Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
184
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2014
Wish I'd read the reviews before I bought this. I was just looking for a Christmas DVD featuring Mickey Mouse. My 2yr old son was very disappointed at having to wait 40mins to see his beloved Mickey Mouse. Neither of us are impressed. The moral of the stories are good, but these would only be understood by older children (age 3/4+?) and this is the exact age group that you don't want watching a DVD that questions Santa's existence. By the time a child knows that Santa doesn't exist, they would be past watching DVDs like this. Seems that, with this DVD, Disney just couldn't decide who their target audience was and ended up missing all age groups. Not sure we'll be watching this again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Good fun for young and old alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Used in a Christmas eve box. Exactly what it says
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
fab service fab film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Bought for grandkids haven't seen it myself but they are happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2007
Mickey's Once Upon A Christmas consists of 3 short films.
The first is about Donald's Christmas, when his three nephews wish it was Christmas every day. their wish comes true, and at the ands of the story they realise what the true meaning of Christmas is about.
The second is about Goofys Christmas. When Pete, their next door neighbour tells Goofy's son that Santa isnt real, he starts to think that there might not be a santa. this film is about Goofy trying to prove that there is a Santa for those who believe.
The third is a film about Mickey and Minnie mouse. They both have very low paying jobs so they each sell a valuable possesion of theirs to buy each other a present. Mickey sells his harmonica and minnie sells her gold watch. they both realise that just being with each other on Christmas is the best present you can give.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2004
I bought it from Amazon because I'm a Disney fan.I didn't however expect that my kids would love it that much.Although they didn't focus on the stories,they loved the animation and especially the Donald story.Teenagers loved the Mickey special which is an animated story of the "gift of the magi".Goofy and Max reminded us of the holiday spirit too.I would recommend it to all Disney fans but also to those who want a holiday DVD for their kids and expect good quality in it.Fabulous music!!
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I remember how much I enjoyed watching this film on 'The Disney Channel' many years ago, and am happy to say that 'Mickey's Once Upon A Christmas' has charmed me again recently. If you're looking for a good Disney movie to delight the kids this Christmas, this 1999 direct-to-video movie should do the job.

This is an anthology of three separate stories, each of them with a different message. The first one demonstrates the old warning of being careful what you wish for when Donald Duck's spirited three nephews wish upon a star that it could be Christmas every day, and their wish is granted the following day. The second one has Goofy trying to convince his doubtful son Max that Santa Clause does exist (if you don't want this idea to enter a very young child's head, then you might wish to skip this one), whilst the third sees Mickey and Minnie Mouse trading their most prized possessions to buy gifts for one another. All three of these tales are linked together with narration from Kelsey Grammer.

As far as direct-to-video Walt Disney movies go, 'Mickey's Once Upon A Christmas' is actually a real treat, with the usual important messages there for the children, mixed in with plenty of fun and games. As for the animation, though it isn't as slick as a Disney classic, it's also pretty good. The title and DVD cover is rather misleading, Mickey isn't the star of this film, and only appears halfway through the feature.

Buy this for your kids at Christmas, sit on the sofa as a family with them to watch it, and I'm sure you'll all enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
Well, what can I say. Mickey's Once Upon A Christmas is one of the best Christmas movies ever! With three amazing stories based around some of Disney's best loved characters (Mickey, Donald, Goofy and friends), it's the perfect gift for allthe family.
The first is a Donald Duck story. Donald's nephews Huey, Dewey and Louie love Christmas so much, and when the day is over, they wish for Christmas to come every day. This is a great idea at first, but after a few days, it turns out to be a really bad idea. So, to spice the day up, the decide to pull pranks and swap the turkey for a live one, causing Christmas day to be ruined for everyone. They read a card that they failed to read upon every day they relived, and it turns out to teach them an important lesson. On the next day, they make a perfect Christmas for the whole family, and they end up singing carols to end the perfect Christmas.
The second story is about Goofy and his young son Max. After delivering their letter to Santa, they are clearing their drive of snow, Pete comes over to tell Max that there's no such thing as Santa Claus, which makes him question the whole meaning of Christmas. When the time comes to go to a less fortunate family for a Christmas Eve dinner, Max is delighted to see that Santa has come to visit, but then finds out that it is Goofy just trying to make everyone happy. On that night, Goofy stays awake to prove to Max that Santa is real. The next morning, they both see Santa and he drops of Max's desired present, and his belief is restored.
The final story sees Mickey and Minnie reinacting the story of "The Gift of the Magi". Mickey wants to get Minnie a gold chain for her one heirloom, and Minnie wants to get Mickey a case for his harmonica. Mickey makes a small fortune that day working at Pete's Christmas tree lot, but when he loses him a sale, Pete turns nasty abd steals all of Mickey's money. After performing at a toy drive, Mickey and Pluto rush to get to the Jewellers to swap his harmonica for the chain. Later on, Mickey and Minnie swap gifts. Minnie recieves the chain for her heirloom, and Mickey recieves a case for his harmonica. The irony is that Mickey doesn't have his harmonica due to swapping it for Minnies gift, and Minnie swapped her heirloom for Mickey's gift.
This film is sure to become a Christmas classic, and I would reccomend it for any fan of Disney animation. One of the best Christmas films ever!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
In those days, the movie was pretty good. The ending was good and I felt the next one. The plot is tortuous. I watched it during the vacation. Very pretty. The actors performed very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse