Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
136
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Funny film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
I may have to hide my youngests clubs as he thinks the Happy Gilmore technique is acceptable on a course in the UK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
One of Adams best films imo, and it is the first one i saw with him as the lead & love the most out of his long line of titles. Here he plays a washed up ice hockey wannabe who cant skate, but does have one helluva shot! Which comes in handy once he finds out his grandmother is going to lose her home to the IRS, he stumbles across a set of his grandfathers golf clubs & on a wager finds out he can hit the ball for 400+ yards. So off he trots to the driving range, charging people to try and out drive him. Fortune smiles upon him, as ex-pro golfer Chubbs (Carl Weathers -Predator) spots him, and offers to take him under his wing...but Happy isn't interested, he wants to play Ice Hockey....that is until he learns he can earn the big bucks!

So with training & taking part in tournaments, Happy tries to raise enough money to buy his Grandmas house back, which his grandfather built with his own two hands don't you know. During which he comes across competiton in the shape of yellow coat wannabe Shooter McGavin (Christopher McDonald -The Faculty) & love interest in Virginia Venit (Julie Bowen -Horrible Bosses). Keep an eye open for a young Ben Stiller who pops up in one of his early comedy roles before his own big break.

In conclusion, Happy Gilmore is a mixture of crazy, funny & very enjoyable comedy. Certainly one for those who appreciate Adam Sandler's style of comedy, hilarious. Highly Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Happy's grandmother's house is foreclosed because of her failure to pay her taxes, and she's placed in a retirement home.

He must try and find a way to make some money. Whilst at a driving range, he discovers that he can hit a golf ball a hundred feet, so the range pro, convinces him to try being a pro golfer.

Reluctant at first, because he considers himself a hockey player, but when he learns he can make a lot of money, he gives it a try and surprisingly, in addition to his amazing driving ability, his personality has made him popular the crowd.

Shooter McGavin, the tournament leader, thinks that Happy's an embarrassment and is jealous that he is stealing his spotlight, so tries to get him thrown out.....

This is the film that did it for Sandler. The Wedding Singer is a brilliant movie, but this is the one that got Hollywood to notice the man. Here is the film that started it all, and Sandler knows this, that's why his production company is partially named after his career defining movie.

But the main difference with his this, and films up to Big Daddy, and his later works, is that in this film, there are not as many random out of the blue moments like there are in Grown Ups, and Zohan, and this makes the film a little more coherent.

That's not to say I don't like his later movies, I think the man is a funny writer, it's just that this stands the test of time, and can be watched over and over,without becoming too monotonous.

It's consistently funny, Sandler is endearing enough to carry the whole movie, and Macdonald is excellent as the paranoid shooter.

But we still have the random things here. Ben Stiller is wonderful as the orderly, and of course Weathers, who sends himself up something rotten.

Its a fun film, always guaranteed to raise a smile.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
excellent film but had to watch last 10 minutes on YouTube as dvd 'sticks'. we left watching it too late to return it so our own fault
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Dvd in german!!do not buy!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
Languages and Subtitles details for Blu-Ray edition of Happy Gilmore, verified from the back cover.

Languages: English, French, Latin American Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Italian, German, Spanish
Subtitles: English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Latin American Spanish, Norwegian, Swedish
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2007
I saw this film at a mates birthday bash and MY GOD it was funny. Adam Sandler was brill and the gags were woven into the story with ease. The story was touching in parts, although sometimes the plot became slightly complicated. Still, an amazing film that would split your sides on any day of the week. Thoroughly reccommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 August 2016
True Story. All my friends are golfers, however, it's not a sport for me. I played with them once after they continued to badger me about it, at a par 4 hole I used a putter instead of a driver to get onto the green, literally just whacked it straight and hard, I holed in 3, much to my friend's consternation!!

The purpose of that story is why I enjoyed Happy Gilmore so much, it takes fun pot shots at the sport whilst daftly proclaiming that any dude can play in his own style. This is an absolutely no brain movie of course, with a plot as daft as it sounds - a failed/angry ice-hockey player takes up golf to earn money to save his granny's house from being repossessed - and of course he becomes a cause célèbre to the golfing curates.

Sandler has and always will be an acquired comedy taste, making this very much one for his fans only. And truth be told this is basic Sandler where he's shouty and sweary, and he certainly improved on a filmic level from this point on. So what you gonna do? I laughed a lot, but you see I'm a Sandler fan (though there are some films of his I positively hate), it cheered me up and sometimes that's all I want from one of his movies. 7/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)