Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
29
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2014
Having loved all of their first eight albums I lost touch with the Moodies after Octave. The solo albums from Justin Hayward and John Lodge kept me interested and I also loved the Blue Jays album but the later stuff always seemed a bit too bland, with one or two great (mainly Hayward-penned) songs and a lot of filler. Having taken the risk of buying Sur La Mer on the basis of others reviews and a bit of You Tube spotting, I've not been disappointed. The nearest reference point for me is probably the BlueJays album as this feels like BlueJays Mark 2. All songs are Hayward and/or Lodge compositions and there is a consistency of songwriting quality here that I hadn't come across in other more recent offerings. Perfect late evening relaxation music with worldwise and reflective lyrics. I'm very glad I bought Sur La Mer and if like me you liked early/mid period Moodies but started to switch off this is probably the best later Moodies album to invest in.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 May 2004
My thoughts always go back to Deep with this album...as you listen to this track you do go deep, it is a musical trip of pure relaxing moments, the best of its kind and at the end of the album it fits with a lovely feeling of pure relaxation after listening to the Album... Thanks Justin a good one....Vintage Wine also a good Justin Hayward no.with a nostalgic flavour, with pleasant lyrics..No More Lies, a guilt trip, makes you think, and the River Of Endless Love a joint effort in song writing for John & Justin a flowing smoochy number. Love is on the run is one of John's best songs, smoochy and lively it say's alot....Want to be With You..I Know You're Out There Somewhere seems to link a theme and it is good... a well put together Album.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sur La Mer is very much an album of the Eighties, which is borne out by its sound and production. It is a truly lovely album - very uplifting, light and breezy and immensely enjoyable. Many of the famous harmonies remain but the orchestration has gone, replaced by a horn section in places.

The whole album works very well, with some great songs including the glorious 'I Know You're Out There Somewhere'.

Toni Visconti produced the album, which accounts for the high calibre of production - he was a fabulous choice. The only slight disapointment is that Ray Thomas is missing from this album - his quirky little songs often provided a nice balance to the Lodge/Hayward compositions.

Nevetheless, highly recommended for all the right reasons.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2003
'...songs of the light and laid-back variety' - I don't think so! This is a bloody good Moodies album with every track having something to offer. Drink a large glass of red wine, put on 'Deep' and turn up the volume - brilliant!... Buy it!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
One of the least inspiring Moodies album hardly surprising when the creative talents of Mike Pinder and Ray Thomas are missing!
typical late era album just one track after another extolling love and lest stay together or i'll find you somewhere,thankfully we dont get many John Lodge songs with his dreary voice but even Justin Hayward is struck with the same affliction sorry guys
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
On first listening,although this dates from the late 1980s, the keyboards strike me as dating it. This is probably more the producer's "fault" than Patrick Moraz's! Nonetheless, there are some good songs, especially from Justin Hayward.
Compared to the unsurpassable This is The Moody Blues (which has always been much more than a so called best of) and the excellent Long Distance Voyager I afraid that I currently regard it as an also-ran but we shall see,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2006
After their hiatus in the 80s, the Moodies delivered again with Sur La Mer. Pin sharp production and the wonderful talent of Justin Hayward make SLM their best album since their 1960-70s raging successes. Deep is haunting, Vintage Wine a delight (more so if you're a child of the era) and I Know You're Out There Somewhere generates wistful memories of lost young love. No More Lies gets to those of us with a guilty secret.

One or two tracks jar a little, being a tad out of the Moodies' norm though some will say they demonstrate versatility (sorry, I'm just a 'standard' Moodies fan who knows what he likes). Go on, buy it, you know you want to...
33 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sur La Mer is very much an album of the Eighties, which is borne out by its sound and production. It is a truly lovely album - very uplifting, light and breezy and immensely enjoyable. Many of the famous harmonies remain but the orchestration has gone, replaced by a horn section in places.

The whole album works very well, with some great songs including the glorious 'I Know You're Out There Somewhere'.

Toni Visconti produced the album, which accounts for the high calibre of production - he was a fabulous choice. The only slight disapointment is that Ray Thomas is missing from this album - his quirky little songs often provided a nice balance to the Lodge/Hayward compositions.

Nevetheless, highly recommended for all the right reasons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
This album holds some real musical treasures and jewels of the heart! While occasionally, as seems a tendency with the Moody Blues, dipping into a little bit self indulgent melancholy, there is much to uplift and inspire on this album. A celebration of optimism and love, the beauty of the human spirit, loving connections, and this magical universe, with some great songs! For lovers of romance and great quality, up beat and melodic music ... this may be one for you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
Have always loved the Moodies, but this is nowhere near as good as any of the classic first seven albums. To much of a forced 80s sound, with horrible drum machines. I get the impression they were merely going through the motions, with no more than two of the tracks worthy of their earlier albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)