Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
107
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2009
Having seen the great man on stage in 1958, and the stage show in London in the late 1990's it seemed natural to have the DVD of his short and productive life. I have seen the film on TV previously so obviously knew what to expect, but for a lifelong fan, along with many others such as Paul McCartney, Keith Richard etc. it is a film that I can watch time after time without becoming bored. His music is still played today and stands the test of time alongside other greats, and one wonders how far he would have progressed if only the fateful day in 1959 had not occurred. One of the all time heroes of rock and roll, and ballads, who will never be surpassed. Gary Busey obviously doesn't quite match up to the voice of the original Buddy but the film is still very enjoyable and includes some funny moments and some extremely poignant ones. For fans such as me, the ending still invokes a lump in the throat, as we all remember where we were when the news came that he had died in a plane crash. Obviously, I was still at school, and that same feeling was experienced by Graham Nash, as he reminisced in the TV programme on Buddy's life on the occasion of the 50th Anniversary of his death in 1959.
Buy it and enjoy it.
RodF
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
I am a massive Buddy Holly fan since I was a kid and my parents took me to see the west end show. This film includes all the decisions and influences Buddy had on music and perfectly shows how much of a genuis success he was in such a short space of time - all wrapped up with great acting!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2016
fabulous dvd presented brilliantly by Gary Busey- just how I remembered Buddy Holly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
A very good depiction of the era, as it was. Well acted and excellent music. An item well worth having.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
it was great loved every minute of it could have wanted more to watch .always loved his music .reminds me of my youth,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
And rock and roll hit the western world. It has never been the same since.
Really good film. Pity there are no subtitles in English. Don't they want to sell this abroad?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2009
This is a brilliant digital version of the 1978 film, sound quality is brilliant. The TITLE on this website is a bit ambiguous because the original was in 1978, this DVD is the 50th anniversary of Holly's death so in fact should have the date 2009 at the end of the title - catalogue programmers please note....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
I really enjoyed this flim if you like true storys this is the flim for you.

I like the story of Buddy Holly even thou it was sad near to the end of the flim it was a good story of his life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
Admirers of this superior biopic should not waste their money on this abysmal Blu ray transfer.
The print is dirty, chapters are badly planned, and worst of all, the image is fuzzy and with bleached-out colour.
I'm viewing via an HD projector on a 120-inch screen, so any faults are magnified. On my system, my old Region 1 DVD looks way better -- colours have more realistic hues and the image is sharper.
Yes, Blu rays are supposed to give us a far better viewing experience than standard DVDs. This is sadly not true in this case. Save your pounds or dollars and hope that a properly transferred Region A Blu ray may one day appear.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The film follows the early beginnings of 'Buddy Holly's (Gary Busey) rise from a small Texas town 'Lubbock' where he and
friends 'Jesse' ('Don Stroud) and 'Ray Bob' (Charles Martin Smith) played in front of a small group of locals live on the
small 'Radio Station'
'Buddy' and his friends were eager to introduce the material that 'Buddy' had written, the small town wasn't ready for the
groups brand of music, though eagerly accepted by the youth, the new sound was condemned by their elders who
threatened the small radio station that sponsorship would be withdrawn if they continued to broadcast the music.
'Coral-Records' in Tennessee had latched on to the music they'd heard but wanted to change the style beyond that which
'Buddy' could accept.
However, the 'Lubbock' radio station host had recorded 'That'll Be The Day' and sent the Demo to 'Coral' in New York, the
song without consultation with 'Buddy and The Crickets' charged up the U.S Charts, the three were on their way.
At the recording studio 'Buddy' insists recording his songs, his way, after a hitch or two 'The Crickets' are signed-up.
The group have agreed to perform their songs at New York's Apollo Theatre, the manager however had not realized that the
songs he'd heard the group sing were being performed by 'White' artists, up until this point only 'Black' artists performed at
the Theatre, however, though initially reluctant he needn't have worried, their music was enjoyed instantly by the all-Black
audience.
In a short space of time they go from strength to strength quickly achieving much in terms of Chart success (of course this was
in fact, both sides of the 'Atlantic'
As 'Buddy's' status grows unrest drifts into the relationship he has with 'Jesse' and 'Ray Bob' both of which wanted to ease up
and spend some time back in their home town of 'Lubbock' parting of the ways became inevitable.
Now married to 'Marie'(Marie Richwine) former secretary to Record Producer 'Ross Turner' (Conrad Janis) 'Buddy' enjoys
writing and producing his music close by his marital home, he loves spending time with his now young and pregnant wife
(Marie' had a miscarriage shortly after 'Buddy's death)
Agent and Record Producer 'Ross' wants 'Buddy' to do a five week winter tour to promote his records and boost sales,
'Buddy' is initially reluctant to commit to the tour, after all he'd never before done so without his friends.
The tour goes ahead along with fellow artists 'The Big Bopper' 'Dion and The Belmonts' and 'Richie Valens'
'Buddy's' pals 'Jesse' and 'Ray Bob' ask 'Marie' how 'Buddy' would feel if they joined their pal on the tour, she said 'Buddy'
would love that.
'Buddy's' last show was in 'Iowa' his pals yet to join him.............
Because in the dead of Winter the problems the tour's coach had with it's heating system, 'Buddy' decided to hire a plane to
take himself and 'The Big Bopper' along with 'Richie Valens' to take them ahead to the next venue, a flight that was destined to
last but a short time, in a driving snowstorm, moments into the flight, the plane came down 'Clear Lake' 'Iowa' - February 3rd ..
1959.....'Buddy' was just 22 'The Big Bopper 28 and 'Richie Valens' only 17........
'Buddy' was a great innovator of the new-age of 'Rock'n'Roll' ...he was now gone.........The Day The Music Died'
The 1978 Movie transfers pretty well to the Blu-ray format......sound quality is also very good,,,,,,,,the film a tribute to the life
and music of 'Buddy Holly'
Special Features -
* Digitally remastered audio and anamorphic video.
* Scene Sellection
* Languages - English 2-ch Stereo, English 4-ch Stereo
* Audio Commentary by Gary Busey and Director Steve Rash
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)