Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars97
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2000
A very underrated film! The story has our main protagonist developing a genius IQ overnight and discovering that his lifelong friends grow to fear and distrust him as his IQ rapidly increases. As a sub issue, he also develops weak telekinetic abilities. Refreshingly, this ability is employed in such a way that it remains subservient to, and supports, the main thrust of the film, which is not about a man with telekinetic powers, but rather about a man who is struggling through the changes going on both within himself and around him.
It has humour, depth, and feeling. Wonderful performances all round from JT, RD, FW... I found the film immensely enjoyable and I have to say it's one of my favourites.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2000
This is a film which intrigues from the start. Its got a great story with great characters and has a great feel too it.
John Travolta is excellent as ever, with admirable support from Robert Duval.
If you like John Travolta you'll like this film. If you don't you will still like this film.
It's a film which allows you to escape and enjoy another part of the world and another unexplained part of the world.
Enjoy
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2005
I'm not often driven to review movies -but I have to say here that this is one of my all time favourites (and I am very hard to please). The movie is, in my opinion, such a success because it relies on the power of understatement.
Some of the heart-rending scenes are such because they are so simply done! The story line sounded a little dodgy to me at first but you are quickly drawn into what becomes an emotional rollercoaster. It's the first movie I have seen in a long time that required a FULL BOX OF TISSUES!
Watch it and weep....you have been warned!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'd heard of this film for some time but never felt interested enough to watch it. Then it was scheduled for TV and so, without many expectations, I started to watch it - expecting any minute to switch it off. But it was amazing - a truly warm enthralling story acted with perfection by all it's lead actors. Travolta is especially superb.

Previous reviewers have outlined the story so it's clear that if you expect high-blown sci-fi dripping with special effects, you'll be disappointed. A floating pencil, a blue light and a cracked mirror won't cut it for you - but if you want a fantastic story about a man struggling to understand himself and everyone else around him as seemingly inexplicable changes alter his life and the lives of everyone he knows, then I guarantee that you'll love this film.

And as for the final explanation and resolution - absolutely spot on, especially the final long panning shot that brings the film to an end.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2003
An absolutely wonderful film. John Travolta is, once again, fantastic. Very refreshing to see a film with no violence or sex but with a very heartwarming story. Lovely.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
Great story, great sub-plots, brilliant acting, direction and production. Travolta and Forrest-Whittaker both shine. A film for all the family.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is in no doubt for me one of the best John Travolta films that I have ever seen the acting from the whole cast is brilliant but it is exceptional from John Travolta I remember watching this in the cinema in 1995-1996. Until I watched this film I thought of Mr Travolta as a okay actor but since this film he has got better and better in this film he playes George Malley a mechanic in a small sleepy town he then falls in love with lace pen naming (Kyra Sedgwick ) a new arrival in town on Georges 37 th birthday he is knocked unconscious by a strange light. He then finds he has a better mental abilities and telekinetic powers this whole film will pull at the heart strings especially the last 20 mins it's a powerful Film and I would happily recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
A Truly wonderful film with a fantastic story and fantastic Cast. John Travolta.Robert duvall,Forest Whittaker and Kyra Sedgwick are perfectly cast in a film that is both full of emotion, Drama and gentle humour. This film is a must see and is a wondorously delightful Tearjerker
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
Yes, I understand that Phenomenon is fiction, yet it is a film that gently tugs on what could be possible for the expansion of the human mind (wisdom wise, reaching beyond the expectations of what others think is possible for you etc.). Phenomenon stars John Travolta as a friendly auto mechanic named George Malley whose life is turned upside down once he gets hit by an unexplained ball of light after innocently going outside on the night of his 37th birthday. Almost seemingly overnight he gains an increased intelligence and clarity effortlessly which right away manifests in how he does his job as an auto mechanic. His physician Doc Brunder (Robert Duvall) cannot logically make sense out of what happened to Malley but he is still accepting of him. Another person, George Malley’s close friend Nate Pope (Forest Whitaker) also stands by his friend Malley during the both the high points and challenging points of what happens when his newfound abilities spring up for others to witness. In the midst of all this, George Malley tries extremely hard to court single mother Lace Pennamin (Kyra Sedgwick) and to even win over her kids Al Pennamin (David Gallagher) and Glory Pennamin (Ashley Buccile). Lace Pennamin courteously acknowledges George Malley yet she is understandably guarded due to what transpired within her relationship history. George Malley also gains the academic interest of UC Berkley Professor Dr. Ringold (Jeffrey DeMunn) after a shockingly accurate earthquake prediction despite his modest educational background. Eric Clapton’s song Change The World plays towards the end of the film. Bonus material; There is a theatrical trailer for Phenomenon and the recommendation of these additional titles for those who enjoyed this film; Ransom, Scream, The Nightmare Before Christmas, The Rock, Tombstone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
This is a brilliant film very cleverly thought out and John Travolta is lovely. It is a good film for a night in with the girls.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)