Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
163
4.5 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Style Name: Original packaging|Change
Price:£5.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2013
Ordered this unit not knowing that it would fit my GL546 Reflex Plus unit, but at around a fiver i took the chance. Arrived two days earlier and was very easy to fit. Glad to say that it did fit my four year old model, saving me money at half the price of a unit on a 'spares' website, as i was then thinking about buying a new unit as it was only eleven pounds extra to do so. So if you have a reflex plus unit then take the chance as it would most probably fit!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2010
This particular model of a Black and decker Strimmer has served me well for my garden. Unfortunately, outlets that used to sell the part have either closed or stopped stocking that model. Thank goodness for Amazon. Order, receive the part in double quick time. No fuss or trauma. Thoroughly recommended. It is becoming the norm to order replacement parts for possessions which retail outlets no longer stock for a myriad of reasons from Amazon or directly from the wholesalers. Again, thank you Amazon
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
Makes the job of replacing the strimmer cable very easy. Fitting a spool and cable is a more difficult job,and time consuming.The complete assembly simply clips in and overcomes any wear and tear on the old cover. Worth the small price difference.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
Easy Peasy! Old line dispenser removed, unthread the first part of the line which is threaded through the dispenser to keep it in place whilst in storage, transit, clip the new dispenser in the strimmer and off you go. It immediately trims the line to the correct length on start up. A perfect and simple answer when replacing the line.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Thanks to another reviewer for confirming it, this also fits the GL546 Reflex Plus model. It is actually better than the original, as it has small metal fittings where the line goes through. The Black and Decker site lists it as item 115, part no 575648-00. It is listed on their site for the GL546SC, GL650, GL650SBC, GL660, GL670. The listing above here on Amazon states these models: GL650, GL651, GL652, GL653, GL655, GL656, GL660, GL670, GL680, GL685, GL690 additionally.

Have just tested it in the garden, and all appears to be in order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great replacement strimmer head for my old GL650 strimmer. Out clicked the old one, in clicked the new one. Has lasted a few strims and to be honest it's so cheap I wouldn't care if it only lasts a year. They usually fail around the ratchet pivot that lets out the spool, and after a few years - best just buy a spare whilst you're there......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
Exceptional value and fitted straight on. Check your machine's parts code numbers carefully, some of these heads fit many machines; and conversely also check the contents of the exact item you order too; the software tried to make me buy the head cover (the red bit) as extra even though the product no. I ordered actually includes it (My old one was broken inside or the spool alone would have been enough, although there's almost no price difference).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Spot on. I'm always nervous about getting items off the net that appear cheaper but have to say this hasn't disappointed. Easily fitted to our striker and still going strong. Don't hesitate to purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
This item is excellent for the following reasons:

1. It is a genuine OEM product.
2. It is very inexpensive. £5.98 compared with £5.48 for the spool alone and £5.50 for the spool cover (as of 31 August 2012).
3. Winding your own spool, whilst cheaper, is a nightmare and more likely to lead to malfunction.
4. Even with Super Saver delivery, it arrived within 3 days.

I have seen criticisms of this item in other reviews, mostly regarding line breaking/tangling however users should take note that:

1. The product is designed for grass and soft vegetation. If you take on some hardy shrubs or brickwork then expect problems.
2. Cleaning the guard and line cutting blade too often can actually exacerbate matters. A softer and dirty surface will help preserve the line.
3. Likewise a brand new spool cover will be far more keen to cut the line prematurely - so three spools for every new cover would be a good idea.

The only problem that I have is: what to do with the old spools? It seems such a shame to throw such a well engineered product in the bin! Perhaps I should have more practice at winding my own spools....this by he who must obey!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
The line became tangled after just a few minutes of strimming. I managed to untangle it but it immediately became tangled again. This time is was wrapped tight around the middle bit. I managed to get it out eventually but the line was a complete mess. I couldn't face trying to rewind it and have asked for a refund. Very disappointed as it's supposedly a genuine Black & Decker replacement part. Just hoping it hasn't wrecked my strimmer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)