Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Greatest Hits
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 November 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2001
First, it is great to have this collection available on CD. My old album is played to death, and the sound quality simply cannot compare to a modern CD. But for some reason UK Motown have decided to leave out two tracks from the original Tamla Motown lp - California Soul and Two Can Have A Party.
Why? There is plenty of space on the CD - it comes to barely half an hour, when everyone knows a CD can hold up to 74 mins.
A pity. I like Motown's idea of reissuing original vinyl albums on CD, with the original album covers on the CD case. But they should stick to the original format, too, unless there is a positive reason. Spectrum *add* tracks - but Motown have done the opposite.
Had it not been for this, it would have been five stars.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 June 2012
The American star singers Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell created some of the most beautiful, best-known duets of their time, the heyday of soul in the late 1960's, and deservedly so, even in the Detroit, Michigan- based Motown's stable, crowded with great performers. Gaye, of course, had many hits on his own, Terrell didn't, but together they were surefire; her pure voice beautifully complementing his more sensual one, backed by Motown's outstanding studio band, on such songs as "Your Precious Love,""Ain't No Mountain High Enough," "You're All I Need to Get By, and "Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing." Listen to the yearning in "If I Could Build My Whole World Around You." All written by the talented duo of Nickolas Ashford and Valerie Simpson, as were most of their songs. Of course, Ashford and Simpson were to have a few hits of their own, with their own songs, as well.

But the Gaye/Terrell harmonies can't be beat: many listeners thought Terrell brought out the best in Gaye, who did, certainly, have many other hits. Some people tag "I Heard It Through The Grapevine" as one of the greatest dancing songs ever recorded; others point to the changes Gaye made in the song, from the also best-selling version by Gladys Knight and The Pips; Gaye's version actually told a story.

As is well-known, Terrell left us too soon, of natural causes, when she was barely hitting her stride as a young woman. As is also well-known, Gaye also left us much too soon (he's one of the triumvirate of great soul singers, including Sam Cooke and Otis Redding, who left us much too young, and through regrettably violent deaths.) But Gaye and Terrell have left their soaring voices with us, and anybody who loves soul should have this record.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2000
Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell were the ultimate Motown artists. For any Motown or Marvin Gaye fans who don't know the two of them together, all I can say is buy this NOW! Superb! This incredible album (CD) is atleast 30 years old and every time I listen to it, it just gets better and better and I never tire of it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2000
Gaye and Terrell evidently had a great time recording these tracks, you'll be grinning throughout. Tight sparkling arrangements and beautifully matched vocals. Fresh, fun and classy. For sheer joy it's a hard one to match. Go on, just buy it, you'll be so glad you did...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2002
Two great artists producing great music together. Tammi Terrell really brought Marvin Gaye into his own and their real life closeness is evident in these songs. Not a duff track on here (although The Onion song does grate sometimes). A real shame it is only 30 mins long but still well worth having. Better as an introduction to Tammi Terrell than it is to Marving Gaye (whose later recordings were an altogether different affair), this record serves as a perfect snapshot of a perfect couple singing perfect songs. - Ash
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2014
Absolutely loved this album. First boyfriend bought this in vinyl for me back in early 70's still love it, play it all the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2014
took me back to the 70s, easy listening and so enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2016
A must have album for anyone who loves soul music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2014
very pleased with my order thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

You're All I Need [VINYL]
£16.76

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)