watched it the second time because it's really great.
I didn't expect the big twist in the film and upon watching it for the second time some of the earlier scenes in the film took on a whole new meaning.
As many other reviewers have said this is a warm, funny and thoroughly enjoyable movie that i recommend highly.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2006
A fantastically entertaining, funny, feel good film with a wonderful cast and soundtrack. Such a shame that the soundtrack doesn't seem to be available on CD. Certainly a film to watch and enjoy over and over again.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2006
I didn't have too high expectations for this film as it was somewhat slated at the cinemas and being a film swamped with English actors didn't inspire confidence, however I was very pleasantly surprised, this simple story of a American women attending a wedding with a dial a date guy to make her ex jealous made it seem like a more realistic story than some hollywood blockbusters, and although everyone was terribly good-looking you still felt that it could happen to you. Lots of laughs and mishaps and terrific acting made this a really good film, and though not wanting to spoil the ending no women would be disappointed with the happy ending that follows.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2006
Fantastic feelgood chick flick. If you loved pretty woman then you will love this. Perfect film for females of all ages, sarah parish is brill, laugh out laugh and totally induulge yourself in this romantic gem. Soundtrack is excellent too.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This tries to cash in on the 'Four Weddings' formula, tangling up a group of sisters/friends and untangling them all satisfactorily at the end. Shades of 'Pretty Woman', too, only this is 'Pretty Man': the tart with a heart this time is a male escort who (predictably) falls in love with his client. Also think 'My Best Friend's Wedding', as Kat has to import a man to prove she's something she's not - successful with men and 'over' her ex-fiance.
It's glossy and pretty but doesn't hang together well if you actually think about the story line ... so don't. Just enjoy Dermot's rather frequent nakedness, Debra Messing's 'Grace' reprise, and Jack Davenport being rather dim but handsome. No-one's mentioned him but I think our own Paul Egan came out of the film with the most integrity; everyone else's behaviour doesn't bear close examination.
I would not let a child under 15 see this film as it is rather explicit about sex from some rather seedy angles - it's 'adults behaving badly' and not something I would want my children to see.
I would like to see film makers stop assuming that every adult relationship has to start with steamy sex and that adultery with your fiance's best friend (who is also your sister's fiance) is something you can just forgive and forget.
Also what happened to women's lib? Why do all these women in modern films need an impossibly good-looking man in order to prove to everyone that their lives are not worthless? Why do they not feel strong and independent and worthy women in their own right?
This film is fine if you suspend your brain and revel in the eye candy (for both sexes), but otherwise it leaves a nasty taste in the mouth.
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2005
After receiving an invitation to her sister's wedding in London, single New Yorker Kat Ellis (Will and Grace's Debra Messing) hires a male escort (Mulroney) as her date to get back at her ex-boyfriend who just happens to be the best man.
Here we have a rom-com with all of the typical elements - the nice girl who gets her heart broken, the chase sequence in the climax of the film plus a re-creation of the pathetic guy fight made popular in the Bridget Jones films. Of course, seeing as the majority of the film is set in London, it is full of stereotypes and clichés - dodgy accents, red double decker buses, long country roads and no romantic comedy is complete without the floppy haired, naive, bumbling idiot. Hugh Grant, eat your heart out.
Messing is great as the insecure Kat but it is nothing we haven't seen before. It's just Grace in London. Like Jennifer Aniston, she is sticking to roles that she knows work for her rather than experimenting with something different.
The characters are genuine, the countryside is ideallic and there is the odd moment that leaves a goosebump or two. That being said, The Wedding Date is predictable and brings nothing new to the genre. This film is for die-hard rom-com fans only.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 April 2007
An easy on the brain romantic comedy with a story straight out of a romance novel. Debra Messing is off to England for her sisters wedding. Single for the past two years after her boyfriend of seven years dumped her for no apparent reason she isn't very keen on it. Especially since Jeremy (her ex) is the best man. In an attempt to feign having moved on she hires a date from the yellow pages. Needless to say a bond forms between the two in the backdrop of hen nights, stag does and secret confessions which may threaten the wedding altogether.

It has some funny moments without being cheesy and even though it's been done a hundred times before I found it an enjoyable movie.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2006
If you like a rom com then this is the film for you! I thought Debra Messing as Kat was great, and not too similar to her character in Will & Grace. Dermot Mulroney was gorgeous as the hired escort and Sarah Parrish excellent as the mad cousin! I watched this film twice I enjoyed it so much, and the second time was better once you know the twist in the story as you pick up on the subtle signs in some scenes.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)