Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
167
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2009
I have always thought of this film as unique amongst gangster flicks, it has all the violence of Goodfellas or Casino but feels more like a Disney adventure in spirit, especially the rather saccharine relationship Ness has with his prissy wife. Still, it paints a gritty and credible picture of life in depression era America, and the performances from the "all star" cast are superb, although the "making of" documentary is keen to point out that Costner and Garcia were unknowns at the time; you wouldn't know that to watch them though.

The DVD release of the film already had a cracking picture, and now it's made the leap to Blu-Ray it looks amazing. Although there was no make-over specifically for BRD, I believe there was a re-master for the DVD (although it is not mentioned on the cover), so I presume this will be the same print. The perception of depth in particular is striking, almost like 3D. There is detectable fine grain and plenty of detail also, so hopefully the anti-DNR mob won't be laying into it like they have done for Zulu. The sound is also superb, there are no HD tracks but the DTS option (1.5 mbs no less!) in particular is clear and punchy, lifting Morricone's excellent score to a higher level than the Dolby only DVD ever did.

There are no BRD exclusive extras I'm afraid; you only get exactly what was on the DVD, that'll do for me but others may be expecting more.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
This is not a film but an irresistible homage to Cinema history and to De Palma himself. If you take it as a whole film, the story is wuite naif, although characters are well depicted due to some outstanding performances (Costner's, too). What makes it really enjoably is De Palma's ability in staging great scenes, like the famous gunfights at the station's stair, a tribute to Potemkin that works even better than the original. Excellent blu ray
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2005
Excellent gangster movie set during prohibition era America about real life government agent Elliot Ness, who together with his unit of 'untouchable' officers brought Chicago mobster Al Capone to justice. In his breakthrough role, Kevin Costner plays Ness, Robert De Niro gives an unforgettable performance as Al Capone and there is also great support from Charles Martin Smith, Andy Garcia and Sean Connery (who won an Oscar here for his portrayal of veteran cop Malone). This film not only boasts a top notch plot and some excellent acting but also features fantastic music from Ennio Morricone (whose score for Sergio Leone's 'The Good, The Bad and The Ugly' reached no. 1 in the world pop charts) as well as some unforgettable cinematic moments like the Station steps gunfight. Overall this is a masterpiece from director Brian De Palma, who also made another top quality gangster epic Scarface.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
As the film is well known, I won't spend time on its' review but will concentrate on the Blu-ray transfer. In a word, the transfer is superb- with excellent colours,sharpness and a natural feel that comes close to reference quality. The sound,with that haunting theme,is even more vibrant and chilling. A wonderful classic, made even better by this Blu-ray transfer. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2005
I am what you could call a relatively new movie fan. I have always liked movies, but I didn´t use to watch too many of them. Things have changed, but due to that previous attitude, I still have a lot of old movies to “discover”. That is the reason why from time to time I find some jewels that were released a long time ago, but that are totally new to me. “The untouchables” (1987) is, of course, one of such movies.
This film is set in Chicago, during the prohibition, a time were mobsters had enormously increased their influence due to the contraband of alcohol. The most important of all mobsters was Al Capone (wonderfully played by Robert De Niro), whose influence was pervasive and somehow accepted by most as a fact of reality. Capone controlled Chicago with force and bribes, and a philosophy that the scriptwriter of this movie (David Mamet) summed up in a phrase that the actor that plays Capone said: “Somebody messes with me, I'm gonna mess with him”.
Things change when a newcomer to the city, Federal agent Elliot Ness, forms a small group to fight crime and target Capone´s shady dealings. The group formed by Ness, an old Chicago cop (Sean Connery), a rookie police officer (Andy Garcia) and an accountant (Charles Martin Smith), replays in a highly entertaining way Brian de Palma´s cinematographic version of “The untouchables”.
I should point out that you shouldn´t expect a movie that tells you the historical truth about that period in America´s history. If that is your purpose, you are likely to be sorely disappointed. However, if you want to watch a great film, with wonderful performances and marked by a dynamic pace, rent this movie :)
Belen Alcat
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
An outstanding film, not least for the music. Sean Connery is, of course, masterful as the ageing 'Irish' cop and there are some great performances from the ensemble cast. But, for me, the music is the most stirring thing about this already classic movie. Just listen as they cross the street (early in the movie) to do over the post office and hear that music ring out again in its full glory at the end.

