Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
92
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2017
Great dvd. No scratches at all. Case was in perfect condition. Absolutely awesome. Fast delivery as well. Came in a few days of ordering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
It's a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
add to mr collection of T Cruise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
One of my favourite Tom Cruise films along with Top Gun and Born on Fourth of July. I knew nothing about nascar racing before and still don't but is still a quality film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2006
I love this film, but I feel its been let down by the picture transfer.

The DVD says Widescreen 2.35:1, so I just assumed that meant anamorphic transfer for unsquishing onto a widescreeen TV...

...not so. It's 2.35:1 letterbox inside 4:3. So if you want to fill the screen on a 16:9 TV, you have to Zoom in - which inevitably lowers the picture resolution.

Great film, great soundtrack, but Paramount DVD or whoever manufactured it need to get their act in gear about the picture transfer.
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2000
Although not as good, Days of Thunder can be seen as Top Gun on wheels. Tom Cruise is his normal self, but a special mention must go to both Robert Duvall as the pit crew chief, and especially Randy Quaid who I thought was fantastic in the role of team owner. For sure, to get maximum enjoyment out of this film you have to be a fan of motorsports, on a good surround sound system, anyone will enjoy the race sequences. In summary Days of Thunder definetly benefits from the transformation to DVD, the sound is excellent and the picture quality very good. An essential purchase for either fans of Tom or NASCAR.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
The film, whilst basically Top Gun for racing cars, is good, escapist fun. Even after several intervening years, the action still looks good and the story competent enough to hold your attention. There is nothing deep in the film - rookie driver, Tom Cruise, is brilliant but unpolished and needs the guidance of pit team boss Robert Duval to mould him into a race winner (with the inevitable on-off buddy relationship along the way). Then comes disaster with a serious crash (and the intervention of beautiful doctor and love-interest Nicole Kidman) before Cruise has a shot at the title. But will he be able to drive again after the trauma of the crash - erm...what do you think?. Along the way, there is a tough-guy rival who Cruise bonds with whilst having a road race; one of the best sequences in the film. You half expect Cruise to request a fly-by at the end of the film or, at least, shoot down a few Migs. Yes, it's a pretty mindless film but you knew that, right? As for the transfer to blu-ray, it was good but not overwhelming. Too much grain on clear blue skies. Same with the sound; it never really grabs you by the throat, even with all the cars screaming round the track. That said, it's an old film and the quality on blu-ray was far superior to my old DVD. Overall, if you want two hours of escapist fun - this is it; Cruise at his boyish best.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
The plot is exciting. I think the movie would be better if it ended a little bit more sad. I watched this video with my brother. If I had, I must find someone like the hero. Very pretty. At that time, the special effects of the film were good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)