Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
91
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Jim Evers is committed to his real estate business, almost to the exclusion of his wife, also his partner in business, and kids. When they are offered an exclusive listing on a stately manor outside of town, it's too much for him to resist, and he insists on stopping on the way to a weekend trip. While they are eating dinner (they didn't seem to have much of a choice), a fierce storm comes up they are trapped for the night. The old place is creepy, however. As the characters get separated, they start to find strange things going on. Slowly, Jim and his kids begin to realize they must solve a mystery if any of them are going to get out alive.
Unfortunately for this movie, it came out so soon after PIRATES OF THE CARRIBEAN that the comparisons would be inevitable. It had huge shoes to fill, and comes up short. It is a fun movie in its own right, however, and deserves a look. The plot turns into a decent mystery that had me confused for most of the time. It does feature family movie cliches (workaholic dad, kid with a certain fear they'll have to over come), but builds in enough other plot elements these are kept to a minimum. Fans of the ride at Disneyland will find lots of fun nods to the inspiration to keep them entertained. There are funny moments throughout the movie. Probably my favorite gag was with the singing busts. I may have been the only person in the theater to get it, but any fan of barbershop quartets will appreciate it.
I've never been a fan of Eddie Murphy, and I did find his over the top acting to be annoying. But the other actors stepped up to the plate and kept me intrigued in spite of the lead. I especially enjoyed seeing Wallace Shawn in a hilarious turn as one of the mansion's servants trying to help Jim and the kids solve the mystery.
Don't be deceived, this movie will scare young kids. It is half comedy and half jump fest that works remarkably well. It's a tad creepier then the ride, so don't just use that as a guide. It would probably be best to watch it first and determine how your kids will react.
Disney has done this DVD right with a nice widescreen transfer and surround sound. In addition, they've got some great behind the scenes features and my favorites - outtakes and deleted scenes.
Those looking for a light scary movie will enjoy this. Just make sure your kids won't get nightmares first. A good film to make a family Halloween tradition.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
Silly but harmless. I feel they didn't explore enough possibilities and background stories in this film. I wanted a background story for Madame Leota - why was she trapped in the crystal ball? Was she beheaded or jinxed by a spirit she'd released? They could have done so much with this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2010
This was bought for my 10 year old daughter at Christmas and watched by the whole family. It has quite scary images in parts for younger children, but Edddie Murphy difuses the atmosphere with his usual energy and wit. Really enjoyed watching this and certainly not just a kids film. Great entertainment!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 September 2013
Nothing wrong with this movie as long as you like family films. I can't usually stand Eddie Murphy but like him in this. Nowt wrong with having the guilty pleasure of watching a movie which the critics panned. Got this for £3 as well so am very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Haunted Mansion is directed by Rob Minkoff and written by David Berenbaum. It stars Eddie Murphy, Terence Stamp, Marsha Thomason, Nathaniel Parker and Jennifer Tilly. Music is by Mark Mancina and cinematography by Remi Adefarasin. Based on the Disney Park attraction of the same name, film finds Murphy as real estate agent Jim Evers, a man who is so driven by his work he neglects to notice he is neglecting his family. Setting off for a weekend family trip, it is no surprise that when a call comes through to go see about another property to be sold, Evers whisks all the family out to the bayou mansion with him. What is a surprise is that this mansion is haunted and a curse threatens to engulf the Evers family when they are forced by bad weather to spend the night there.

Well it has lovely colour photography, a production set of some excellence by John Myhre, great costumes from Mona May, nifty effects by Jay Redd and Rick Baker once again delivers quality make up work. But these high points are part of a very bad movie. Script is lazy, almost as lazy as Murphy's performance in actual fact, front line cast members are playing second fiddle to the outright homage of the park ride itself. As film progresses the plot becomes a Whirling Dervish of style over substance, where it is neither funny or scary. The very young will be transfixed by the noise, motions and images, those from teenager upwards will surely know they have been conned by the mighty house of the mouse. 3/10
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2004
overall this was a fun family film that id recommend you to watch-but perhaps not buy.if you are part of a family with young children{12 and under}then this is the perfect film to watch,all together,on a rainy saturday evening.your children will most definately love it.some seens are fairly scary {for kids}and others exceedingly funny.
from the first seen you are engaged and want to carry on watching it.the story,with superb acting from the hilarious Eddie Murphy,follows a guy{Murphy},his wife and kids.when they go to a mansion,the bad wheather proves them unlucky enough to have to stay the night there-and what a night it is!the history of the house begins to unraval in front of their very eyes and it leads to a mystery of the people who once lived there.filled with monsters,ghosts,horror and comedy ,this is an average but exceedingly entertainable film for all the family.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Mt son loves this film and we only had it on video, so I saw this copy and brought it for him and he is very happy with it. Great price and even though it is used that does not bother us or affect the quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2012
our children aged neally 10 and neally 13 loved this film although my ten year old son had to look away a few times whilst watching it!think it should be rated 12s as some scenes are a little scary and not exactly ideal watching this especially if its before bedtime
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
This film is great, it makes me laugh definatly as it stars Eddie Murphy who plays a state agent/a husband/and a father of two children, one daughter and one son. Eddie Murphy and his family travel to this haunted house full of deep secrets with a creepy landlord (played by Terence Stamp). My favourites in the film are the 4 singing statues and when Eddie Murphy and his daughter get the key from the tomb and get chased by these zombie skeletons. Defiantly buy if you like Eddie Murphy films. A 2003 Disney Film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2004
Haunted mansion is loosely based on the Walt Disney world ghost ride of the same name. It will not tax your mind but it will amuse, entertain and generally while away a very pleasant hour or so. My kids loved it and although children with a timid disposition might find it scarey in places, I would think most modern children would lap it up. I certainly enjoyed it even on the second and third viewing (Don't your kids watch a new film five times?).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.16

Need customer service? Click here