Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
94
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2004
If I'm honest now, when i sat down to watch this film i was ready to be bored. The film is about classical music, so not an erratic story about a group of adventurous rock gods. I was wrong. This is one of the most moving and memorable films i have ever seen, whether this is because its a true life heart wrenching story or it features passion in the form of musical genius, i cannot decide. The superb acting talents made the characters come alive, so much so that the viewer feels that they could describe their feelings to the most intricate detail. I would recommend this film to anyone.
11 comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Hello.
This film is one that stays with you. More so because of the true
life depiction of a fine classical pianist.
Geoffrey Rush is astounding as David Helfgott. A man whose
wonderful artistic gifts become his down fall. But who as the title
captures does 'Shine' in the end.
David's childhood is a constant desire for acceptance from his
father. A father who is a decent man but who demands far too much
from his son. The potential David shows for becoming a star pianist
is suffocated. His father's attempts at keeping David under his own
management backfire.
David Helfcott's youth and his later endeavour,s to be a truly great
pianist result in harming his health. David becomes poorly due to the
stress and his desire to work himself into the ground.
Geoffrey Rush is wonderful as Helfcott and I cared so very much
what would become of the pianist. The acting by Rush made you have
these protective feelings.
A remarkable film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2001
This is the type of film that I love. It sensitively explores the relationship of a gifted young muscician to his repressive, but ambitious father, and later on, of the grown David to the adult world. It is funny, moving, and compelling. I particularly loved the piano playing, and bought Rachmaninov 3 on the strength of it.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2009
Shine is the Sory of David Haffgott a concert pianist who developed a problem with schizoaffective disorder when he left home to study music in London.The first half of the film focuses on his difficult relationship with his controlling father and his susequent escape to the Royal College of Music. Then the film moves on to his treatment and hospitalisation as he seems to move further and further from reality. However when he meets his future wife David's fortunes change as he re-enters the world of professional performance and finds comfort and support in a stable domestic relationship.

In parts this is a difficult film to watch. The depiction of abuse within David's family is uncompromising and could be upsetting for some viewers. However David himself is potrayed as a genuinely lovable and loving man so when finds a woman who reciprocates his feelings there is a strong sense of closure at the end of the film.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2001
This is certainly a film that can change your view on classical music. The story follows, somewhat erratically via flashback and revisiting, the life of an talented but capped young boy that make you find it hard to believe that it's true. Only when you realise that this is in fact the case does the hardship and struggle faced by David Helfgott really hit home. This erratic story line must have been intentional as it mimics the strange behaviour of the man himself as a result of rejection and pressure from his father at such a young age, and servers only to draw you in to the character more.
The descriptions and delivery of the music throughout gives you insight to the passion and fullness of classical music that always seemed to be missing in music lessons (at my school anyway). Sir John Gielgud's performance as his music teacher makes the music seem as fresh and vibrant as Oasis or Blur today. I dare anyone to watch this and not be moved, heartened and touched by the story of the man, but also not to be enthused to go out and build a huge collection of Rachmaninov or Vivaldi..
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
Countless people have already discussed the story of the film itself. This review is strictly for the quality of the Blu-ray Edition.

I ordered this directly from Amazon.it {Italy}, and I must mention that it has been an extremely long time since I have been emotionally moved in such an immense manner, all thanks to this 01Distribution Rai Cinema Italian company. While all the other companies completely forgot about this film, I am incredibly grateful that they were willing to go through the extreme effort and expense in releasing this film in such a super high quality format. This is not a cheap, quickly-done Blu-ray attempt. The bit-rates are sometimes as high as 45+MBPS!!

I watched this on the 55" LW5700 LG 3D Cinema screen connected to the Oppo BDP-93 Blu-ray player and the Denon AVR-3300CI receiver in true 5.1 channel surround sound, and the experience was absolutely nothing short of breathtaking! I watched it in 3D, and the picture quality is so immaculate and flawless, that I was finally able to see details and depth in this film that I NEVER imagined possible. This Blu-ray Edition also includes the original trailer in its' untouched VHS quality-level, and it is truly astonishing to witness the difference side-by-side! The sound quality is stunningly gorgeous!! And I could also hear details that I never heard before! This is what I have been waiting for, for an extremely long time, and I commend the Rai Cinema company for doing such an immaculate job on this new release!
review image
77 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
This is as interesting story, about as young pianist trying to break away from a dominant father figure. He obviously has difficulty in relating to people, and ends up becoming mentally unwell, and the story traces his life, and how he eventually succeeds as a concert pianist. It is a sad story at times, but the acting is excellent and it I well worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2004
He won the Oscar in 1996 for Best Actor in this role, where he portrays a pianist, David Helfgott, whose great carrier as a pianist is severely damaged by a nervous breakdown. The way Rush shows the ingenuity of a slightly odd mind and the influence that it has on the movement of the body is truly stunning.
Get it, especially if you love Rachmaninoff or piano in general!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
I never realised how complicated and brilliant Rachmaninov's 3rd piano concerto was until I saw this film. Geoffrey Rush fully deserved his Oscar for his portrayal of the disturbed and incoherent genius of David Helfgott. For me the highlight was the playing of 'The Flight of the Bumble Bee' and the reaction it produced. One shouldn't forget the performance of Armin Mueller-Stahl as the obsessive father. I would recommend this movie to both music-lovers and cinemagoers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2000
I really love 'Shine' because it's a film that genuinely moves me. It's based on the true story of David Helfgott, who is played as an adult by Geoffrey Rush in this unusual Australian bio-pic. Rush's acting style in this role is so frenetic and convincing that I didn't recognise him at all in later films like Elizabeth! Noah Taylor is equally brilliant playing Helfgott as a disturbed young boy, living in the shadow of an extremely repressive father. Another great reason to watch this video, along with the world-class acting, is the piano-playing - much of the sound for the later post-fame sequences is apparently provided by Helfgott himself.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here