Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
33
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2009
Thanks to Philip Sweeney's world-wide travels in search of popular music, this is a surprise item with class. The nimble fingers and humble accordeon of the dance-halls proved to work well with the advent of jazz and swing, and blended with other instruments surprisingly well; the variety of compositions which Sweeney has unearthed is a revelation.

Another surprise item is rock-face Jean Gabin of those moody 'filmes noirs' singing on the soundtrack of Le Belle Equipe of 1936. He began his career as a singer.

I wondered before I bought this whether a whole disc of accordeon would prove too much -- or too sweet.. Not so !
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Very good CD. I love Paris and their music. When I play this CD it brings me straight back Paris and my memories. Love the cover to.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Good quality and arrived quickly. Bought as a gift so have not listened to quality of playing/ recordings but searched and listened for the tracks on the internet and they transport you to France - great background music.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
An enjoyable romp through the traditional sound of accordion music and song which one used to hear in French cafes but now can only be found in the sound tracks of old French movies. Very evocative and a very good selection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Brilliant product bought as background music for Church fundraiser "French Evening" - sadly taking place the evening after the Paris terrorist attacks. We had a brilliant evening but thoughts drifted back to the murdered innocents and the familes torn apart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Used it for a French evening I was very busy as there were 60 people, so I only heard bits of it as there was lots of background noise but what I heard was very good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
This was purchased for a french themed party but has become a firm favorite ever since. Very good price. Would recommennd.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
This is very nice to listen to while in the car - very jolly music. (Even better if travelling in France.)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
speedy recovery and good packaging. got it for my dad as part of a christmas present and he loves it :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2011
It's a lovely alternative to the music on the radio. I play this in the car and daydream about french cafe's, croissants, baguettes, the beautiful cobbled streets of Paris and the wonderful art nouveau buildings. Sit back and relax.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)