Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Many of the reviewers have queried the need for this album, given other live releases at the time, but to me, it is utterly justified.

The album has a different feel and 'vibe' to other live releases. The track listing is interesting and all the songs are delivered with the consummate professionalism you would expect from Young and Crazy Horse.

Sonically, it is a good recording and as a double album package, represents great value.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
A lot of reviewers knock this album for being boring, but if you like the sound of Neil and the Horse putting the foot down for an hour and twenty minutes then you'll like this frankly awesome set. OK, it's no Weld, but how could anything match that monster? Year of the Horse is a solid rocker from start to finish, which is just what I want from Neil Young and Crazy Horse. It's cheap and it delivers in spades. Highly recommended!
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2001
Stirring live album recorded around Europe, summer 1996. The band plays at the normal high standard, and the variety of songs is impressive, spanning Young`s whole career.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2008
With tickets for Shakeys forthcoming London concerts in my possession these live recordings fill me full of incredible anticipation.I can honestly say that some of his greatest songs come over better live than recorded.The electric version of Pocahontas is superb and sets the tone for a great record.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Many would say 'Live Rust' or 'Weld', but for me this is easily my favourite of Neil's live albums. I was never too keen on the production of the Rust albums, and Weld was pretty much a live greatest hits (even though I love them both). I always liked Neil's lesser known songs best and this album includes superb versions of rarer tracks such as, Dangerbird, When Your Lonely Heart Breaks & Human Highway. For anyone tired of hearing live renditions of Cinnamon Girl & Like A Hurricane, this is a must. A shame an acoustic version of 'Sample and Hold' wasn't included (like the one cut from Unplugged), or perhaps a Crazy Horse version of 'Pressure'...or even better 'Interstate' - the best song he never properly released!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Neil Young is always very good to listen to any time. A must for any Neil young fan. Good Album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
Excellent live album with some lesser played live tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2016
You either love him or hate him! Wonderful tracks that really show what Mr Young is all about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
This live album is pretty good but I've never seen the point of it. It was too soon after the excellent Weld & immediately following the below par Broken Arrow.
A curio, nothing more
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
many thanks 5 star service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.78

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)