Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
72
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2010
I used to have a cassette of this years ago and was really pleased to find the CD. I had enjoyed the film both for the fantastic sound track and because we had visited the areas in which it was made during lovely summer holidays. The guitar work is still uplifting, and I listen to it in the car driving through the countryside to work! Lots of different pace and moods, I always arrive smiling when I play this.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Replaced older copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Loved it anyway just had to have it for myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
Ok
regards peter58home
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 May 2017
This was released just after my favourite Dire Straits album, Love Over Gold. Local Hero is so far removed from Love Over Gold yetstill for me is also a 5 star album.
There are few films whose soundtrack really makes an impression. "All Is Lost" o.s.t. (Robert Redford movie) is another that springs to mind that fits the film in question so rightly. (Only mention it because it's just so ambient). That said, Local Hero is not ambient, but for the most just so relaxing. With just 2 upbeat tracks it is at the other end of the spectrum to Love Over Gold. I keep referring to Love Over Gold as the concert movie Alchemy, showcases most of Love.. and it's brilliant finale, Going Home which of course, originates on Local Hero.
Gerry Rafferty gives a wonderful vocal to That's The Way It Always Starts. That is the only vocal on the album.

If you haven't seen the movie, it is a quiet, gentle paced film capturing the essence of Scotland's rural crofters lifestyle. Almost a rom-com, the romance is with the beautiful coastline and countryside and the comedy is subtle and not laugh-out-loud style.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Mark Knopfler has written some gorgeous music during his career both as a solo artist or with Dire straits but this soundtrack to a wonderful film is up their with his best works.Mainly acoustic and instrumental (Gerry Rafferty guest vocalist on one track)the haunting main theme that returns often during the album is revealed in different moods and sounds (acoustic guitar accordian violin etc)but is equally rewarding to the listener and to give it that extra gloss the wonderful Mike Brecker puts the icing on the cake with his superb sax solo on triumphant finale Going Home.I cannot praise this album enough.One of the best soundtracks ever written.Thank you m.k.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
This is a superb performance from one of Britain's best guitarists. He has, of course, since the recording of this soundtrack album, gone from strength to strength as an international star and as a fellow Geordie (and very ordinary guitar player myself) I'm delighted to see his well deserved success.
Although all the tracks are very good, my particular favourites are the guitar solo "Wild Theme" and of course the brilliant "Coming Home" .the final piece. This is played very loud at Newcastle United home games and never fails to stir the emotions!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
This is the very best of Mark Knopfler's film music scores; it fits the film perfectly, with its Celtic overtones but the CD also plays equally as well as a music Album; great main theme.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
This music evokes memories of happy days when the film fist came out. The film is on my list as one of my all time favourites. Love listening to this, some tracks cheery and some poignant. Great work by Mark Knopfler
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)