Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
134
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Bodyguard
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 December 2013
"The Bodyguard" is a lovely film, and anyone who has seen and enjoyed it will surely love having this musical reminder of the wonderful songs contained in the film.

Sadly Whitney is no longer with us which is a great loss to lovers of her music. Her strong and powerful voice on this CD is a true pleasure and brings back happy memories of this timeless film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2017
Not as great as I thought, however Whitney's voice amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2017
Excellent value and service delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 January 2015
Loved the film. Now I can enjoy the soundtrack where I go.
Great value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
Great to have on dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Great album love the film one of my favourites
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
It means the word to me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
as this was a birthday present
I was disappointed with the cd case
it looked used and was dirty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2008
Whitney is fantastic on this album, this album also boasted some of her most famous hits to date, and got us all rushing down to the cinema to see `The Bodyguard' her vocals are top spec, who could ever forget one of most famous songs of her career, a mind-blowing rendition of 'I Will Always Love You', on this track every note is sung to perfection, then there's `I Have Nothing' which is also an extremely good ballad, `Queen Of The Night' Whitney herself co-wrote this song, it's upbeat and very good to sing along to, `Run To You' again another ballad with every note sung to perfection using some of the world's most famous pipes, same can be said for the second, and last upbeat song on Whitney's take on the album, `I'm Every Woman' I actually do prefer Whitney's version of the song to the original Chaka Khan version. Finally the last song on the album by Whitney, is an all gospel number called `Jesus Loves Me' which I actually don't really listen to that often, but would argue that it's still a great track. This album is legendary, I bet money you will still see it on sale in the shops in 20 years time.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 April 2016
Whitney Houston has suddenly passed away at the tender age of 48. She has led a tumultuous life, with drug abuse, resulting in the ultimate sacrifice: the loss of her golden voice and her life. According to Tommy Mottola, the boss at Sony, he rightly said that Whitney Houston's voice at the beginning of her career was considered the golden standard, to be imitated by other singers that follow.

To truly appreciate the raw talent of Whitney, a greatest hits album is simply not enough. She has 19 charted albums on Billboard 200 Album Chart. The Bodyguard is the best selling album of Whitney Houston with 20 million sold, and it stayed at Number 1 at Billboard Top 200 Album Chart for 20 weeks. It also won the Grammy for Album Of The Year.

The best song from this album is of course the very beautiful I Will Always Love You. I will never get tired of listening to this song. Her rendition truly showed off her golden voice, with so many different levels of octaves that she could effortlessly soar up into the sky above. Simply magnificent and majestic!

The song listing is already listed in the website. So I am not going to repeat here. But there are actually two versions of this soundtrack: one the standard soundtrack with 12 songs, the one you are reading, and a second one, called Special Commemorative Edition, with 3 bonus tracks: Waiting For You by Kenny G, I'm Every Woman (Clivilles & Cole House Mix I) and Queen Of The Night (CJ's Master Mix), both by Whitney Houston, plus a special picture calendar for 1994, with 12 beautiful pictures of Whitney. This deluxe edition is a collector's item now, not readily available. But if you see it, get it.

The Bodyguard represents the pinnacle in Whitney's career, when her stars shine the brightest. Her voice cannot be matched anywhere at that time. She was simply unstoppable. This album is highly recommended and is a must-own as part of your Whitney Houston collection.

UPDATE:

One week after Whitney's passing, Whitney's Greatest Hits has re-entered the Billboard 200 Album Chart at #6, while her previous chart-topper I Will Always Love You re-entered the Billboard Hot 100 at #7! In The Catalog Album Chart, Whitney's Greatest Hits reigned supreme, re-entering at Number 1, while her first album, Whitney, re-entered at Number 5 and The Bodyguard Soundtrack at Number 7. Amazing feat!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse