Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
55
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2016
20th Jan.2016 Philip says top drawer from the best years of the Stones, vast sound quality improvement on the live broadcast cd recently bought . Excellent songs drowned out by screaming on that one, took a while to arrive but i only use standard delivery so no complaints, well packaged, recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Completely different to most of my other Rolling Stones Albums but well worth a listen thanks very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
The Golden years for some top Stones tunes. If you only buy one Stones album, make this 3 disc collection a must have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
Good compilation of The Stones fantastic singles from the most definitive decades of their artistic career although digital remastering takes some of the songs original magic away. Having said it would be nigh on impossible to collect all of these songs now in their original format not to mention the cost so for just over a tenner you get your moneys worth. Aswell as that I have enjoyed playing this brilliant set over and over and the music continues to give me a connected joy with the human spirit so unique to the exceptional music The Stones managed to produce. Happy girl :))
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This fabulous and very reasonably priced collection contains all The Rolling Stones' Decca (UK) and London (USA) single A- and B-sides. If they originally appeared on 45 in mono (the vast majority) they're in mono here - apart from Honky Tonk Women for some reason. The 2002 remasters finally do justice to this material on CD - they sound fabulous.

The 60s A-sides (with the arguable exception of their debut, Come On) are uniformly brilliant, surprisingly varied and superbly produced, especially after they began recording in the USA; the B-sides, with only 1 or 2 exceptions, are good to excellent. There is surprisingly little overlap with albums (especially UK ones) and where there is, several tracks are in otherwise unobtainable mono. Really, until about halfway through CD 3, this collection is pretty much flawless - there are only about 5 tracks on the whole thing I'd not want to listen to. There isn't a better way to listen to the Stones' first (and best) 7 years.

For those who care about these things, there are minor quibbles as follows; anyone who just wants a great collection of 60s Stones singles can ignore them because for most people this will be nit-picking:
1) the presence on CD 3 (tracks 9-12) of out-takes understandably not issued at the time of recording. These were issued on 45 in 1975 to promote the dodgy Metamorphosis collection of out-takes; they may belong here in principle as Decca/London 45s but they don't belong here in spirit; their low quality only devalues the collection overall.
2) the presence of Brown Sugar and Wild Horses. These were recorded in 1969 without the knowledge of Decca/London, to whom the Stones were still contracted; subsequent legal manoeuvres have made them available to Decca/London's successors Abkco but they've never to my knowledge been issued as 45s on Decca/London. If they (or the also rather superfluous Sympathy For The Devil) were mono or otherwise different mixes they'd be worth including, but otherwise most people who'd buy this will already have Sticky Fingers and Beggars Banquet.
3) by far the most important: the absence of their 3 UK EPs of 1964-65 (The Rolling Stones, 5 x 5 and Got Live If You Want It); these could have been included if 1) and 2) had been omitted and the collection would have been better for it.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
Brilliant if, like me, you prefer the Stones' earlier stuff. The influence of Brian Jones stands out a mile on disc #1 and is a fitting legacy to the great man's take on British R&B.
There is something for everyone on these discs and would be the ideal party starter for those, like myself, of a more discerning, mature (alright -old) disposition.
Go on, don't worry what the kidz may fink, buy yourself a piece of British rock n'roll history.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In the very early years, that is pre-"Aftermath", the Rolling Stones were a singles band, as indeed were two of the other great bands of the period, the Kinks and the Who. They made albums, quite a few in fact, but these were filled with covers of R&B numbers - I don't intend to belittle them by this comment, they were the best interpreters of American rhythm and blues on the planet. With the totally self-penned "Aftermath", however, albums did come to the fore but for much of the time, the released singles only had a tenuous relationship to their albums - quite a few of their best singles never saw UK album release other than in best-of sets. The US was different - albums were sometimes packaged differently there, and the US producers were inclined to include current singles.

This 3 CD set is the mother lode of Stones singles, starting with their rather hesitant first efforts, Chuck Berry's "Come on" in June `63 and the Beatles "I wanna be your man" which followed it. It's easy to be critical of these from a distance but it's also only too easy to see why these numbers were selected at the time. With single number three, Buddy Holly's "Not Fade Away", recreated as a thumping Diddleybeat screamer, they hit their stride, and from then on, didn't look back. Single number six, "The Last Time", signalled another gear change, since it was their first self-penned single - in the UK that is, the US release schedule varied considerably. Yup I'm well aware of the Staple singers claim to have written the original version of this number but I'm happy to stick with the Stones authorship - that massive fuzz guitar riff from Keef which Mick has to fight with all through, makes their record a totally different experience. To me this was one of the first real rock records as opposed to those which were actually just white boys playing the blues.

From that point on the Stones were in cruise mode, classic single after classic single, with each one hitting the charts and each leaving indelible memories. Some of these singles related to their albums, some didn't. Several had great B sides, and the B sides are all collected here. The last single on the album is "Wild Horses" from June `71. It's not a bad place to stop. It was followed by another goodie in the shape of "Tumbling Dice" but after that the quality control did slip as did their occupation of the charts. Decca have added a few odd'n'sods and album tracks on to the end which I don't object to because it allows them to go out on a high with "Sympathy for the Devil".

If you don't have any Stones music but are rationing yourself to one album or one set only, then I'd strongly recommend you make it this one. By and large what you have here is the Stones career in a nutshell. Even the albums get a look-in with some of the key tracks appearing. You can always go on and add some of the classic albums - "Aftermath", "Beggar's Banquet", "Let it Bleed", "Sticky Fingers" and "Exile on Main Street" - and you won't have too much duplication. And if you think I'm ignoring forty years, well yes I am, and I do have quite a lot of their output over the period but there's not much of it that matches this stuff (and that's regardless of the unequalled consistency of creation over a very long time frame).
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
They're the greatest rock & roll band of all time, and with this containing some of their earliest recordings, B-sides and alternative versions plus many original classics, its essential for everyone who loves The Stones. 58 songs on a 3 disc compilation, for that price plus a free mp3 download makes this even more of a great purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2009
A great collection of hits: A and B sides of their, 1960s singles output. Wonderful tunes to sing along with, like 'The Last Time,' and the great guitar riff of 'Satisfaction.' Personally, I like them all, but my favourites are the earlier A and B sides like ' I Wanna Be Your Man, I Want To Be Loved,' and the brilliant 'Stoned.' Just like stoned on a cloud, man. Cool... Full of rebellious songs. Dig it! And sing!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2012
For those of my generation, who grew up listening to the Stones, the singles (or at least the A sides) are so fsmiliar as to need no review. Among them are some of the greatest classic tracks in rock and roll history.

For later generations, this collection is a wonderful way to become familiar with the Stones' early years. Listen to how their sound evolved, from cover band to original songs, through more complex arrangements like 'Paint it, Black' ro the fantastically fluid sound they developed with Mick Taylor as lead guitarist. The scope of this set enables the listener to take a trip through time and hear a band which has profoundly influenced a genre of music for close to 50 years.

Although the Stones aren't in the same league as the Beatles when it comes to 'B' sides, the inclusion of them here gives another dimension to this set. There are a number of gems and they might not be as familiar to any but the most avid fans.

A great set and great value.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)