Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars225
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2006
....And drink it all up. And that's exactly what i did with this movie.

Me, my mum, my sister and my best friend all love this film.

I haven't read the book and didn't even know that there was one, but i plan on buying and reading it. It wont matter if it's different from the film because i love this film ayway.

Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman shine on screen and make for good acting partners, which i found surprising.

Goran Visjnic (i think that's how you spell it), was excellent as the creepy boyfriend and Stockard Channing and Dianne Weist were perfect as the slightly eccentric aunts.

The story revolves mainly around two sisters who live in a small town with their aunts.

There is a curse upon the female's in the family that if any man falls in love with them he will die. And unfortunately that's what happens to Sally's husband early on in the film.

After moving back in with her aunts Sally's sister, Gillian, gets herself into trouble with her scary Bulgarian boyfriend and calls on her beloved sister for help.

The ensuing mishaps and blunders make for good viewing and are just a little scary but a lot of fun.

The girls find themselves trying to cover their tracks with little or no success and in the end the witch's have to put their faith and trust in the women of the town who, for many years have feared and wondered about them, in order to save Gillian's life.

Magic, mayhem and just a little murder are all thrown into the cauldron to make this an enjoyable warm fuzzy movie.

Well worth the money. Highly recommend it.
0Comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2000
Practical Magic was slated on its initial release a few years ago. It's hard to see why as it's a small movie with big stars and doesn't pretend to be anything special. It tells the tale of two sisters who due to spell cannot fall in love for 'real' like the rest of us. Chaos ensues and the film takes you on a magical, sweet and only slightly dark journey in pursuit of the sisters' happiness.
Bullock and Kidman - (underrated as ever) give fully rounded performances and they are supported ably by Stockard Channing and Diane Wiest as the eccentric aunts complete with witch outfits and hair-dos from hell.
Also look out for Dr Kovac from ER!
Practical Magic is sometimes a confused genre film. Because of it's certificate it could not be too gory and you suspect that the original material was a great deal darker. But with top quality performances, a fast moving plot and special effects which do not steal any thunder from Kidman and Bullock- you are left with a cute old fashioned comedy that is less Hocus Pocus and more Eastwick with a '12' cert.
A magical under-rated comedy that is worth a look.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Practical Magic follows the story of a family of witches who have been cursed by the broken heart of an ancestor. No Owens woman should ever fall in love, for if she does, it will be ripped from her in a cruel way.

Sally and Gillian Owens are sisters, very different, both talented witches and both bound together by blood and magic.

Sally is reserved, and practical and happily married with two beautiful daughters - refraining from using her magical talents. Gillian on the other hand, is a wild child who constantly fleets in and out of mens lives without ever falling in love until she meets a dangerous and dark Bulgarian wannabe cowboy.

Soon things become all too real for both sisters as their romantic lives begin to fall apart, Sally's husband is victim to the Owens' curse, and Gillian finds herself victim to the possessive, moody and slightly deranged Jimmy Angeloff.

What starts out as an escape plan soon quickly turns into a nightmare that the sisters become convinced only magic can fix - but dabbling in the darker arts is something they are very inexperienced in, and brings in more than they bargained for.

A mix of light hearted and warm romantic comedy with a slight taint of horror and mystery, a wonderful story and a great fun adventure. The soundtrack on this one is especially uplifting and heartwarming, and really brings the magic of the movie to life.

A must for all fans of magic, fantasy, romance, and comedy. :)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2004
I don't know about anyone else but whenever i watch this movie i get a warm happy feeling in the pit of my stomach. The only way to describe this movie is 'perfect'. The film basically revolves around two sisters who are the most recent of a long line of witches who just want to live normal lives. This is made difficult for them by the townsfolk who believe them to be evil. Watch it!!!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2003
i love this film!!its light humour, romance, and slightly scary all bumped into one!!when i say scary i mean jumpy!i really recommend watching this, Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman are great in it!and the aunts are funny, very eccentric and great to watch. overall great acting, good storyline and of course, as usual in American films, a happy ending!!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman do a very natural and effortless job in portraying two sisters who are trying to put things right in their life. Both were raised under two powerful guardians in the movie who influenced them in being aware of how to use magic for practical areas in life (hence the term practical magic). What both sisters want the most is true love, but they end up having to find a way around that as well because of a wish that one of the sisters made as a little girl for her dream partner. Things really get interesting when a handsome man enters their life, and he questions the sisters on a disappearance for someone that is wanted by the law. Overall, this is a very cute and entertaining movie on how practical magic plays a role in shaping a person's life and those who surround them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2002
So, I saw a trailer and thought 'Nah... not my kind of thing at all'. Then I noticed Goran Visnjic was in it (as Jimmy Angelor), and being a bit of a Goran fan decided it was worth it, just for him.
I loved it.
Practical Magic was funny, touching, and creepy.
Nicole Kidman and Sandra Bullock were amazing. (as, of course, was Goran Visnjic).
I really recomend it to anyone, as it has a little bit of everything in it.
Absolutly superb!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
I probably would not have gone to see or rented this movie , but saw it on a flight on Sabena Airlines in early 1999 so I was part of a captive audience
I found the movie very charming and last weekend I rented it to see it for a second time. Good storyline and beautifully set
The two lead roles are played by Sandra Bullock : Sally ,The down to earth and good hearted Sally who wants nothing more than a happy domestic life (unfortunately there is a 300 year spell that makes a love affair with a man impossible-that is if the man is to live!)
And Nicole Kidman :Gillian the wild and mischievous one that loves the high life
Both add sparkle to the movie in their own way. Then there are the two ultra-eccentric aunts who are devout believers in `the Craft' played by Stockard Channing and Dianne Wiest

And Sally's two daughters are charmingly portrayed by child actresses who I think will go far !!!

Then there is the vampire like villain who Gillian stupidly gets involved with played by Goran Visnjic and the knight in shining armor played by the indomitable Aidan Quinn

This is a enthralling adult fairy tale where good defeats evil and love conquers all (themes which have been lacking in the 90's but which I fervently hope will see revival)

See it. You'll be spellbound!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Have watched this many times, usually with the family but it never fails to keep me entertained, happy and positive. The polarity of the sisters are perfectly acted by Kidman and Bullock and their real world character differences work brilliantly together.

The film has lovely simple metaphors running through it which adults will smile at and I love it for that - unpretentious reminders of what matters in life.

Some of the scenes were pun intended, magical, beautifully lit and filmed and a believable film version of the Sorcerer's Apprentice, and other scenes were really quite freaky and menacing - each complimenting each other but making the differences acute, like the characters of the two leading ladies.

Wasn't happy about the slightly candy sick final rooftop scene, but the sensitively observed human emotions and actions running through a film about magic, made this a perfect feel good film for me. PS have never seen Kidman looking so naughty or Bullock so gentle :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The story line is loosely based on a book by Alice Hoffman. It is more of the screen play by Robin Swicord who also did the screen play for "Matilda" (1996).

Sisters Sally Owens (Sandra Bullock) and Gillian Owens (Nicole Kidman) are brought up by their maiden aunts after their parents died. They learn of magic and its pluses and minuses by observing their aunts from a distance. They also have to overcome (if possible) the family curse that the gentlemen in their lives are distending to meat an early demise. One highlight of the movie is when we find that the other women in the village really did not distain the Owens's; is just that they have not been invited to help.

The story deviates from the book in the since that they do not even try to mask the fact that they are sort of cookie witches that even though the whole town knows about them. The men in their lives are too naive to notice when their time is up.

So watch and have fun. Then read the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.