Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
913
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£11.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2013
As a childminder I usually have about three or four of these. A couple of them were just about unusable as they get a lot of use and were not rubbing out very well any more so I bought one in December (from Argos - sorry amazon but can't seem to review it on their site) and it no longer has an automatic return on the screen wiper so I thought it might be broken already.

I found the telephone number for Tomy and when I called I was told that it wasn't broken, the automated ones were costing too much to make and therefore they had changed them. This is a rip off as the quality is not as good as the previous ones (the screen is not as tough as if they press a bit hard you can see the words they have written scratched on the plastic and they don't rub out as well as they used to) and they no longer have the automatic return and yet they have not got any cheaper - yes there are discounts about but they are around the same price as they have been for the last five years taking inflation into account and there is nothing on any of the product details to say they have changed them.

I will not be buying any more megasketchers, I will be trying other models instead - I have purchased about ten in the last three years and previously thought they were great.....

Hope this is helpful to anyone looking to buy one.
11 Comment| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Nice and big... but the only problem is that, aside from the cheap plastic, our one started leaking iron filings out of the front. Which is not particularly safe.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2001
Had this for over a year now and it's still a firm favourite with all 3 of my kids, ranging from 21 months to 7 years (the eldest plays hangman on it). Like the other reviewer said it's great for car trips. The pen being on a string means it doesn't get lost, but we have lost one of the four stamper shapes as they are not attached. This toy is very durable. It's been trodden on, thrown about and had drinks spilled on it, but still works fine. Easy to recommend.
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2004
This drawing board has provided hours of fun for our 7yr. old daughter who has downs syndrome. It is extremely durable and she takes it everywhere with her using it to communicate, to get people to draw on it for her& to amuse herself. Her dexterity has improved considerably and she just loves it. We now have it nine months and it is still going strong. Before we bought it we had other drawing boards which could not compete
11 Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
We opened the TOMY Megasketcher for the first time yesterday. Our son loves it, but there are two problems - a black mark which won't get erased, and the screen is warped quite badly. This is not the level of quality I would expect.

Could you send a replacement please which hopefully won't have these problems?
review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2001
This is a lot of fun at first, but after time can still be pulled out in an emergency (especially travel) to give them something to do. A particularly good thing about this one is that it comes with little stamps, too, as well as the standard pen.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2007
Solid, robust construction. Going well almost three years later. Educational toy - helping our daughter with her drawing and writing. No worries about drawing on walls with felt tips especially with a 2 year old brother.
They love it so much we had to buy another one for him.
Recommended for hours of fun and learning.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 August 2007
This sort of toy is absolutely superb. We have had one of these for years and it is STILL used almost every day by my boys aged 7 and 9....there are not many toys that last like this !Obviously great for encouraging handwriting but also great for playing games - look no further for the perfect toy.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Remember this as a kid? It's funny how despite new technological innovations and products, some classics still survive and thrive. For budding little artists and little kids who just enjoy a scribble, this is a toy that will keep them occupied for ages. No batteries to charge, no instructions to read, no supervison required.

Simple and easy to draw with the attached stylus, a quick swipe with the button and you're left with a clean slate. Intuitive and easy fto play with for kids, not many movable parts, making it it robust and longer lasting. Big play area and sturdy enough to take a hammering, but light enough to hold ( handle helps with portability) and use for little hands.

It's a deceptively simple toy but the reason why it persists, is because it very good at what it does and kids enjoy drawing with it and developing their imagination. You could spend a lot more money on toys that become rarely used and disguarded, but kids ( and adults!) will always be drawn ( no pun intended)) to this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Really surprised at the low quality of this toy - expected better from the brand. The lines of the swiper are visible under the screen; it takes several swipes back and forth to erase; it's flimsy and cheap-looking. It seems like something you'd buy from the pound shop, not something you'd pay over £10 for. Very disappointed. Wish we'd gone for another brand.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)