Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 30 August 2017
It's pretty much classic Tom but slightly more sober than some later recordings - very much appreciated as a part of my Jazz Blues collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Pick it up, put it on and look forward to great music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
wish I`d found him years ago love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
I love, love, love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2017
very lovely album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Knew CD great. But I ordered this and others about 2months ago. I did not appreciate that the reasonable price really did mean waiting the whole 8 weeks EIGHT !!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
I have always loved Tom Waites music,...but this is my very favorite to date.
His voice in this album,is so clear and pure and the lyrics sublime.
Buy It!
Give your ears a treat.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2006
This is Tom Waits' first album, he was 24 when he wrote it and I am at a loss to come up with many other artists (Dylan?) who have expressed themselves with such a mature voice at such a young age.

The album is beautiful from start to finish. It is melodic - full of haunting strings and piano chords. It is sentimental without being saccharine - perhaps it is the smokey bourbon voice which does it.

Standouts for me are Ol'55, Martha ("I remember quiet evenings trembling close to you" - swoon, swoon!) and Grapefruit Moon.

The outstanding thing which he achieves though is putting together a collective of songs which are so evocative. Whilst Waits has stood the test of time and experimentation this is something which has stayed with him throughout his career and can be seen as much on his most recent offering, 'Real Gone' as it can be on this.

This is the best place to start if you plan to get into Tom Waits as it is his first and probably his most accessible. It leads you quite neatly to 1974's 'The Heart of Saturday Night' where his ability as a storyteller becomes more accomplished.

Listen to the lyrics, listen to the music, listen to it again and again. Tom Waits is an absolute genius.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)