Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
52
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2015
A story of a keeper who travelled the world to do the one job he was happy with. It got him into trouble in one area of the world through no fault of his own. The willingness to go anywhere for the job helps the story continue........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
very good yarn...easy to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Husband has laughed all the way through this book, he loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2014
Four days ago, if someone had suggested buying the autobiography of a footballer, I'd have been sceptical. If I had been told that the footballer in question was a German goalkeeper whose name I didn't recognise and who wasn't an international, I'd have dismissed the idea outright.

An interview with him on BBC Radio 5 changed my mind and the book was on my Kindle before he'd left the studio! Clapped in jail, dying on the pitch at Bradford, "borrowing" a penguin, catching a burglar, the Wimbledon initiation.

However Lutz is a man who seemingly said "yes" to every interesting opportunity that came his way and it took him all around the world and into situations that were often hilarious and sometimes appalling. Despite his erratic history, he seems to have settled down, but only a little.

The book rattles along with great pace and Pfannenstiel has a great store of anecdotes - maybe enough for a second book one day. Really, an unexpected pleasure.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
A throughly enjoyable and interesting story. Lutz's adventures playing football all over the world are a excellent insight into the world of a journeyman footballer which I found to be a really good read. His travels, often to bizarre places thay you wouldn't imagine would need a German goalkeeper, showed a more interesting way for a footballer to earn a living.

This is a funny and and engaging book that I really enjoyed and would recommend to anyone that's looking for a sports autobiography of someone a little different but with a genuinely interesting and unique story.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Lutz is a man like no other, a man with a deep love of the game, so much so that he changed teams over and over again in order to play rather than sit on the bench. During his extensive travels he has done mad and crazy things - just read it to find out why the cover has 2 monkeys and a penguin. His warmth and humanity shine through every page, and I do hope there is a volume 2 of the many adventures that didn't make the first book. Having listened to him on Radio 5live Danny Baker show I ordered the book before he'd left the studio. I am so happy I did, buy the book and enjoy it, better still buy 3 or 4 and you have the ideal present for those men in your life from 10 to a 100 who like sport and a spirit of adventure.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
What a surprisingly good book. I should have known better, because it came highly re or ended by Danny Baker. If you like sporting autobiographies this is great. It is NOT the usual timeline of clubs signed for and goals scored/ conceded....Lutz Pfannenstil comes across as a really likeable person. His story is a real roller coaster of ups and downs. The down is REALLLY down. The ups are less extreme but thankfully outnumber the downs. Lutz's will to simply carry on being a professional 'keeper no matter where or what the working conditions is endearing. We could do with more of King Lutz, get him on Match of the Day BBC! He is after all a TV personality in hi own right in Germany.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
Great read. Excellent insight into the adventures of a football nut,desperate for first team Football at any cost. And anywhere. I heard him on Danny Bake's show and I was intrigued by him and the book is a must read, highly recommended to any Football lover. Ideal present.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
Fascinating insight into the life of a journeyman goalkeeper and the whacky world that is Lutz's. Tells his story, warts 'n all - he can have you laughing one minute and shaking your head in disbelief the next. A very easy read, I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 29 August 2014
Goalkeepers are in a position that is beyond the superstardom of most fan's interpretations of heroes. They are essential, obviously. Nothing of the swaggery of the multimillion pound goal scorers, but they are as important in the team as they can save and win matches. Lutz's story encompasses glamour, yet it unfolds all of the catches that he missed out on, not always on the field, leading to his dramatic life. His idol was Ratko Svilov. What followed his infatuation led to this autobiography. It could have been subtitled, 'Trials and Tribulations', as Lutz describes a global lifestyle that encompassed top class football clubs as well as the lowest class jails; all because he could not say 'no', even when his head said otherwise. He defied the convention of, 'if it looks too good it probably isn't'. Even when he should have been cautious, and now with hindsight, he admits he has learned. Without his short fallings there would not be a story. His family, especially wife Anita, stood by him. Reading this captivating account, I would guess, given the same circumstances, he would do it all over again.

Lutz's collection of anecdotes add to the bizarre tales of football. How he survived is written within these pages. The book's description and synopsis hint at the scent of the story. It is much richer. Thanks go to the translator, Matthew Rockey, who must have been breathless at times of his subject's exploits and misadventures. An engaging read for football fans and others who may find themselves in similar quandaries.

As much a tale of a football hero as a warning of a man at the peril of those who have advisors about them. Excellent entertainment.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)