Even at the start, this music sounds like no other. And Morricone didn't even get an Oscar for it. Can anyone remember the music that did?

A stunning and heroic film and a treat to watch every time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2006
The Untouchables. Many say that this film is a little out of it... They are so lying! Brian De Palmas classic has all the perks and realitys of pre-godfather era or prohibition era chicago. It begs for a completly surprising twist which is performed many a time by Sean connery and his gang of Cops who swear to take down Al capone. The scenes in this are immense. take the train steps scene. Guns blazing off at eachother, teamwork by 2 of the untochables off to kill a big fat bloke, whats more, we never expected that guy in the white suit to be pushed off an enormous building, Which gave a few laughs! De Niros acting shines again! His imitation of the greedy capone is awesome, no doubt. Its a wicked film. whatchable, fun and a great laugh. watch it. love it. own it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
I never bought this film on DVD, only having seen it on TV, but bought it on Bluray and have now watched it twice.

First of all the film:- Despite being a gangster film it feels somehow more human than many of them do. I don't know if it's because we know the story of Elliot Ness, and recognise he is going to triumph, or because of the great acting, but it feels more like a Western with its strong moral themes than a gangster film to me. The cast list is great with trademark performances from De Niro, Connery and in particular for me Kevin Costner. I'm not always a fan, but he really got it right here.

Picture Quality is very good. It has strong colours and lots of atmospheric shots. The city has a slightly foggy kind of feel to it and there is a small amount of grain present. Contrasts and shadows are very strong, with the detail still not getting swamped in the night-time shots. For me the whole thing works - it looks like I expect a film to! It is presented in 2.35:1 so it will be letter-boxed on a widescreen TV unless you stretch it.

Audio:- Sound is again very good, with a score by Morricone, which perhaps adds to the Western type feel for me. Sound effects are very clear, and generally very good. A pet hate of mine is muffled dialogue, but by and large it is very good with only a few difficult to get lines. The top offering is a 6:1 DTS track.

There aren't a great deal of extras on the disc, but these aren't important to me, and I didn't do much more than scan through them.

All-in-all the whole package came together very well for me, with no real weaknesses at all, making it a sound 5 stars.
33 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 April 2014
I was a little under whelmed to be honest! Not a bad watch but as good as the Godfather? Come on! Yes, it's worth an evening of anyone's time but I would suggest this won't linger too long in the memory.
Costner's role as Eliot Ness is far too tame - he could have been on Jackanory and wouldn't have frightened the kids! Connery won an AA for this but it's beyond me as to why, he was good but the role did not allow a great performance. In places this film was downright corny. I even found De Nero's role as Capone slightly laughable in places.
Gangsters are meant to be ruthless and menacing, the top cops equally so, neither came close to that here. The story line was far from gripping and overall for a mobster tale it was very bland - I never hid behind the sofa once!
Very average fare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This as a movie is in no doubt the best film I have seen around the story and era of Al capone it has a great cast, I would even go to the point of saying this is one of Kevin costners best films. He playes the part of federal agent Eliot Ness, whose assignment to clean up Prohibition-era Chicago leads to violence and manly questions about upholding the law. Initially powerless to stop the flow of booze into the city (the police force is corrupt and everyone in town seems to be on the mob's payroll), Ness finds guidance from an older streetwise cop (Sean Connery, who won an Academy Award for this role) who convinces him he'll need to break some rules if he wants to bring down head mobster Al Capone (Robert De Niro). Andy Garcia and Charles Martin Smith play Ness's other recruits, who together must stand tall against a city full of assassins. Director Brian De Palma (MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE) packs the film with violence and creative camera movements while David Mamet's intelligent script capably dodges cliche at every turn. There's a real sense of what's at stake for these characters on a personal level, which contrasts nicely with the futility inherent in enforcing Prohibition in the first place. The film is based on the autobiographical book by Ness (cowritten with Oscar Fraley) and the 1959-63 TV series; Ennio Morricone (THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY) composed the uninhibitedly bombastic score highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)