Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
105
4.6 out of 5 stars
Shine [DVD] [1997]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 September 2017
Excellent,movingg ,thought provoking film.this one may be different from one I saw years ago where his piece de resistance is playing Rach 3 at the very end and just about collapsing into a heap .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2017
Right from the beginning an interesting film though the logic in the main character's father's behaviour seems irrational to say the least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
im not sure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Brilliant film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
It is a good film and well acted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
No problems and all was great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
After seeing Geoffrey Rush in the Book thief I ordered this older film which I'd watched at the cinema. It was an emotional film but very encouraging and freeing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
Countless people have already discussed the story of the film itself. This review is strictly for the quality of the Blu-ray Edition.

I ordered this directly from Amazon.it {Italy}, and I must mention that it has been an extremely long time since I have been emotionally moved in such an immense manner, all thanks to this 01Distribution Rai Cinema Italian company. While all the other companies completely forgot about this film, I am incredibly grateful that they were willing to go through the extreme effort and expense in releasing this film in such a super high quality format. This is not a cheap, quickly-done Blu-ray attempt. The bit-rates are sometimes as high as 45+MBPS!!

I watched this on the 55" LW5700 LG 3D Cinema screen connected to the Oppo BDP-93 Blu-ray player and the Denon AVR-3300CI receiver in true 5.1 channel surround sound, and the experience was absolutely nothing short of breathtaking! I watched it in 3D, and the picture quality is so immaculate and flawless, that I was finally able to see details and depth in this film that I NEVER imagined possible. This Blu-ray Edition also includes the original trailer in its' untouched VHS quality-level, and it is truly astonishing to witness the difference side-by-side! The sound quality is stunningly gorgeous!! And I could also hear details that I never heard before! This is what I have been waiting for, for an extremely long time, and I commend the Rai Cinema company for doing such an immaculate job on this new release!
review image
77 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Did not realise this is in Spanish! Now need to order in English.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Hello.
This film is one that stays with you. More so because of the true
life depiction of a fine classical pianist.
Geoffrey Rush is astounding as David Helfgott. A man whose
wonderful artistic gifts become his down fall. But who as the title
captures does 'Shine' in the end.
David's childhood is a constant desire for acceptance from his
father. A father who is a decent man but who demands far too much
from his son. The potential David shows for becoming a star pianist
is suffocated. His father's attempts at keeping David under his own
management backfire.
David Helfcott's youth and his later endeavour,s to be a truly great
pianist result in harming his health. David becomes poorly due to the
stress and his desire to work himself into the ground.
Geoffrey Rush is wonderful as Helfcott and I cared so very much
what would become of the pianist. The acting by Rush made you have
these protective feelings.
A remarkable film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Shine (1996) - DVD (Region 0, Aus Import) (20th Anniversary Special Edition)

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)