Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
103
4.6 out of 5 stars
EINE KLASSE FÜR SICH - MADONNA [DVD] [1992]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 May 2017
Truly, since I was a kid in 1992 this is still one my favourite feel good movies.

Mixing in a bit of little known history, about the Woman's Baseball League that ran from 1943-1954, and adding in an engaging storyline with fun, warm characters well played by the cast (even Madonna is good in this one!) it's completely entertaining from the start right up to the great finale.

A good extras package as well, as there's a commentary with cast and crew, 37 minutes of (often substantial) deleted scenes with intro by director Penny Marshall, a 52 minute nine part making of and a 12 minute reunion featurettes alongside the Madonna 'Playground' video. Great stuff!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Great film, Tom Hanks is fantastic as the recovering alcoholic ex baseball player who has been given the task of coaching a team of girls during WW2. All the girls play great characters and there are some sad and some very funny moments in this film. You don't have to be a baseball expert fan or even sports fan of any kind, it's easy watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Top film really doesn't need reviewing - The product does however - please be aware this is a Sony Pictures release - the UV code (boasting plays anywhere) doesn't work on the Flixster App on Apple IOS devices - this is becoming an increasing issue with Sony and Warner Bros titles - they will play on a computer browser via the Sony Store website and will download to Flixster but the download will have a 'playback unavailable' message on it...i've taken it up with the studio's who are clearly aware of this issue but just royally fob you off with a list of UV compatible partners none of which have apps available in the UK Apple store....this UV is also not available/compatible with the talk talk TV app. I do not know if this UV works on Flixster on android devices.....If you are buying this just for the UV copy and you have an ipad/iphone save your money and buy a copy from the Apple store....can't fault the Blu Ray itself but it's shocking that Studio's get away with marketing UV copies as play anywhere which they know clearly don't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
This film centres around the rise of the all female womens baseball league in the usa, the plot is intwined with sibling rivalry and makes for a great watch. Starring geena davis and tom hanks this was a success on release. Madonna does a great performance has one of the players and is believable in the role, she also had a usa number one from the movie...titled " this used to be my playground ". Overall this is a feel good movie and at this price well worth it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
I'm not a sports fan, so when I say this film was amazing and moved me a lot, you can understand that it *really* affected me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
the film itself is overly sentimental, however this disk contains the music video for Madonnas song "This used to be my playground"- this is the only officially released DVD to contain this, for Madonna fans like myself
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Bought this as a present for someone who had never seen it and had no interest in baseball but they loved this film. The acting by Hanks and Davis is amazing but Lori Petty steals the show!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
I am happy with it and I will give you 12 out of 12
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Very good thank you very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
All films with Tom Hanks is great, but to have Moddona in one especially when she is very young was a surprise for me. I haven't seen this film before and I loved it. Really great humour and funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)